Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Urgent Help With Car Failure

Trigger918

Hi everybody, I'm brand new to this site. I have a problem with my car. It's a 2004 Mondeo 130 TDCi.

The problem is that it just wont start! I got in it this morning to go to work, turned the key and it started to turn over but then just died completely as if the battery was flat. All other electronics in the car seem to be in good working order, apart form the digital temperature gauge which reads 52 degrees. I did notice that the car was starting a fraction of a second slower than normal the past couple of days. I'm a complete novice when it comes to any kind of car repairs, so just wondered if anybody could help me? I do plan on getting an acquaintance to look at it today if possible, but I would prefer to sound at least a little in the know when he comes to look at it, because he knows full well that I wont understand the problem, and will probably try to charge me way over the odds haha. I'm now having to take time off work until it is fixed. Stupidly I didn't renew my breakdown cover last month because I hadn't used it in the year prior (typical). So I have renewed it today, but obviously the cover doesn't start until 24 hours after breakdown.

Thank you in advance, your knowledge is much appreciated.

Hello and welcome to the forums David,

Sounds like your battery is flat and possibly past it's best.

The electronics will appear to work ok as they draw less power from the battery. Where as the starter draws a huge amount of power and causes quite a big voltage drop.

The way I explain it is like this,

You can join 8x AA batteries together to get 12v which will power lights and small electronics but you won't start a car with them.

I suggest you try charging the battery or having it tested if you can and go from there

Thank you stef123 for the fast reply, I'll take that into consideration.

Update