#1 DF10

DF10

• PipPip
  • 12 posts
  • Name: David
  • Ford Model: Focus MK1
  • Year: 1999

Posted 11 March 2013 - 10:56 AM

In the middle of some engine jobs, thought I would do the head gasket whilst I had the belt off. My car is, via log book and was sold as, a 1.4. However the cylinder head and induction manifold has 1.6 stamped on it, plus putting the head codes into google throws up 1.6 a few times. The gear box code also shows 1.6 in 2 results. There are no stickers (which from searching looks the way to tell) left on the block for me to confirm. I need to try and confirm its not just the head that's been changed.

Is it even legal for the used car place I brought it from not to disclose this? Basically I have been driving with invalid insurance for the last 6 months.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

#2 IINexusII

IINexusII

Feet Under The Table

• FOC Supporters
  • 427 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.8 TDCI Zetec Climate
  • Year: 2006

Posted 11 March 2013 - 01:34 PM

put your VIN in here and it should give you the engine size http://www.etis.ford...eRegSelector.do

#3 FOCA

FOCA

Feet on the table

• True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,819 posts
  • Name: FOCA
  • Ford Model: Mondeo Mk3 Sleeper 194 flb.p.t.
  • Year: Non
Contributor

Posted 11 March 2013 - 02:15 PM

Sometimes different engine capacities share the same parts, the 1.4 may just be a 1.6 with a smaller bore or shorter stroke, with almost all the parts being identical      

#4 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

Resident Loon

• Super Mod
  • 17,234 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
Contributor

Posted 11 March 2013 - 02:35 PM

could be an engine replacement on the other side of it, so check with the DVLA what there records show, as a replaced engine should have been registered with them...

#5 artscot79

artscot79

Ford Enthusiast

• True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip