Jump to content


Photo

Mk3 St Boost/gauge Pod Android (Completed)

pod st

  • Please log in to reply
58 replies to this topic

#46 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Lawman

  • Super Mod
  • 12,865 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 17 June 2013 - 06:40 PM

The screens on Torque Pro will scroll but obviously you need to be able to touch the screen.
Maube no plastic in the front of the pod and a long stylus pen?

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

#47 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,059 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 17 June 2013 - 07:24 PM

Paul you need to let someone else drive it so that you can have a play with the settings

 

i'm sooo envious of what you have achived.

 

gonna mke a GTR gauge/tablet pod now as i have a spare pod and dash pocket....

 

attachicon.gifgtr dials.jpg

 

attachicon.gifgtr dials 2.jpg

That looks a great idea Sal , when i reset the screen to the correct angle i'll put my phone on record via thescreen mount

 

Pree that is one slick looking set up. Nicely done and it looks the business. 

 

I totally agree with you about Torque Pro. It's a really good app and well worth the money. Another alternative would be to mount an android tablet and connect it to Torque Pro as Sal mentioned. I reckon that would be equally interesting.

Thanks Hassen , Torque Pro is great , theres not many place's to mount stuff on the focus and i did not want the hassle of taking a pod in/out , but a simple mount like Sal has shown would be ideal.

 

looking slick mate! shame that Torque Pro cant cycle the pages, then you could have 5 gauges per window, and then scroll onto the next five... shame also that you cant easily access it to do the ECU error check, but hey, its a fantastic idea, and looks immense!

Hi Jeeb , i can scroll through different pages i have set up as i have access to the touch screen of the phone , i have set torque pro to auto check for error's , i would of course liked a bigger area for the screen , but i'm real happy with the OEM looking pod :)



#48 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Super Mod
  • 10,981 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Focus CMAX 1.6 CVT TDCI
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 17 June 2013 - 08:11 PM

aaah not bad then, I thought it had a front screen, so you couldnt do that! good thing is you can stick a GPS tracker on your phone as well, so if your cars knicked, and if you dont have a tracker, you have a form of resilliance!

 

as to autocheck, didnt know torque could do that!



#49 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,059 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 17 June 2013 - 08:49 PM

aaah not bad then, I thought it had a front screen, so you couldnt do that! good thing is you can stick a GPS tracker on your phone as well, so if your cars knicked, and if you dont have a tracker, you have a form of resilliance!

 

as to autocheck, didnt know torque could do that!

Yes jeeb it can auto check and auto clear if you want it too.

 

Yes i could add a sim in there and turn the gps on and track it , not sure of the battery charge then though as it would need more power , and then charging always take's longer via car chargers , and i don't want to leave perm power to it or keep having to take it out to switch it back on , but yes a good idea though.



#50 salsheikh

salsheikh

    Sal_Sheikh

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,441 posts
  • Name: Sal
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.8 Turbo D
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Warwickshire

Posted 18 June 2013 - 07:56 AM

i've got an app called prey that is a security feature and can tell you where your phone is and can take pics too. might be worthwhile if you do decide to use the GPS function.



#51 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,059 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 18 June 2013 - 06:52 PM

i've got an app called prey that is a security feature and can tell you where your phone is and can take pics too. might be worthwhile if you do decide to use the GPS function.

I tried the phone in the position where the front camera lens could take pictures , but then the power supply was against the clip and i could not get it in so the phone is actually upside down at the moment , but sounds a good idea



#52 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Super Mod
  • 10,981 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Focus CMAX 1.6 CVT TDCI
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 19 June 2013 - 10:42 AM

Prey is fantastic, I have built it into all my PC's. unfortunately my phone doesnt have a large enough capacity to include it in, but Prey is fantastic as a tracker!



#53 salsheikh

salsheikh

    Sal_Sheikh

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,441 posts
  • Name: Sal
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.8 Turbo D
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Warwickshire

Posted 19 June 2013 - 11:15 AM

James, could you not add a memory card and install prey onto that or move apps onto the memory card? I got a nice micro sd 32gb one for £15!

 

http://www.hotukdeal...-quidco-1583373



#54 alexp999

alexp999

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Moderator
  • 1,263 posts
  • Name: Alex
  • Ford Model: Focus 2.0 TDCi 163PS Titanium X
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Dorset
Contributor

Posted 15 August 2013 - 10:13 AM

Just out of interest, were you able to refit the speaker, or is it a case of speaker OR boost pod?

 

Not that I can afford to do anymore on my car at the moment, haha.



#55 salsheikh

salsheikh

    Sal_Sheikh

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,441 posts
  • Name: Sal
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.8 Turbo D
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Warwickshire

Posted 15 August 2013 - 12:14 PM

I've now seen this in action and Paul has created a work of art! looks really really good and as it it was meant to be there.



#56 jimrex

jimrex

    Too much time on the boards

  • FOC Supporters
  • 532 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: 2011 Mk3 Focus, 2009 Mk7 Fiesta
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Cambridgeshire

Posted 15 August 2013 - 07:01 PM

I was also really impressed! Looks completely OEM and very neat :)



#57 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,059 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 16 August 2013 - 04:01 PM

Just out of interest, were you able to refit the speaker, or is it a case of speaker OR boost pod?

 

Not that I can afford to do anymore on my car at the moment, haha.

Alex , there is space , just to the right of the pod , i left the speaker connected and cut some polystyrene which holds it in place , on the pod there a small speaker location which lets the sound out , but have lost a little clarity probably.



#58 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,059 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 16 August 2013 - 04:05 PM

I've now seen this in action and Paul has created a work of art! looks really really good and as it it was meant to be there.

 

 

I was also really impressed! Looks completely OEM and very neat :)

Cheers guys for the comments , i still need to fit it properly , which will involve removing the case of the phone , also i need to wire a micro switch to the power button of the phone , as it has glitched on a couple occasions , and i have to take the radio out to power the phone on and off , the phone does have timed on/off , but although it works very good , it murders the battery and i find i then don't get enough charge on short journeys to keep it topped up.



#59 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Super Mod
  • 10,981 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Focus CMAX 1.6 CVT TDCI
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 19 August 2013 - 04:23 PM

out of touch on this thread, sorry Sal, its something I would love to do, but even though the data has moved, it still seems to reside in memory and still takes up space...



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users