Jump to content


Show
Photo

Climate Control On New Focus - No Mono Display

climate control

  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 reck

reck

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Name: Steve
  • Ford Model: Focus Estate
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Leicestershire

Posted 04 May 2013 - 07:31 PM

I've just purchased a 2013 Titanium Focus Estate which came with automatic dual zone climate control. The manual says that when you sync the passanger temperate with the drivers by holding the auto button down the display should display mono (instead of auto), this doesn't happen on mine. This is just a display issue as the temperate does start syncing but the display doesn't change as described in the manual.

 

In the daylight I can see the outline of the word "mono" on the lcd screen so I know it exists, it just doesn't come on when it's supposed to.

 

As the climate control seems to work fine i'm guessing this is just a software issue, maybe a software update can fix it?

 

Can anyone else with dual zone climate control confirm this, or does it work ok on yours?

 

Thanks



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,098 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 04 May 2013 - 10:26 PM

The book is not very clear , but MONO will display , i think once you have selected auto , by then pressing and holding the Auto button it will then display Mono.

 

To remove it out of Auto/Mono then just select screen, center or lower

 

This works on mine there was exactly the same question a while back but i can't find it.



#3 reck

reck

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Name: Steve
  • Ford Model: Focus Estate
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Leicestershire

Posted 05 May 2013 - 07:26 PM

.... i think once you have selected auto , by then pressing and holding the Auto button it will then display Mono.

 

That's what I expect to happen but it doesn't. Holding the Auto button down should sync the two temperatures AND display mono to reflect this. Mono does not appear on mine no matter what I do.

 

If yours is working I guess I have a busted one. That's why I posted here to get an idea if everyone elses worked and it was just mine.

 

Can anyone else offer an opinion?



#4 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,098 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 05 May 2013 - 07:29 PM

The way it should work is press Auto for this mode , then pressing it a second time , holding the button in , brings up the Mono mode.



#5 reck

reck

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Name: Steve
  • Ford Model: Focus Estate
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Leicestershire

Posted 05 May 2013 - 07:30 PM

So I have to press Auto, just a normal quick press? and then press it again and hold it in?

 

Right i'm going to go and try this right now.



#6 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,098 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 05 May 2013 - 07:37 PM

So I have to press Auto, just a normal quick press? and then press it again and hold it in?

 

Right i'm going to go and try this right now.

Yeah

 

one press Auto

Second Press and hold displays Mono



#7 reck

reck

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Name: Steve
  • Ford Model: Focus Estate
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Leicestershire

Posted 05 May 2013 - 07:39 PM

No it doesn't work.

 

The manual says this.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mono mode
In mono mode, the temperature settings for both the driver’s and passenger’s side are linked. If you adjust the temperature using the rotary control on the driver’s side, the settings will be adjusted to the same setting on the passenger’s side. In mono mode, MONO appears in the display.

....

.....

 

To switch mono mode back on
To switch mono mode back on, press and hold the AUTO button. MONO reappears in the display and the passenger’s side temperature will be adjusted to the driver’s side temperature.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

 

Mono mode is working because after i've held down the AUTO button the passengers side temp jumps to match the drivers side and altering the drivers side temp also moves the passengers. So it appears i'm not doing anything wrong, but I just don't get the word MONO appearing on the LCD display, even when it is in mono mode.



#8 reck

reck

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Name: Steve
  • Ford Model: Focus Estate
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Leicestershire

Posted 05 May 2013 - 07:40 PM

Preee it seems such a simple thing, surely I can't be doing anything wrong. It just appears that yours works and mine doesn't. Do you have exactly the same climate control as me?



#9 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,098 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 05 May 2013 - 07:55 PM

Yes Steve they are all the same  , in the Tianium and Titanium X.

 

Mono appears on mine after pressing the Auto button above  , , maybe you have a faulty display , as you say the Temp jumps up to meet the drivers side but , your Mono will not display.

20120917_154136.jpg



#10 reck

reck

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Name: Steve
  • Ford Model: Focus Estate
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Leicestershire

Posted 07 May 2013 - 12:38 PM

I've just been searching around a bit and found other people complaining about this same issue, so it seems it might not just be the odd faulty unit. I wonder how wide-spread the issue is? The irritating thing is that this seems to have been going on for a few years now and the problem still persists.

 

http://www.fordowner...limate-control/

http://www.fordowner...ontrol-display/

http://www.talkford....ontrol-display/

http://www.focusfana...ad.php?t=258016

 

I don't suppose there's anything I can do other than live with it.



#11 Johannapam1

Johannapam1

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 43 posts
  • Name: John
  • Ford Model: Focus 2.0 TDI and Fiesta 1.4 Auto
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Kent

Posted 10 May 2013 - 07:55 PM

I have a 2012 Titanium X and mine does not show mono either - but seems to work fine.

 

Regards

 

John



#12 reck

reck

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Name: Steve
  • Ford Model: Focus Estate
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Leicestershire

Posted 10 May 2013 - 08:59 PM

John i'm starting to think it's a wide-spread problem.

 

On the one hand it's only a display issue, the unit appears to work fine. But on the other hand i'm seeing reports of this going back to 2011 so there's little excuse for it not being fixed really.



#13 Johannapam1

Johannapam1

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 43 posts
  • Name: John
  • Ford Model: Focus 2.0 TDI and Fiesta 1.4 Auto
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Kent

Posted 11 May 2013 - 06:07 AM

John i'm starting to think it's a wide-spread problem.

 

On the one hand it's only a display issue, the unit appears to work fine. But on the other hand i'm seeing reports of this going back to 2011 so there's little excuse for it not being fixed really.

Very true reck - Manufacturers seem reluctant to fix anything that is NOT a safety issue these days.

 

Regards

John



#14 Tacks

Tacks

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus Mk1.5 1.8 TDCi

Posted 11 May 2013 - 10:50 PM

John i'm starting to think it's a wide-spread problem.

 

On the one hand it's only a display issue, the unit appears to work fine. But on the other hand i'm seeing reports of this going back to 2011 so there's little excuse for it not being fixed really.

 

 

fwiw - mine has the same issue (built April 2013) - 'mono' is there on the display, but never lights up (but it does switch to mono mode if you hold auto).

 

-Tacks



#15 focusdriver

focusdriver

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 69 posts
  • Name: Focus
  • Ford Model: 1.6 TDCi Titanium
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Swansea

Posted 05 June 2013 - 02:32 PM

fwiw - mine has the same issue (built April 2013) - 'mono' is there on the display, but never lights up (but it does switch to mono mode if you hold auto).

 

-Tacks

 

My November 2012 Focus Titanium doesn't show Mono too - though controlling both temperatures does work.



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have




Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: climate control

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users