Jump to content


Photo

Is This Throttle Switch


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 daz1977

daz1977

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Ford Model: van 55

Posted 22 April 2013 - 02:28 PM

put car in today for its mot and it failed,  it failed on no light in reg plate at rear, and also one of the tyres was a winter tyre and was the wrong way around

 

thought not to bay, then mechanic said, i had to abandon the test due to the emmisions test,  basically he couldnt get it to sit at 3000 rpm, it was up and down apperantely, he said it is prob the throttle switch

 

any one got any ideas?

 

also i can only find throttle sensors,  is this the same thing

 

cheers



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 johnH

johnH

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Moderator
  • 1,091 posts
  • Name: John
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 Zetec 1.8 TDCI (Climate)
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Tyne and Wear
Contributor

Posted 22 April 2013 - 02:31 PM

Can you get it to sit at 3k revs ok?



#3 daz1977

daz1977

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Ford Model: van 55

Posted 22 April 2013 - 02:33 PM

havent tried to be honest,  will try now



#4 daz1977

daz1977

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Ford Model: van 55

Posted 22 April 2013 - 02:36 PM

not really,  had it sitting at 3000 for about 1 min, then it dropped, and had to put more pressure on pedal



#5 johnH

johnH

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Moderator
  • 1,091 posts
  • Name: John
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 Zetec 1.8 TDCI (Climate)
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Tyne and Wear
Contributor

Posted 22 April 2013 - 04:13 PM

sounds like it then mate. best way to check is to get it hooked up to a scanner to see if there is any codes and live data to see what the sensor is doing. Before throwing money at parts



#6 daz1977

daz1977

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Ford Model: van 55

Posted 27 April 2013 - 06:05 PM

have changed the throttle sensor, still going same thing,  any one got ideas, what else it could be, as garage is saying spark plugs now



#7 soulman123

soulman123

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 274 posts
  • Name: Micheal
  • Ford Model: 1.8 ghia petrol
  • Year: 2004
  • Location: Dorset

Posted 27 April 2013 - 07:16 PM

May be the icv idle control valve ?
could try cleaning it, usually just replaced as they are £25 I think.

Dirty throttle body ?

I reckon John is bang on the money as always a diagnostic scan is needed before replacing parts at cost.

#8 daz1977

daz1977

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Ford Model: van 55

Posted 27 April 2013 - 08:15 PM

cheers, guys, its looking like its the  idle control valve,  but will have a look tomoz,   dont really want to be spending money after money on the car, as was only mot it to sell it, as dont use it,  plus the garages aint very good where i am,



#9 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 17,313 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 29 April 2013 - 01:51 PM

let us know how you got on!




Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users