Jump to content


Photo

Proscan Elm327 Protocol


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 stooge75

stooge75

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 654 posts
  • Ford Model: Mondeo tdci zetec
  • Location: Angus

Posted 09 April 2013 - 11:28 AM

Im running latest version of proscan 5.9 with elm327cable. Cannot for life o me get it communicating with mk3 mondy tdci 2007.
Tried all different protocols but still no joy. I can get scantool to work (limited),though. I have all correct drivers set up. Anyone??

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 BigD

BigD

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 631 posts
  • Name: -
  • Ford Model: -
  • Year: Non
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 09 April 2013 - 11:05 PM

Dunno but if it's anything like F-Super/Formidable, you may need to specify which COM port it's connected to in preferences.  F-Super won't work either until you do that.

 

You can find that out from Device Manager.



#3 stooge75

stooge75

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 654 posts
  • Ford Model: Mondeo tdci zetec
  • Location: Angus

Posted 09 April 2013 - 11:19 PM

think it was because the cable i now find,is a clone.



#4 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 17,030 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 10 April 2013 - 12:27 PM

some clones can be duff unfortunately but you need to make sure the right drivers are installed, otherwise, it cant tell what device its pretending to be



#5 stooge75

stooge75

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 654 posts
  • Ford Model: Mondeo tdci zetec
  • Location: Angus

Posted 10 April 2013 - 02:32 PM

yeah i found that out the hard way. plus I think proscan & maybe even sscanmaster has to work with elmscan5 & not elm327(clone)

Dont think I'll be looking for cracked software again,as accidently infected the pc with the fef.gener!c trojan lol.(took ages to get rid of it).



#6 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 17,030 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 11 April 2013 - 11:31 AM

cracked software is not the best... Not that I use cracked software (of course...) but if you were wanting to do anything that might risk your PC's health, set yourself up a virtual PC and use that for all your dodgy stuff. If it dies, delete and recreate, or delete and use the copy :D



#7 stooge75

stooge75

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 654 posts
  • Ford Model: Mondeo tdci zetec
  • Location: Angus

Posted 11 April 2013 - 01:24 PM

I have the software but need a genuine elm cable. Unbelieveable,that outta 19 different elm327/elmscan cables on ebay,not 1 is a genuine cable. I emailed every seller & asked if their cables are genuine and ALL replied "its a 3rd party cable!!!". And i had to drag the reply outta them.

#8 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 17,030 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 12 April 2013 - 08:59 AM

Hmmmm I got an Elm 327 made up by one of the other kind fellas on our forums that cost 14 pounds but they can work a treat. Have you thought about trying one, of them?

#9 stooge75

stooge75

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 654 posts
  • Ford Model: Mondeo tdci zetec
  • Location: Angus

Posted 12 April 2013 - 05:21 PM

a genuine elm327 cable cant be bought for that price i dont think. that'll probably be a good clone. was online last night & came across a site that had pics of damage done to electronics in some cars,through using cloned cables.quite bad

im not using anymore cloned cables full stop.if it was a genuine wifi elm327 for £14,well thats another story

think i read somewhere that the chip for the elm327 cable alone,is £12 or thereabouts



#10 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 17,030 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 15 April 2013 - 12:12 PM

fair comment Angus, I can understand the reluctance!



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users