Jump to content


Show
Photo

Got An Error On Your Car?

OBDII scanner error codes help computer

  • Please log in to reply
64 replies to this topic

#46 razor4559

razor4559

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Name: jack
  • Ford Model: ford focus lx
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Essex

Posted 05 April 2014 - 10:16 PM

Hi I am new to this site so hopefully I writing in the right area. I have got a ford focus lx mk2 on a 55 plate. I went into the secret menu on the dash and found out I have an error er0605 I have google the code and some people are say it is a faulty ecu anyhelp would be great

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#47 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 14,011 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 06 April 2014 - 05:39 AM

A P0605 error is a generic Internal Control Module ROM error.

TBH I don't put much emphasis on any codes read from the dash menu unless a noticeable fault is found.

You're best of doing a proper OBD diagnostic to check and clear any stored fault codes.



#48 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 14,814 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 06 April 2014 - 06:41 AM

Agree entirely with Stoney, the best thing to do is ignore it, there can be the odd cluster error on the firmware ROM chip, its not uncommon and often doesnt do anything or have any problems.



#49 razor4559

razor4559

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Name: jack
  • Ford Model: ford focus lx
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Essex

Posted 06 April 2014 - 08:42 AM

Hi there thanks for the advice do I have to take it to ford to have this done or any local garage and how much dose it costs. Not to clued up on cars this is my first car so thanks for your help

#50 razor4559

razor4559

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Name: jack
  • Ford Model: ford focus lx
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Essex

Posted 06 April 2014 - 08:45 AM

Also I read that if I disconnect the battery for 30 it will reset the ecu is this a good idea and could it cause any further problems.

#51 karlos1987

karlos1987

    Too much time on the boards

  • FOC Supporters
  • 793 posts
  • Name: karl
  • Ford Model: focus mk2.5 titanium 1.6
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Berkshire

Posted 06 April 2014 - 09:03 AM

If you ever disconnect your battery make sure you've got your radio code.

Personally I have never used that trick but I have heard of people doing it.

Sent from my C5303 using Ford OC mobile app

#52 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 14,814 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 06 April 2014 - 12:08 PM

Resetting the battery is fine. This will allow you to retrain the ECU and it forgets any non critical problems, so if you restart the car it will then just register anew issue only if the issue is present.



#53 razor4559

razor4559

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Name: jack
  • Ford Model: ford focus lx
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Essex

Posted 06 April 2014 - 05:15 PM

Hi all I reset the ecu today but still getting the fault code the car is running fine so might just leave and see how it goes. :rolleyes:

Sent from my GT-I9305 using Ford OC mobile app

#54 razor4559

razor4559

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Name: jack
  • Ford Model: ford focus lx
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Essex

Posted 06 April 2014 - 06:52 PM

Sorry to be a pain but what dose a rom issue actually mean and what will it effect.

Sent from my GT-I9305 using Ford OC mobile app

#55 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 14,814 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 06 April 2014 - 07:32 PM

Basically a ROM is a computer chip that is programmed once, and can only be read after that (kind of like burning a CD).

 

What happens is that sometimes the chip isnt coded because that chip isnt needed for that cluster, or the chip suffers an electric charge that can in essence wipe it clean.

 

So in the event that you get the likes of a ROM error, it just means that the data on that chip cannot be read, but its not always a problem, as I say, not all the chips are required, or the code on them is more often something like a booster to make it perform better, rather than a critical piece.



#56 razor4559

razor4559

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Name: jack
  • Ford Model: ford focus lx
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Essex

Posted 06 April 2014 - 08:23 PM

Thank for all the information you have all been a great help.

Sent from my GT-I9305 using Ford OC mobile app

#57 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 14,814 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 07 April 2014 - 11:53 AM

No worries!



#58 InKontrol

InKontrol

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 128 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Cumbria

Posted 07 April 2014 - 12:47 PM

Resetting the battery is fine. This will allow you to retrain the ECU and it forgets any non critical problems, so if you restart the car it will then just register anew issue only if the issue is present.

Retrain the ECU you say...? Do you reckon that will cure the stuttering problem I'm having in the morning? Had Ford look at twice but to no avail and I've booked it in again for diagnosis next Monday.

 

Ordered myself an ODB2 reader off the net for a laptop and will be hooking it up at the weekend to see if there's anything I can find.

Car is still under warranty mind so any repair work will need to be done by Ford.



#59 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 14,814 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 08 April 2014 - 07:45 PM

Pretty good chance it can make a difference but not resolve it.

The ECU is a computer, much like how you can change settings on your computer, the changes in driving behaviour are recorded on the ECU. So if the issue is with a setting it has learned then it could make a difference, of course if the error is physical then it won't change it at all.

Sent from my MY SAGA C2 using Ford OC mobile app

#60 InKontrol

InKontrol

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 128 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Cumbria

Posted 08 April 2014 - 07:55 PM

No fault codes were found in the system at the time of the fault and none have existed since. Worth a shot I guess...? I did put a D900 on the dash due to unplugging the DPF pressure sensor but I'm sure they'll clear that out on Monday.


Sent from my iPhone using Ford OC

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have




Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: OBDII, scanner, error, codes, help, computer

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users