Jump to content


Photo

Ford Focus 1.6 Tdci Econetic Chimes


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#16 gumpy321

gumpy321

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 145 posts
  • Name: Andy
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 12 February 2013 - 10:28 PM

Yes it does chime when doing the test and it chimes when for example when the temperature drops. Perhaps my car just doesn't have a warning chime for when the lights are left on?


They do. I think it's standard on them all. Someone not so long ago had a similar issue....

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#17 Andy H Dibley

Andy H Dibley

    Feet Under The Table

  • Members via FB
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 312 posts
  • Name: Andy
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Buckinghamshire

Posted 12 February 2013 - 10:31 PM

It really should do as standard. Does the car know the door is open? When say if you have the engine running and open the door does the display say 'Drivers Door open'? Wondering if perhaps it doesn't know the door is open and therefore not sounding the chime.

Where in Berkshire are you?

#18 gumpy321

gumpy321

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 145 posts
  • Name: Andy
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 12 February 2013 - 10:37 PM

It really should do as standard. Does the car know the door is open? When say if you have the engine running and open the door does the display say 'Drivers Door open'? Wondering if perhaps it doesn't know the door is open and therefore not sounding the chime.

Where in Berkshire are you?


Good point. A door sensor could be the culprit. Try above OP.

#19 gumpy321

gumpy321

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 145 posts
  • Name: Andy
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 12 February 2013 - 10:41 PM

I don't know if the OP ever found the problem is this thread: http://www.fordowner...und#entry223241

#20 scarecro98

scarecro98

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus econetic
  • Location: Berkshire

Posted 13 February 2013 - 11:26 PM

Hi - sorry been around from the computer for a while. I live in Newbury Andy.

That could be it. I'll try the door open thing and mention it to the garage as they are going to take a look next week.

#21 scarecro98

scarecro98

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus econetic
  • Location: Berkshire

Posted 14 February 2013 - 09:36 PM

For anyone who is still watching this (and I don't blame you if you're not!) the car does recognise that the door is open so it's not that.

Thanks everyone for your help though!

#22 Andy H Dibley

Andy H Dibley

    Feet Under The Table

  • Members via FB
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 312 posts
  • Name: Andy
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Buckinghamshire

Posted 15 February 2013 - 08:35 AM

Subbed so still getting updates ;-)

Hmm, this is an odd one then. I know mine !Removed! at me if I even leave the side lights on when I get out. What I'm surprised at is yours even leaving dipped on without the engine. Mine doesn't do that. Maybe it is a job for Ford!

Only ask where you are as I'm on the Bucks/Berks boarder!

#23 scarecro98

scarecro98

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus econetic
  • Location: Berkshire

Posted 15 February 2013 - 09:58 PM

Thanks Andy. I'll mention it to the garage next week (Wednesday) and get back to you if that's ok? I work in Reading so not a million miles away from you!

#24 gumpy321

gumpy321

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 145 posts
  • Name: Andy
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 15 February 2013 - 11:17 PM

Maybe try an ECU reset?

#25 Giffer2

Giffer2

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus Econetic
  • Location: Bridgend

Posted 16 February 2013 - 10:52 AM

Thinking about it, I installed some DRLs yesterday and during testing I didn't get any chimes that I had left the lights on - 2008 Econetic, mind you the car could be clever and realised that I'd opened the door and turned the lights on so it could just be a kinda 'hey dumbass you turned them on so I'm not gonna remind you to turn them off!'

But seriously, all my chimes are turned on and they all work except this one.

#26 scarecro98

scarecro98

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus econetic
  • Location: Berkshire

Posted 15 March 2013 - 11:14 PM

Hi all. After having this car for a month it seems that the car doesn't know that the lights are on. It should chime if the lights are on and the door open and it should also chime if the 'home safely' lights are in use. It doesn't do either which makes me think that the lights don't talk to the ECU.

 

Any ideas?



#27 Giffer2

Giffer2

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus Econetic
  • Location: Bridgend

Posted 16 March 2013 - 01:05 PM

Mine oddly started working after I replaced my sidelight bulb, flicked on the switch to test and it started to chime!

#28 scarecro98

scarecro98

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus econetic
  • Location: Berkshire

Posted 21 March 2013 - 06:04 PM

That's interesting - I'll certainly bear that in mind- thanks!



#29 cridling

cridling

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Name: steve
  • Ford Model: focus 2.5 Zetec
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 21 March 2013 - 09:17 PM

I had this problem but after using the fog lights for the first time chimes now work when lights left on 



#30 scarecro98

scarecro98

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus econetic
  • Location: Berkshire

Posted 24 March 2013 - 03:57 PM

Worth a try but no! I can only think that somewhere between the lights and the ECU the message isn't getting through. Not a major issue but one of those things that would be nice to put right.

 

Thanks very much for your thoughts



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users