Jump to content

  •  

Show
Photo

Ambient Lighting Not Working Argh


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 Brigante

Brigante

    Resident Ranter

  • FOC Supporters
  • 2,405 posts
  • Name: Charlie
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 115BHP
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Nottinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 12 June 2013 - 03:46 PM

So I've bought this shexy new courtesy light unit as part of a complete black interior from an ST

 

 

But for the life of me I can't get the ambient 'submarine' lighting to work

 

I've followed Haz's guide about connecting a small crimp connector and scotch locking to pin 16 of the headlight switch loom

 

 

 

 

But nothing happens. No signs of life from the bulbs

 

The main festoon bulb and 2 map lights all work fine and so do the intrusion censors

 

But the submarine lighting refuses to work

 

Its definitely connected to the headlight switch properly and the copper wiring is making contact

 

I even tried tapping into other wires on the switch loom of a similar colour but still no joy

 

In case the submarine lighting wasnt earthed properly I tapped it into an earth i know to be working, still no joy

 

 

I even tried tapping into its live feed n connecting that to the headlight switch but still no joy either

 

 

I found a fiesta st forum where a bloke fitted it to his motor and about half way down the page he wrote a guide

 

http://www.fordfiestast.co.uk/showflat.php?Cat=0&Number=290478&page=0&fpart=all&vc=1

 

I'd already done every step of what he's wrote but where as his works, mine doesn't

 

He has however tapped into a different pin on the headlight switch

 

 

But comparing the wire colours, it is the same one I tapped into but the fiesta loom appears to have a different lay out

 

 

Fed up of playing about with it now and I've got another 12hour shift shortly so if anyone else can offer up any ideas I'd be most greatful



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 soulman123

soulman123

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 274 posts
  • Name: Micheal
  • Ford Model: 1.8 ghia petrol
  • Year: 2004
  • Location: Dorset

Posted 12 June 2013 - 04:04 PM

I'm no expert but sounds like you need a different pin on the focus ?

 

Maybe worth checked your getting power too... but sounds more above.

 

Nice work from the look of it your braver than me to do it lol me and electrics ha not a good mix!

 

Shame about the 12 hours shift I know that pain all too well. I'm not on till later so have some down time. I'm doing the lottery this week hehe



#3 soulman123

soulman123

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 274 posts
  • Name: Micheal
  • Ford Model: 1.8 ghia petrol
  • Year: 2004
  • Location: Dorset

Posted 12 June 2013 - 04:07 PM

Back found this more focus related might be more the ticket

 

http://www.fordowner...arine-lighting/



#4 Brigante

Brigante

    Resident Ranter

  • FOC Supporters
  • 2,405 posts
  • Name: Charlie
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 115BHP
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Nottinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 12 June 2013 - 04:12 PM

already seen this guide but cheers anyway mate

 

this is what i mentioned at the start of my post

 

its definitely the right pin on the light that i'm connecting to and all the circuit board should already be good as it already has the lights built in as its the proper unit and hasn't had to have the bulbs soldered in like haz did and i'm connecting to the right pin on the headlight switch as per haz's guide.



#5 johnH

johnH

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Moderator
  • 1,091 posts
  • Name: John
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 Zetec 1.8 TDCI (Climate)
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Tyne and Wear
Contributor

Posted 12 June 2013 - 06:05 PM

Best bet would be to get a multimetre and check the voltage is making its way through to the bulb holder.

 

Try tapping into another 12v source, such as your aux socket and tap into the earth wire for the courtesy light. if that doesnt work, check bulbs and ensure the bulb holders are looking good.

 

A multimeter will help here



#6 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,977 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 12 June 2013 - 07:55 PM

if you get it working and want rid of youre old interior light brig give me a shout



#7 DanGersFord

DanGersFord

    Dan The Gas Man

  • FOC Supporters
  • 3,498 posts
  • Name: Daniel
  • Ford Model: Fiesta ST3
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 13 June 2013 - 11:01 AM

Are you sure the bulbs havent blown by the way? Just checking lol

#8 Brigante

Brigante

    Resident Ranter

  • FOC Supporters
  • 2,405 posts
  • Name: Charlie
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 115BHP
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Nottinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 13 June 2013 - 04:54 PM

Lol first thing i thought was have the bulbs some how blown but i cant get em out yet to check em. Dont seem to want to un clip.
Also am i right in saying they are led and shouldnt just blow?

#9 DanGersFord

DanGersFord

    Dan The Gas Man

  • FOC Supporters
  • 3,498 posts
  • Name: Daniel
  • Ford Model: Fiesta ST3
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 13 June 2013 - 06:29 PM

They shouldnt but just because they shouldnt doesnt mean that they cant blow. For example ive had LEDs off fleebay which shouldn't technically need to be changed for the lifetime of the car but after a month or so they started blowing

#10 Brigante

Brigante

    Resident Ranter

  • FOC Supporters
  • 2,405 posts
  • Name: Charlie
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 115BHP
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Nottinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 13 June 2013 - 09:20 PM

not cheapy leds off ebay though lol they factory ford ones that shouldnt need changing

 

i'll try n remove em n have a mooch



#11 DanGersFord

DanGersFord

    Dan The Gas Man

  • FOC Supporters
  • 3,498 posts
  • Name: Daniel
  • Ford Model: Fiesta ST3
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 13 June 2013 - 09:27 PM

Fair enough :) always best to eliminate the most obvious first lol :)

#12 Brigante

Brigante

    Resident Ranter

  • FOC Supporters
  • 2,405 posts
  • Name: Charlie
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 115BHP
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Nottinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 13 June 2013 - 09:42 PM

i tried to but couldnt get the bulbs out with my fat thumbs

 

does anyone know how to get the bulbs out?

 

just a case of push the 2 clips in n pull the thing out?

 

cause it dont seem to be working for me



#13 Brigante

Brigante

    Resident Ranter

  • FOC Supporters
  • 2,405 posts
  • Name: Charlie
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 115BHP
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Nottinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 13 June 2013 - 10:50 PM

i've now tried connecting the earth and live feeds of the submarine lighting into the feeds of the vanity light behind sun visor as I know them both to be working

 

2013-06-13230124.jpg

 

result is that the submarine lighting still doesnt work

 

i'm really thinking  its a case of 2 duff bulbs now..

 

heres the route the wiring takes



#14 Brigante

Brigante

    Resident Ranter

  • FOC Supporters
  • 2,405 posts
  • Name: Charlie
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 115BHP
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Nottinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 14 June 2013 - 01:20 AM

heres the bulb that i cant get to

 

 

to get to it i think i need to some how remove this

 



#15 Brigante

Brigante

    Resident Ranter

  • FOC Supporters
  • 2,405 posts
  • Name: Charlie
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 115BHP
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Nottinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 14 June 2013 - 01:58 AM

scratch that

 

after much faff i got the submarine lighting loom out

 

 

this is what it looks like in the holder

 

 

 

this is the bulb that the live supply would attach onto

 

 

and this is the other bulb

 

 

heres where the earth goes

 

 

after finally getting the bulbs out to have a look at em, i'm still at a loss as to whether theres anything wrong with em or not and don't look like they can be simply unplugged



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users