Jump to content


Photo

Lcd Display Gone Mad!

Trip computer LCD display

  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Daveedwards22

Daveedwards22

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Name: David
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.8tdci lx estate
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Dorset

Posted 01 June 2013 - 08:38 AM

Morning all!
Hope someone may have some info, just picked up a 2007 1.8 tdci lx but have an issue with the display on the dash.
When sat at a stand still you can toggle through the trip computer settings like normal but the moment you start driving it cycles through all displays at a rate of knots I was wondering if anyone knew where to start with this issue?!

Cheers

Dave

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

#2 DanGersFord

DanGersFord

    Dan The Gas Man

  • FOC Supporters
  • 3,462 posts
  • Name: Daniel
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk6 1.3 Petrol
  • Year: 2003
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 01 June 2013 - 09:50 AM

To be quite honest you shouldnt be fiddling with display menus when driving anyway. Its the same as fiddling with a Sat nav or using a mobile phone behind the wheel-a distraction. It's probably been designed to do that to stop people messing with it while driving

#3 Daveedwards22

Daveedwards22

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Name: David
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.8tdci lx estate
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Dorset

Posted 01 June 2013 - 09:59 AM

If you read the post properly it says when sat at a standstill it toggles through normally then when you start to drive the display changes through each menu option with no input from myself. So in away its more of a distraction a display constantly changing for no apparent reason......highly unlikely to be designed that way don't you think?

#4 DanGersFord

DanGersFord

    Dan The Gas Man

  • FOC Supporters
  • 3,462 posts
  • Name: Daniel
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk6 1.3 Petrol
  • Year: 2003
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 01 June 2013 - 10:09 AM

My appologiee I reae it as your were toggling through it manually. Im not too sure on the mondeo but my works van used to do that and if you pressed the button at the end of the indicator stalk it made it stay on one screen. Possibly an option in the car menus that also gives you the option of whether or not it should toggle through displays

#5 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Lawman

  • Super Mod
  • 12,841 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 02 June 2013 - 10:01 AM

Probably a sticking microswitch in the stalk.

#6 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,059 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 02 June 2013 - 10:26 AM

Remove the wiring to the stalk and try it , it it still does the same then it could be a cluster fault , if it stops then , probably a faulty switch.



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have




Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Trip computer, LCD display

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users