Jump to content


Show
Photo

Key Remote Battery


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Paddy1938

Paddy1938

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Name: Paddy
  • Ford Model: Galaxy
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Suffolk

Posted 05 April 2013 - 03:56 PM

Hi

 

I'm having a bit of a problem with my key remote. It works just fine with new batteries, for about 5 days when the batteries run out! I've tested them, they are completely dead! I've bought a second hand key, complete with remote, to use for elimination purposes but am now at a bit of a loss. Any suggestions? Don't really want to pay Ford a fortune if it's something simple I can do myself.

 

Thanks!!



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 Nathan_M

Nathan_M

    Too much time on the boards

  • Members via Twitter
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 717 posts
  • Name: Nathan
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Flame Mk6
  • Year: 2004
  • Location: Cornwall

Posted 05 April 2013 - 07:26 PM

Are all the buttons releasing when you let go? It sounds like it's leaking.

#3 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 14,380 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 05 April 2013 - 07:55 PM

Does sound like maybe one of your micro switches are staying engaged.



#4 Nathan_M

Nathan_M

    Too much time on the boards

  • Members via Twitter
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 717 posts
  • Name: Nathan
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Flame Mk6
  • Year: 2004
  • Location: Cornwall

Posted 05 April 2013 - 07:58 PM

Perhaps you could strip the key down and give it a spray of pcb cleaner or wd40 and see if that helps, if not then you will either be on a new key or just dealing without the remote features. Good luck either way.

#5 gregers

gregers

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 520 posts
  • Name: greg
  • Ford Model: smax titainium
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Sussex

Posted 05 April 2013 - 09:46 PM

is this on a mk2 or mk3?

 

if mk2 just cannibalize your new one by taking the pats chip out and then reprogram to the central locking.

if mk3 then im assuming you might also be able to do this.

BUT what ever you DONT lose your chip.




Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users