Jump to content


Photo

One-Touch Windows


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 karlos the jackal

karlos the jackal

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts
  • Name: Karl
  • Ford Model: Focus Zetec TDCi 1.8
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Wrexham

Posted 24 June 2013 - 06:15 PM

Is my Focus supposed to have one-touch close on the driver's window? One-touch opening works fine but I have to keep my finger on the switch to close it.

 

The manual has a procedure for resetting the memory of the windows but I've tried this several times but it still doesn't work.

 

The base-model Citroen I had had this feature on both front windows and I'm really missing it!

 

 



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,099 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 24 June 2013 - 06:22 PM

When you pull the switch up , does it click into a second position?



#3 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,199 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 24 June 2013 - 06:38 PM

One touch down not up on any model below titanium spec ide imagine if you get a switch from a titanium it would work

#4 karlos the jackal

karlos the jackal

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts
  • Name: Karl
  • Ford Model: Focus Zetec TDCi 1.8
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Wrexham

Posted 24 June 2013 - 07:03 PM

When you pull the switch up , does it click into a second position?

 

No :angry:

 

 

One touch down not up on any model below titanium spec ide imagine if you get a switch from a titanium it would work

 

 

I had a feeling that it was a tit only feature! Ford are a bunch of tightwads, even the van in work has one-touch up and down windows!



#5 Brigante

Brigante

    Resident Ranter

  • FOC Supporters
  • 2,408 posts
  • Name: Charlie
  • Ford Model: Focus Ghia 1.6 115BHP
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Nottinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 25 June 2013 - 10:12 PM

i've got one touch down/up on my ghia

 

there was a discussion on this a fair while ago and i think it is just the higher spec models.. actually it was i that started the discussion lol after i changed my battery and had to reprogram the feature. i  didnt know it was a higher spec only option till a lot of members said they didnt have the feature and i thought i was going mad thinking i'd imagined having one touch up before changing the battery

 

out of interest do you have global opening/closing?



#6 SeanW

SeanW

    Too much time on the boards

  • FOC Supporters
  • 832 posts
  • Name: Sean
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Lincolnshire

Posted 26 June 2013 - 08:32 PM

Is it just a switch a change? Or a little more involved?

#7 STEADS

STEADS

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 885 posts
  • Name: NEIL
  • Ford Model: FOCUS 1.8 TDCI TITANIUM AND 2.0 TDCI
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 29 June 2013 - 11:15 AM

Karl's is yours a 2 or 4 door if its a 2 I have a window switch panel here for it off a titanium if you want to try it I'm in E PORT if you want to give it a try just pm me

#8 karlos the jackal

karlos the jackal

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts
  • Name: Karl
  • Ford Model: Focus Zetec TDCi 1.8
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Wrexham

Posted 29 June 2013 - 08:49 PM

Thanks Neil but I have a 4 door.

 

I've found out that this feature is only on models with 4 electric windows and has the 'global closing' feature, where if you lock the car all the windows close. Unfortunately a simple switch change won't enable it, you will need to change the motors too as they apparently have additional sensors/microswitches in them.



#9 JW1982

JW1982

    Serial Poster

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 459 posts
  • Name: Wilco
  • Ford Model: Focus MK2 First Edition
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 29 June 2013 - 09:27 PM

It is possible to retrofit the "comfort windows" but it is a lot of work and you will need many parts.

 

Focus MK2/MK2.5 models with 2 electric windows are equipped with a conventional power window system. The windows are controlled directly by the window switch. Only the driver door has the quick down function wich is controlled by an extra electrical circuit in the driver door switch.

 

Focus MK2/MK2.5 models with 4 electric windows (and also some ST and RS models) are equipped with "comfort windows". The window switches gives just a signal by the CAN-bus network to the door modules which control the window motors (and some other functions). Door modules are only present in cars which have options that require the door modules. Benefits of this system are the quick up and down functions of all windows and the global opening and closing by the remote control.

 

 

If you want to retrofit the "comfort windows" you will need the following parts.

 

* The wiring looms in all doors.

* The window switches in all doors.

* Power window motor with door module for both front power windows.

* Complete mechanism with power window motor and door module for both rear windows.

 

Afterwards the door modules must be programmed to the car. I am planning to do this upgrade later this year and collected almost all the needed parts.




Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users