Jump to content


Photo

Aec Module


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 mcgj01

mcgj01

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Name: Jim
  • Ford Model: Mondeo
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 06 March 2013 - 06:50 PM

Help.

I have just been informed that my 2005 Mondeo requires a new AEC module. What is this???

Cheers



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 BigD

BigD

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 631 posts
  • Name: -
  • Ford Model: -
  • Year: Non
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 06 March 2013 - 11:00 PM

Never heard of it, tbh.  There is an EAC module which is something to do with the accelerator - did you mean that?



#3 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 17,104 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 07 March 2013 - 10:37 AM

EAC I believe is part of the communications BUS system...



#4 mcgj01

mcgj01

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Name: Jim
  • Ford Model: Mondeo
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 07 March 2013 - 10:51 AM

Never heard of it, tbh.  There is an EAC module which is something to do with the accelerator - did you mean that?

Thanks for that. I'd heard something about Electronic Accelerator Control, but the fault on my car is to do with the heater climate controls so I really can't see the connection. As I said, thanks for taking the trouble to respond.

Jim McG



#5 mcgj01

mcgj01

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Name: Jim
  • Ford Model: Mondeo
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 07 March 2013 - 10:53 AM

EAC I believe is part of the communications BUS system...

Thanks for this reply. It makes sense.

Jim McG



#6 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 17,104 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 07 March 2013 - 01:00 PM

I upset mine the other day, it threw errors up on everything from transmission to power steering and the speedo / revs were dancing up and down. Do you have an OBD II Scanner?



#7 mcgj01

mcgj01

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Name: Jim
  • Ford Model: Mondeo
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 07 March 2013 - 01:56 PM

I upset mine the other day, it threw errors up on everything from transmission to power steering and the speedo / revs were dancing up and down. Do you have an OBD II Scanner?

No, sorry. I don't know what one is. The only reason I asked about the EAC module is that the local dealership said that it was probably this that was causing the fault. The real problem is that they were asking for over £450 for a replacement.



#8 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 17,104 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 07 March 2013 - 03:19 PM

Ouch, thats harsh but if its an electrical fault it doesnt surprise me the price is so steep.

 

If you have an android, I suggest that you buy a generic OBDII bluetooth adapter, and download "Torque" from the play store.

 

The adapter is less than £15 and the app is free. It can scan your ECU for any logged error codes, that might help us to diagnose any issues.



#9 mintalkin

mintalkin

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,466 posts
  • Name: mintalkin
  • Ford Model: mondeo tdci 130
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Staffordshire

Posted 07 March 2013 - 03:50 PM

whats the problem your car has?



#10 mcgj01

mcgj01

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Name: Jim
  • Ford Model: Mondeo
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 07 March 2013 - 04:07 PM

Ouch, thats harsh but if its an electrical fault it doesnt surprise me the price is so steep.

 

If you have an android, I suggest that you buy a generic OBDII bluetooth adapter, and download "Torque" from the play store.

 

The adapter is less than £15 and the app is free. It can scan your ECU for any logged error codes, that might help us to diagnose any issues.

Thanks very much for that. I'll certainly look into it. By the way, the dealership has just rung me to say that the warrenty people will pay for the repair, something that seemed unlikely yesterday. Good news.



#11 mcgj01

mcgj01

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Name: Jim
  • Ford Model: Mondeo
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 07 March 2013 - 04:13 PM

whats the problem your car has?

The problem is with the climate control, there is none. It appears to heat up initially, very hot, and then cool down, but too much. Not cold, but uncomfortably cool. Anyway, the dealership has just contacted me to say that the warrenty company will replace the part, something that seemed very unlikely yesterday. Thanks for your response.



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users