Jump to content


Photo

Mk3 St Boost/gauge Pod Android (Completed)

pod st

  • Please log in to reply
58 replies to this topic

#1 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,059 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 28 May 2013 - 05:47 PM

Purchased a MK3 Turbo Pod , and yes i know the chance's of getting it working will be on the Minus scale , but for what i paid , i'm at least going to research and try :)

 

Is there anyone out there with a Mk 3 ST will to take a picture of the wiring for me :) ?



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

#2 salsheikh

salsheikh

    Sal_Sheikh

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,441 posts
  • Name: Sal
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.8 Turbo D
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Warwickshire

Posted 28 May 2013 - 07:20 PM

good news Paul - i take it you found a bargain?

do you currently have a dash pocket or are you going to butcher the dash!!!



#3 jimrex

jimrex

    Too much time on the boards

  • FOC Supporters
  • 532 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: 2011 Mk3 Focus, 2009 Mk7 Fiesta
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Cambridgeshire

Posted 28 May 2013 - 09:18 PM

Doesn't the Titanium/Titanium X have the dash top speaker? I assume it sits in there?

 

That'll be an interesting mod if successful!



#4 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,059 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 29 May 2013 - 01:03 AM

Hi Sal . Yes a bargain but does not come with the top grill. So im hoping my grill fits onto it.

Jim yes I have the speaker there at the moment.
This does not come with the wiring plug either so until I do some more research I have no where to go. Although I will see what I can get out of it on the bench.

#5 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,059 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 31 May 2013 - 02:50 PM

It's going to be a long battle i can tell haha

Anyway Pod has arrived , minus the top section <_<  , which i figured as much as the picture's never showed it , but it was a good buy.

 

So off to Ford and ordered the top section £58 for the £1.50 bit of plastic trim , rip off merchants lol.

 

I will have that by next friday as it has to come from Germany.

I tried the Pod in place , and i will have to cut away small sections where the speak cover clips in , not a problem. i will either have to move the centre speaker or leave it out as the dash pod only has a small place for a tweeter.

 

So for now i will test the Pod wiring connections to see if i can get it to light up at least while i search for any wiring diagrams for the ST which are like Hens teeth.

 

If that fails completly then at least i still will have the Pod for which a Scan gauge should fit in or some 35mm guage's perhaps , so not all is lost.

 

I have also thought of :P ,an Android phone loaded with torque pro and sit that inside the gauge. So even if i can't get it working as is , then at least i can investigate other possiblilties. :D



#6 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,059 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 07 June 2013 - 02:18 PM

Update*

 

Boost pod arrived , i thought it was just the lid , but it was the whole part , but without the actual gauges , which save's me having to glue the lid on.

 

So here is my idea , i will need a 6" android tablet/phone , this will then fit into the viewable area of the pod , then set this to the gauges i want to have on to the top of the screen , i have set my phone up to demo this , using sleep mode and the screen set to POWER on via charging i can turn this on/off via ignition and not have to retro fit any buttons , i have limited control via the screen to move stuff about , but i can set any number of screens and then scroll through a selection of what i want to see.

 

I think this idea will keep me going until/if i can find a way to actually fit the gauges inside and have them working , i can fit the gauges in there already and light them up , but then its just for show!.

 

Sorry the video is not very clear it was on my works Nokia :) .    Comments please :) good/bad



#7 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Super Mod
  • 10,968 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Focus CMAX 1.6 CVT TDCI
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 07 June 2013 - 04:11 PM

a very creative answer preee! loving it!



#8 nazsky786

nazsky786

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 95 posts
  • Name: Naz
  • Ford Model: FOCUS MK2
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: West Midlands

Posted 07 June 2013 - 08:07 PM

Are you going to be using OBD2 Bluetooth connection to the tablet to show the information or just use the Internal GPS? You could also have it to display any codes you have on the car if any display. I done this on my DVD player but using the pod good idea.

 

You could buy a old android phone take the screen out and hide the main board underneath the pod and extend the screen cables.



#9 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,059 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 08 June 2013 - 01:00 PM

I have been looking at chinese 6" screen android phone's , about £135 , and researched them they look good enough for the money , also been looking at remote 6" screens with HDMI input which i could then use my phone , but i would rather have something that just works allt he time rather than use my phone.

 

It will have to be something like a phone rather than a Tab because the screen edge is too wide on a Tab

 

I'm using a bluetooth elm327 to send the data



#10 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 7,431 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Focus ZetecS & Toyota Levin BZR
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 08 June 2013 - 04:02 PM

Look forward to this preee,
Great idea mate, top respect

#11 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,059 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 08 June 2013 - 04:19 PM

Cheers Lenny.

I have fitted the Pod to the Dash , with the original gauges for the moment , tried all 6 connections and can't get it to light up though haha , never mind , looks good though lol

 

I'm bidding on a Chinese phone at the moment.



#12 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 7,431 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Focus ZetecS & Toyota Levin BZR
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 08 June 2013 - 04:29 PM

Cheers Lenny.
I have fitted the Pod to the Dash , with the original gauges for the moment , tried all 6 connections and can't get it to light up though haha , never mind , looks good though lol
 
I'm bidding on a Chinese phone at the moment.

Take a picture when you get a minute mate,
Best of luck with the auction,

#13 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,059 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 08 June 2013 - 04:39 PM

Here's a picture of it fitted



#14 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 7,431 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Focus ZetecS & Toyota Levin BZR
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 08 June 2013 - 04:53 PM

Wow looks the business mate,
Nice angle too.

#15 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,059 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 08 June 2013 - 05:01 PM

Wow looks the business mate,
Nice angle too.

Haha yes looks good pity it don't work :P  , but saying that i prefer an android screen in there as i will be able to get 10x more information on it.



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users