Jump to content


Show
Photo

Abs System Broked


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 kat89h

kat89h

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • Name: kat
  • Ford Model: Ford KA
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Tyne and Wear

Posted 08 May 2013 - 01:53 PM

hi posted in the general forum but tough more with a ka might look , here , the abs and speedo stopped working then the engine management light came on so took it to the garage but his laptops away so took it to his friends , he ran tests and said tat the car wasnt speaking to the laptop and that it looks like the whole system needs doing which he reckons will be around 500 ,or getting a seccond hand one , my thoughts initially was tat it was just the abs sensor which had gone , so im nearly in tears hearing this 

does this sound about right , it needs to be booked in for more test to get right down to the problem.

ive had it since oct and is a 56 reg with 45000 , 

he said this is a common problem with the fiesta 

has any1 else experienced anything similar ?

 

thanks



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 14,486 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 08 May 2013 - 02:02 PM

The speedo data is fed from the abs sensors so that would account for the loss of the speedo functionality.
Personally i'd get the sensors checked by someone else first.
It could be something as simple as a duff sensor or a damaged wire.
Never take the first diagnosis or quote.

#3 kat89h

kat89h

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • Name: kat
  • Ford Model: Ford KA
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Tyne and Wear

Posted 08 May 2013 - 02:06 PM

yea a was thinkin that , im going to pop into the other garage anyways and see what he actually has to say as its on my way to the bus stop anyways, theres a few small garages in my area but its taking it to  right one , as i dont want to drive it far with no speedo .

thanks for the help.



#4 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 14,486 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 08 May 2013 - 02:10 PM

Do please keep us posted as to the outcome.

#5 kat89h

kat89h

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • Name: kat
  • Ford Model: Ford KA
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Tyne and Wear

Posted 08 May 2013 - 02:13 PM

yea will do , if it was just a dodgy wire  or something smaller would tat make the car not respond with the computer? and how much is it usually for a full diagnostics test ? im abit clueless when it comes to fixing cars ,



#6 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 14,486 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 08 May 2013 - 02:24 PM

Ford charge about £90 for a full diagnostic and will go deeper than systems used by independents.
Some garages don't have diagnostics that are totally compliant with Fords so not communicating may be more down to them than a problem with your car.

#7 kat89h

kat89h

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • Name: kat
  • Ford Model: Ford KA
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Tyne and Wear

Posted 08 May 2013 - 02:39 PM

ok thank you 

is there any websites tat recommend garages in your area or how you find ford approved ones? ive tried check a trade and recommended people but they weren't any local enough for me . sorry for all the questions.



#8 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 14,486 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 08 May 2013 - 02:44 PM

Truthfully you're probably best going to a Ford dealer for diagnostics then work from there.
Not to say you should get the work done at Ford, just at least get a no Bull diagnosis you can work from.

#9 kat89h

kat89h

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • Name: kat
  • Ford Model: Ford KA
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Tyne and Wear

Posted 08 May 2013 - 02:46 PM

yea i know what your saying , although there is a halfords auto centre where i work and they are always giving us vouchers , i have 1 for 20% of servicing at the mo , i expect there equipment would be better aswell then a local garage , a few people have used them for MOTs from work and been happy with the service.



#10 Steelie600

Steelie600

    Master Techncian

  • Members via FB
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Name: Kev
  • Ford Model: Escort Van 55
  • Year: 2001
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 08 May 2013 - 03:45 PM

yea i know what your saying , although there is a halfords auto centre where i work and they are always giving us vouchers , i have 1 for 20% of servicing at the mo , i expect there equipment would be better aswell then a local garage , a few people have used them for MOTs from work and been happy with the service.

Interesting how you can base an MOT test as comparison as to whether the garage is any good or not??

 

The MOT is an inspection over ruled by VOSA and as such has absolutely no connection with the garage apart from the fact the test is done at that garage. As to Halfords autocentres having better equipment than a local garage....... Are you serious???

 

Im sorry mate but ive been a mechanic for 20 years plus, and I can categorically state that Halfords Autocentres equipment is no different than anyone elses!! I know because I used to manage one of their centres!! The eqiupment belongs to the mechanics NOT the centre except maybe a few expensive tools like the ramps or tyre machine or tracking guages.

 

On to your problem with the abs and speedo. You will probably find its either one of these following causes

1: ABS sensor ring excessively corroded

2: ABS sensor faulty

3: ABS fuse blown in fuse box

4: Problem with the ABS unit itself

 

These are in order of what I think it will be, this is based on my vast experience working on the cars in my professional capacity.

 

And also for the record my Snap on scanner has all the functionality of the Ford computer diagnosis system, and a few more functions besides, I can actually re-map the ecu from my scanner terminal. This is also equipment that any garage can buy!

 

Sorry if it seems im being a bit sharp, but it winds me right up when people reckon main dealers and national chains are better than independant garages. Because ill tell you now, THEY ARE NOT



#11 wase16ll

wase16ll

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,133 posts
  • Name: Tony
  • Ford Model: granada
  • Year: 1992
  • Location: Greater London

Posted 08 May 2013 - 08:28 PM

totally agree with that.

 

diagnostics are a minefield, but there are plenty of machines that can cope with ford abs...lack of communication is no guarantee that abs control is kaput...especially if this diagnosis is based on a single attempt with one machine....

as said, just as likely to be a problem with software used.

 

go for a local garage and explain the situation and ask if they are equipped to diagnose the system, preferably with more than a laptop with software from ebay

 

 

 

dont forget, equipment used is only as good as the tech that is using it.....main dealer is no guarantee of a bull free diagnostic...they are more likely to throw parts at it because the computer says to as the parts are on the shelf...probably eventually find the problem, but quite happy to still bill you for all those other parts you never needed in the first place.



#12 kat89h

kat89h

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • Name: kat
  • Ford Model: Ford KA
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Tyne and Wear

Posted 08 May 2013 - 09:51 PM

no thank you people i need people to be sharp , obv i no mots are different but i dont really understand the whole diagonstics side to it. (it was making me wonder what they did in the good old days before laptops and computers! obv cars werent as complex i know...) 

i was just asking if people had similar problems , as i dont want to be ripped off , the person  the 1st garage have referred me to is a diagnostics specialist . i just need help and advice as im new to this and dont know any1 1st hand for advice. ive seen plenty it on watchdog ( sad i know ) about main dealers ripping you off also! 

its just a big headache on who to trust.

ive just heard and read so many stories about people getting ripped off ! some even on this forum now ive read back with similar problems! and i dnt think being a young lass that knows nothing helps when i go into the garage haha!

i appreciate  the help and advice.   :)  :)



#13 Steelie600

Steelie600

    Master Techncian

  • Members via FB
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Name: Kev
  • Ford Model: Escort Van 55
  • Year: 2001
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 09 May 2013 - 07:29 AM

Yeah being a young attractive female is the worst thing you can be in some garages!! In mine I would guarantee youd get treated like everyone else, but I know what others are like. Its wrong but thats how the world turns.

 

And before the computer diagnosis, we had to find the fault ourselves, repair the parts our selves. Now the whole ethos of a mechanic is plug it in and replace what the computer says. I bet none of the current crop of mechanics would be able to rebuild alternators, starter motors etc like I was taught how to. I feel quite priveleged actually as I was the last generation of real mechanics, now theyre just fitters and if the computer doesnt work they are bang out of luck!

 

Its also a pity I havent got any mates up your way that run car garages, I have one mate in Seaham who runs a motorbike shop, but thats no use to you. HOWEVER, ive just done a small bit of research for you and have come up with this  http://vigolanegarage.co.uk/ Its in washington, so dont know how far from you it is, but the reviews ive seen are glowing and its a good run family business. Might be worth giving them a call.



#14 kat89h

kat89h

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • Name: kat
  • Ford Model: Ford KA
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Tyne and Wear

Posted 09 May 2013 - 06:45 PM

hahaa !! yep i would get my dad to take it in but he works different shifts , think he would look dead manly in my car! haha. hes just been explaining about criptin tunes  (bad spelling i know) from back in the day! 

well i rang the man and he sed he would charge 40 an hour . but would need a good few hours to look as it is in an awkward place! makes me sad to think i might have to spend 100ish for a computer to do most the hard work just to find the problem ,  but i suppose thats what has to be done .im goin ring a round tho for cheaper quotes 1 garage says bosch diagnostics , and u think my brother uses them and charges 35, hes way at the min tho and not replying to me haha, obv there all away home.

 

oooh thank you i will have a read , washingtons about a 20 min drive from mine straight down the a1, i also have friends/collegees  in washington who may have used them. i could always plug my sat nav in to check my speed etc id need it anyways to find the place .



#15 kat89h

kat89h

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • Name: kat
  • Ford Model: Ford KA
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Tyne and Wear

Posted 09 May 2013 - 06:48 PM

  • Discount for ASDA employees on proof of employment
  • SAFC Rewards Scheme 
    run by Sunderland FC, great discounts, just present your SAFC Season Card!

 

^^ haha same i dont work for asda or im not a sunderland fan!! 



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users