Jump to content


Show
Photo

Fiesta Zetec 08 - Headunit Replacement Parts?

fiesta zetec special edition blue 2008 08 headunit stereo cd

  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 Maxtek

Maxtek

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Name: Max
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec 1.4 Blue Edition
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Essex

Posted 02 March 2013 - 12:31 AM

Hey!

 

A couple days ago I got a Fiesta Zetec '08 Special Blue Edition, and I can honestly say I love it, absolutely fantastic car! So many nice little features that you wouldn't even think about when purchasing it but genuinely do make the car that much more enjoyable to be in.

 

Small side note, am I right in saying this is a mk6.5 Fiesta? (58 plate but not new style)

 

So, onto the topic in question; the headunit. About a month ago I bought an Alpine CDE-123R headunit which I plan on fitting into the car. The car currently has the stock Sony headunit fitted and I want to know what kind of cables/adapters/fascia I need to acquire to fit my Alpine headunit.

 

The current headunit in the car...Image1510.jpg

Note; not my picture.

 

I want to be able to connect my iPhone 5 via USB and use it to play music, not interested in the whole bluetooth/handsfree in car calls.

 

I already know, or believe I need to get a set of removal key tools.

 

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item3a6b128fa6

 

However after this stage I'm kind of stuck, well I reckon I could work it out as I go along but I have no clue what other parts I will need. I think I'm going to need some form of adapter as the Alpine headunit has a different shaped cable block at the back. Also will I be able to use volume changer on the steering wheel?

 

Any help would be very much appreciated, and I once I have it all figured out I do plan on making a guide for this model Fiesta as there doesn't seem to be any out there (well none that I could find).



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 DanGersFord

DanGersFord

    Dan The Gas Man

  • FOC Supporters
  • 3,498 posts
  • Name: Daniel
  • Ford Model: Fiesta ST3
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 02 March 2013 - 12:43 AM

Mk 6.5.jpg

This is a mk 6.5 fiesta so if yours looks like this then yes it will be because 08 was the last year they made them.

 

This is a mk7

Ford_Fiesta_MK7_Sport_20090331_front.jpg

 

Which ones your car to start off with :)



#3 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 14,728 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 02 March 2013 - 12:44 AM

This is the kit you need.

It contains the correct loom adaptor with the remote interface connected, iso aerial adaptor, fascia adaptors, correct cage with fitting brackets and removal tools.

Very often, like in the Focus, the cages supplied with radios are about 10mm too deep for the dash  so the replacement one is strongly recommended.

 

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item5d39f83988



#4 Maxtek

Maxtek

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Name: Max
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec 1.4 Blue Edition
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Essex

Posted 02 March 2013 - 12:51 AM

attachicon.gifMk 6.5.jpg

This is a mk 6.5 fiesta so if yours looks like this then yes it will be because 08 was the last year they made them.

 

This is a mk7

attachicon.gifFord_Fiesta_MK7_Sport_20090331_front.jpg

 

Which ones your car to start off with :)

 

Mk 6.5 it is :) thanks for clearing that up.



#5 DanGersFord

DanGersFord

    Dan The Gas Man

  • FOC Supporters
  • 3,498 posts
  • Name: Daniel
  • Ford Model: Fiesta ST3
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 02 March 2013 - 12:54 AM

No problem. And if you do make a guide make sure you take plenty of pictures as youre doing it. I changed all my stereo etc before i was a member so didnt realy get chance although mines a mk6 lol



#6 Maxtek

Maxtek

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Name: Max
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec 1.4 Blue Edition
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Essex

Posted 02 March 2013 - 12:55 AM

This is the kit you need.

It contains the correct loom adaptor with the remote interface connected, iso aerial adaptor, fascia adaptors, correct cage with fitting brackets and removal tools.

Very often, like in the Focus, the cages supplied with radios are about 10mm too deep for the dash  so the replacement one is strongly recommended.

 

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item5d39f83988

 

 

Wow, extremely quick response and seems to be exactly what I need all in one package, a little pricey though but im not too fussed about spending that bit extra to have it done properly.

 

Not sure if a guide will be need or wanted as you seem to be on top of things, don't mind making one though.

cheers Stoney!



#7 Maxtek

Maxtek

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Name: Max
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec 1.4 Blue Edition
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Essex

Posted 02 March 2013 - 01:08 AM

No problem. And if you do make a guide make sure you take plenty of pictures as youre doing it. I changed all my stereo etc before i was a member so didnt realy get chance although mines a mk6 lol

Just had second thoughts about the guide as Stoney seemed to be right on top of things but I'll definately be sure to do it, no harm in it even if it isn't used.



#8 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 14,728 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 02 March 2013 - 01:18 AM

A guide is always welcome.
The more information a member posts about an install, the more likely others are to give it a go too.

#9 Maxtek

Maxtek

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Name: Max
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec 1.4 Blue Edition
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Essex

Posted 24 March 2013 - 04:53 PM

Quick update:

 

I finally got round to ordering the parts and today I tried to install the headunit. I got it all wired up and working fine but I couldn't seem to get the cage/fascia to fit at all, it seems there are no mounting/screw holes on the car and I really can't see where the cage is supposed to latch onto.

 

Is there a different cage out there that people have had success with that would work for me?

 

Oh and I have plenty of pictures for this guide that I will be doing.

 

EDIT: I would much prefer a single din cage, well 2 single din slots (1cage) to make up the whole cage and fit properly.


Edited by Maxtek, 24 March 2013 - 09:32 PM.


#10 RickG

RickG

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus Estate Econetic
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 25 March 2013 - 02:46 PM

There should be 4 screws that you attach the fascia onto (the ones that held the ford headunit on), then the cage fits into the hole (making sure you bend the metal strips to hold the cage in firmly.



#11 Maxtek

Maxtek

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Name: Max
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec 1.4 Blue Edition
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Essex

Posted 25 March 2013 - 07:13 PM

There should be 4 screws that you attach the fascia onto (the ones that held the ford headunit on), then the cage fits into the hole (making sure you bend the metal strips to hold the cage in firmly.

 

j3RMM2fw4mEev.JPG

 

This is a picture without the cage/fascia, your post sounds like it should work but I have no idea how to carry it out. In this picture, do I remove the two screws you can see and the other 2 you mentioned, I guess are the two inside near that compartment on the base and top? I don't see how any of the parts that came with the aftermarket cage work together.

 

Appreciate the help Rick!



#12 RickG

RickG

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus Estate Econetic
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 25 March 2013 - 07:43 PM

Are there any clips that came with the facia, on the MK 2 focus (prevous car) it was basically the same as yours, but had 4 clips in each corner to hold the fasica and cage in.

 

Was the headunit exactly the same as the one above, or did you need 4 keys to get the headunit out?

 

EDIT: Sorry re-read your thread. I was under the impression you had the same headunit above.  Its basically the same as the MK2 focus, there should be 4 'U' shaped clips included with the fasica which clip on (be careful as they can bounce off, or fall down the hole!) these simply clip into the hole.  Put them on the fasica 1st (I glued mine on) and then push the fasica into the gap.  I don't believe you will need to unscrew the above screws.

 

Let us know :)



#13 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 14,728 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 25 March 2013 - 08:25 PM

What you need is one of these-

 

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item2328390eeb

 

You may also find that any cage supplied with your single din radio is too deep for the dash space.

If you go to any motor factors you should be able to get one that is shallower so as to allow the correct head space to allow the cage to sit far back enough to allow the fascia to sit flush.



#14 Maxtek

Maxtek

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Name: Max
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec 1.4 Blue Edition
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Essex

Posted 25 March 2013 - 09:30 PM

Are there any clips that came with the facia, on the MK 2 focus (prevous car) it was basically the same as yours, but had 4 clips in each corner to hold the fasica and cage in.

 

Was the headunit exactly the same as the one above, or did you need 4 keys to get the headunit out?

 

EDIT: Sorry re-read your thread. I was under the impression you had the same headunit above.  Its basically the same as the MK2 focus, there should be 4 'U' shaped clips included with the fasica which clip on (be careful as they can bounce off, or fall down the hole!) these simply clip into the hole.  Put them on the fasica 1st (I glued mine on) and then push the fasica into the gap.  I don't believe you will need to unscrew the above screws.

 

Let us know :)

 

Just went to take a couple pictures to try and explain what I mean and I found some clips which I must have overlooked before but now even with these clips I don't see how it will keep the cage seated nicely. Also do I attach the inner fascia (silver plastic) with the clips in place to the car then push the cage in, then headunit then finally the last black fascia plate (this black fascia part didn't seem like it would fit with my headunit).

 

http://i5.minus.com/jz1y90BO24U6Q.JPG

 

http://i6.minus.com/jjril8ozQMYbS.JPG

 

http://i6.minus.com/jbhjzuXKYGkada.JPG

 

http://i2.minus.com/jxRXGSJQdgjQY.JPG

 

http://i6.minus.com/jbroKfN8gelWxi.JPG

 

(Didn't want a wall of images so I added the links)



#15 Maxtek

Maxtek

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Name: Max
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec 1.4 Blue Edition
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Essex

Posted 25 March 2013 - 09:32 PM

What you need is one of these-

 

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item2328390eeb

 

You may also find that any cage supplied with your single din radio is too deep for the dash space.

If you go to any motor factors you should be able to get one that is shallower so as to allow the correct head space to allow the cage to sit far back enough to allow the fascia to sit flush.

 

That's exactly the one I was thinking of, although If i can get my current fascia to fit then I doubt I will change it, well not yet anyway.



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have




Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: fiesta, zetec, special, edition, blue, 2008, 08, headunit, stereo, cd

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users