Jump to content


Show
Photo

Help With A New Radio


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Richardhart90

Richardhart90

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts
  • Name: Richard
  • Ford Model: Focus Estate 1.8 Tddi LX 5dr
  • Year: 2003
  • Location: Sussex

Posted 02 April 2013 - 08:09 PM

I have a focus mk 1.5 I think , 2003

I want to upgrade my radio, was thinking of just putting a normal one in but didn't want to loose my steering controls !

Im looking at getting another ford one but later model, just want to know if any will work with in reason from a ford

 

I have this one at mo

$(KGrHqN,!nsE8VFMhw9LBPNOMEpRE!~~60_12.J

 

if I want aux out on this I need some dear adaptor about £40 so may as well upgrade to something like one of these below...

$T2eC16hHJF0E9nmFTLzOBRVFu8B)G!~~60_12.J$T2eC16V,!y0E9s2S65KZBRTY+,R3,w~~60_12.J

 

This one is on ebay and local to me, hes after £40 buy It now or 99p bidding at mo !

$T2eC16VHJHYE9nzpeCqeBRT)R!scgQ~~60_12.J

 

Think im right in saying I can buy a lead like this for £7 and then I can plug aux inputs in ?

 !B)0h8DQBmk~$(KGrHqQOKjgEwQsft6D1BMPIt)M

thanks for help



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 Brigante

Brigante

    Resident Ranter

  • FOC Supporters
  • 2,405 posts
  • Name: Charlie
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 115BHP
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Nottinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 02 April 2013 - 08:21 PM

I believe none of them will fit as they are from the mk2 and there for have a different connection that plugs in the back

 

the mk2's have a quad lock connector which is different  to what the mk1 has

 

 

i think your best option  will be getting an aftermarket head unit with a fitting kit



#3 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 14,757 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 02 April 2013 - 08:28 PM

Sorry to burst your bubble but the radios you've listed are for a Mk2 and onwards only.

If you go for one of these you'll have a 6 disc unit.

http://pages.ebay.co...id=330899278338

If you stay with your current radio you can fit one of these-

http://pages.ebay.co...id=321096382572

It plugs into the CD changer port on the back.

There is always the option of fitting an aftermarket single din radio with an USB port for connecting iPod's etc but would need a fascia adaptor and a loom/controller cable too.

#4 Richardhart90

Richardhart90

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts
  • Name: Richard
  • Ford Model: Focus Estate 1.8 Tddi LX 5dr
  • Year: 2003
  • Location: Sussex

Posted 02 April 2013 - 08:35 PM

Oh noooooo !

I take it there are no convertors then ?

 

So best option is probably just buy a surround and buy a normal cd player, which does mp3's etc  then !

 

 

Cheers



#5 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 14,757 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 02 April 2013 - 08:43 PM

Best option tbh mate.
Plenty of choices out there, just be sure to get the right loom with the controller interface too.

#6 Brigante

Brigante

    Resident Ranter

  • FOC Supporters
  • 2,405 posts
  • Name: Charlie
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 115BHP
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Nottinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 02 April 2013 - 08:55 PM

what sort of head unit would you like?

 

would you want a fancy double din touch screen or would you be happy with a single din that you can plug your ipod into?



#7 Richardhart90

Richardhart90

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts
  • Name: Richard
  • Ford Model: Focus Estate 1.8 Tddi LX 5dr
  • Year: 2003
  • Location: Sussex

Posted 02 April 2013 - 09:01 PM

just want cheapest way of playing mp3's and plugging my phone in (via 3.5mm jack) I've tried Bluetooth and its not as clear as through a lead.

 

cheers



#8 Brigante

Brigante

    Resident Ranter

  • FOC Supporters
  • 2,405 posts
  • Name: Charlie
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 115BHP
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Nottinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 02 April 2013 - 09:04 PM

just for example you'd be looking at summin like this for a complete single din package

 

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item3f13740893

 

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item3a76d5c43b

 

or this for a double din

 

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item3f13851d18



#9 Brigante

Brigante

    Resident Ranter

  • FOC Supporters
  • 2,405 posts
  • Name: Charlie
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 115BHP
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Nottinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 02 April 2013 - 09:06 PM

the second link i linked looks pretty good

 

100quid for a pioneer single din with a usb and aux socket on the front and comes with the complete fitting kit

 

covers all focus's from 98 to 04

 

 

does your focus have volume controls on the steering wheel?



#10 Richardhart90

Richardhart90

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts
  • Name: Richard
  • Ford Model: Focus Estate 1.8 Tddi LX 5dr
  • Year: 2003
  • Location: Sussex

Posted 02 April 2013 - 09:17 PM

brigante - that's great help, thankyou !

 

yes I have steering wheel controls - will this still work or will I have to buy another adaptor/convertor ?

 

Cheers



#11 Brigante

Brigante

    Resident Ranter

  • FOC Supporters
  • 2,405 posts
  • Name: Charlie
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 115BHP
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Nottinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 02 April 2013 - 09:28 PM

it says on the listing if you have stalk controls you'll need a different adaptor

 

what i would say do is simply message the seller n ask em to link you to the exact kit you need for the steering controls

 

its what i did. i bought my fitting kit from this same seller so i can vouch for em n at the time they was the cheapest around undercutting what i thought was the cheapest kit by 10quid

 

 

for example, the same pioneer head unit from halfrauds will cost 100quid

 

http://www.halfords....tegoryId_165474

 

but from dynamic sound it also comes with everything you need to fit it for the same price

 

bargain to be fair

 

 

what i'd say do is mooch through halfrauds

 

http://www.halfords....65474_langId_-1

 

find a stereo you like then contact dynamic sound n ask em if they do the same one with the kit included



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users