Jump to content


Show
Photo

Torque Settings


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 ian dean

ian dean

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
  • Name: ian
  • Ford Model: focus 1.8 duratec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Conwy

Posted 26 February 2013 - 03:47 PM

hi i have a ford focus 1.8 petrol on a 57 plate just wondering does anyone know or where i can find the torque requirements for the head bolts thanks

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 stef123

stef123

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Management
  • 4,962 posts
  • Name: Stef
  • Ford Model: Mondeo ST TDCI
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 26 February 2013 - 09:56 PM

If you can give me until tomorow I will look these out for you.

#3 ian dean

ian dean

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
  • Name: ian
  • Ford Model: focus 1.8 duratec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Conwy

Posted 26 February 2013 - 10:03 PM

sure can thanks for the help

#4 stef123

stef123

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Management
  • 4,962 posts
  • Name: Stef
  • Ford Model: Mondeo ST TDCI
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 28 February 2013 - 08:37 PM

Hi Ian, I totally forgot about this

 

Ok, so what i have in front of me doesnt state the order but its usually from the inside working out

 

stage 1 - 5Nm

stage 2 - 15Nm

stage 3 - 45Nm

stage 4 - angle tighten a further 90 degrees

stage 5 - angle tighten a further 90 degrees

 

You will also need new bolts (the old ones will be stretched)



#5 ian dean

ian dean

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
  • Name: ian
  • Ford Model: focus 1.8 duratec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Conwy

Posted 01 March 2013 - 12:30 AM

thank you i have new bolts to go in. Im going to attempt to change the piston rings tomorow then i can put the head back on

#6 ian dean

ian dean

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
  • Name: ian
  • Ford Model: focus 1.8 duratec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Conwy

Posted 01 March 2013 - 05:57 PM

hi sorry about all the questions i was just wondering is it possible to remove the crankshaft and drop the pistobs out the bottom of the block or could i just undo thr pistons from the shaft and take them out through the top many thanks

#7 stef123

stef123

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Management
  • 4,962 posts
  • Name: Stef
  • Ford Model: Mondeo ST TDCI
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 02 March 2013 - 08:37 AM

The pistons should be removed/fitted from the top. So I wouldn't remove the crankshaft

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users