Jump to content


Show
Photo
- - - - -

Hidden Second Usb Behind The Sync Module

sync USB hidden ipod

  • Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

#31 Loz Cheung

Loz Cheung

    Serial Poster

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 467 posts
  • Name: Lorenzo
  • Ford Model: Fiesta ST-2
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Warwickshire

Posted 04 April 2013 - 09:22 PM

You do if you got an old ipod like my 3rd Gen touch :P


my 1st gen touch works just with the cable! (just about, with a few crashes mid journey in conjunction with sync :P)

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#32 Willy

Willy

    Mountune'd 1.0 EcoBoost Titanium (Midnight Sky)

  • FOC Supporters
  • 1,536 posts
  • Name: Willy
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Titanium MP135
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Sussex
Contributor

Posted 04 April 2013 - 09:27 PM

my 1st gen touch works just with the cable! (just about, with a few crashes mid journey in conjunction with sync :P)


Interesting ;)

My ipod won't output sound without an audio cable connected :(

#33 b1g_dav3

b1g_dav3

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Moderator
  • 2,517 posts
  • Name: David
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S TDCi
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Lancashire
Contributor

Posted 04 April 2013 - 10:33 PM

Ordered the bits anyways, so when mine comes I'll have a look and see if I can get the USB2 working. Do you have the option for USB2 when you use the menu's or voice command?



#34 hedgepig

hedgepig

    Too much time on the boards

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 954 posts
  • Name: John
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.0 125 Titanium X
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Leicestershire

Posted 04 April 2013 - 11:23 PM

Could it be that the second USB socket is purely for software updates?

Reason I ask is that's the case on my current car (Cooper S) because I went through the same saga as you guys only to find that out........

#35 b1g_dav3

b1g_dav3

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Moderator
  • 2,517 posts
  • Name: David
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S TDCi
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Lancashire
Contributor

Posted 04 April 2013 - 11:47 PM

Could be, but still going to plug the iPod into the powered one anyway :P



#36 Phil 87

Phil 87

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 892 posts
  • Name: Phil
  • Ford Model: Fiesta ST3 MP215
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 24 September 2014 - 08:53 PM

So did anyone find out if this 2nd port will be of for charging phones, dash cams etc, and does it only provide power when the ignition's on?



#37 Willy

Willy

    Mountune'd 1.0 EcoBoost Titanium (Midnight Sky)

  • FOC Supporters
  • 1,536 posts
  • Name: Willy
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Titanium MP135
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Sussex
Contributor

Posted 24 September 2014 - 09:35 PM

Ignition only and will charge stuff but only 500ma output

#38 Phil 87

Phil 87

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 892 posts
  • Name: Phil
  • Ford Model: Fiesta ST3 MP215
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 25 September 2014 - 07:27 AM

Ignition only and will charge stuff but only 500ma output

 

Hmm I wonder if that could cause a problem, has anyone connected a dash cam to it? I guess this just means any device connected to it would charge more slowly than say connecting it to a plug charger like those that come with phones, correct me if I'm wrong.



#39 StumpyBloke

StumpyBloke

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 133 posts
  • Name: Richard
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.6 Titanium
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Staffordshire

Posted 28 September 2014 - 05:02 PM

Wonder if it would charge an iPhone 5s or 6


Sent from my iPhone using Ford OC

#40 Willy

Willy

    Mountune'd 1.0 EcoBoost Titanium (Midnight Sky)

  • FOC Supporters
  • 1,536 posts
  • Name: Willy
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Titanium MP135
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Sussex
Contributor

Posted 28 September 2014 - 05:07 PM

I found the device would go into PC / Sync / Download mode using the second usb. Made my phone useless while charging

#41 Phil 87

Phil 87

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 892 posts
  • Name: Phil
  • Ford Model: Fiesta ST3 MP215
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 28 September 2014 - 05:30 PM

I found the device would go into PC / Sync / Download mode using the second usb. Made my phone useless while charging

 

I bet you could cleverly fix that by doing something to the USB cable so the data connection is broken, then it would just charge. Either that or it would fry the phone lol.



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users