Jump to content


Photo

Flashing glow plug light and lack of power (intermittent)


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 thegoose768

thegoose768

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Ford Model: Ford Mondeo mk3 zetec tdci
  • Location:

Posted 29 March 2009 - 11:20 PM

Hi, I have a Mk3 Zetec TDCI I have an intermittent problem where, under heavier than normal acceleration, the car gives a slight judder and looses most of its power and the glow plug warning light flashes.

If I stop and turn off the engine and immediately restart it the fault is rectified and I have full power again which will last for days, weeks or months until the car decides to do the same again. This can be dangerous if overtaking.

Does anyone have any ideas what the problem is and a possible solution

Thanks

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 mintalkin

mintalkin

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,467 posts
  • Name: mintalkin
  • Ford Model: mondeo tdci 130
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Staffordshire

Posted 30 March 2009 - 02:59 PM

sounds like the symptons of a crank sensor starting to break down, you need to get the codes read when the plug symble is flashing to confirm what code are stored.

#3 lurch

lurch

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Ford Model: mondeo
  • Location:

Posted 12 April 2009 - 09:34 PM

a friend drives a london taxi which the 2.4 transit lump in amd had this prob he needed a new EGR

#4 mintalkin

mintalkin

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,467 posts
  • Name: mintalkin
  • Ford Model: mondeo tdci 130
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Staffordshire

Posted 13 April 2009 - 05:48 PM

the egr valves can be cleaned its a messy job so you could try this first but i still suspect a sensor.

#5 SierraYankee99

SierraYankee99

    Too much time on the boards

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 859 posts
  • Ford Model: Ford
  • Location:

Posted 13 April 2009 - 06:19 PM

Could be throttle position sensor. Had this in my focus, similar symptoms to yours.

#6 thegoose768

thegoose768

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Ford Model: Ford Mondeo mk3 zetec tdci
  • Location:

Posted 27 May 2009 - 07:58 AM

I have fitted a new cam sensor and still have the same problem, could this be the air flow meter or do I need to get a proper diagnostic check done

Thanks for the advice so far!!

#7 mintalkin

mintalkin

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,467 posts
  • Name: mintalkin
  • Ford Model: mondeo tdci 130
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Staffordshire

Posted 27 May 2009 - 02:37 PM

you need to get the codes read when the plug light is flashing as said in earlier post to confirm the fault.

#8 fontayne56

fontayne56

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts
  • Ford Model: Mondeo 0 2.0 TDCI GHIA X
  • Location:

Posted 03 June 2009 - 07:29 AM

Hello I'm having the same problem as you are ! Let know how this goes.

I'll keep an eye out and let you know if i find anything !

Many Thanks

Ryan

#9 treblebob

treblebob

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Ford Model: mondeo
  • Location:

Posted 03 June 2009 - 08:29 AM

Same problem for me too!!

Will be interested to know how you get on

thanks
Ian

#10 fontayne56

fontayne56

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts
  • Ford Model: Mondeo 0 2.0 TDCI GHIA X
  • Location:

Posted 03 June 2009 - 10:30 AM

Same problem for me too!!

Will be interested to know how you get on

thanks
Ian



Take a look here guys !! http://www.rac.co.uk...read.php?t=1090

We are not aloan !! what do you make of this !

Many Thanks

#11 treblebob

treblebob

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Ford Model: mondeo
  • Location:

Posted 03 June 2009 - 10:47 AM

Take a look here guys !! http://www.rac.co.uk...read.php?t=1090

We are not aloan !! what do you make of this !

Many Thanks




This doesn't sound like the same problem to me.

#12 fontayne56

fontayne56

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts
  • Ford Model: Mondeo 0 2.0 TDCI GHIA X
  • Location:

Posted 04 June 2009 - 11:41 AM

Easy Cam sensor fitting instructions.
http://www.pc-point....pic.php?f=4&t=3

I may give it ago and clearout the Egr Valve to
http://www.fordwiki.co.uk/index.php/EGR_Valve_and_Inlet_Manifold_Clearout_TDCi



I will post when i have a result
Many Thanks

#13 fontayne56

fontayne56

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts
  • Ford Model: Mondeo 0 2.0 TDCI GHIA X
  • Location:

Posted 10 June 2009 - 11:42 AM

Ok Changed the cam sensor and a full filter and oil change Still has the problem.

So looking at the crank sensor or injectors what ya think ?

#14 gaz6076

gaz6076

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 448 posts
  • Ford Model: Mk5 Fiesta
  • Location: Scotland

Posted 10 June 2009 - 12:43 PM

My guess would be the air flow meter. The codes should still be stored on the ecu even when the light isn't on. Best to get a code read and that will tell you exactly what the problem is, rather than throwing parts at it.

I can do code reads for all OBD 2 compatible vehicles from 20.

#15 fontayne56

fontayne56

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts
  • Ford Model: Mondeo 0 2.0 TDCI GHIA X
  • Location:

Posted 12 August 2009 - 01:31 PM

Hello an update for all of you.

Yes an injector was the problem. After driving it with the orginal problem for a while the injector finally give up the ghost and i was in limp mode and making a nice racket.

New injector being fitted as i type. will let you know from there on .... Little costly 400 + oops

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users