Jump to content


Photo

Mondeo 2.0 Cruise Control And Brake Light Bulb Problem


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 22ssingh

22ssingh

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Name: lucky
  • Ford Model: mondeo
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Kent

Posted 25 June 2013 - 07:38 PM

Hi everyone this is my 1st post as I bought a 58 plate ford mondeo 2.0 petrol (lpg converted) yesterday as a 2nd car for my long commute to work, and I've notice 2 problems with it already, 1 is that the cruise control doesn't work, pressing the button does nothing what so ever, and 2nd is that I'm getting a "Stop lamp error"

 

So I had a look at the brake lights, and when they are on, they both light up but one side was brighter than the other, so I thought the dim one must be on its way out therefor giving the error, so I replaced it with 3 different bulbs all same spec but different manufactures (12v 5w) but its still dim, and still giving the error message. So I took the brighter bulb and checked the spec and its the same as the one I was putting in the car, I then swapped the brighter bulb from the left side to the right and put one of the new bulbs in the left side and the problem reversed, the side that was dim went bright and the brighter side went dim

 

any ideas? thanks in advance



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 17,749 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 26 June 2013 - 04:40 AM

Welcome to the family!

 

The cruise control issue may be due to a faulty switch, it could be that the cruise control switch has been disabled by Ford if the previous owner didnt want it. If you have a moddified ELM 327 you can switch it on or off that way, otherwise you may need a trip to a dealer. (where abouts in Kent are you?)

 

As for the brake light issue, it sounds like you have either a poor earth connection on one side, or possibly water ingress on that light.



#3 22ssingh

22ssingh

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Name: lucky
  • Ford Model: mondeo
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Kent

Posted 28 June 2013 - 01:15 AM

Welcome to the family!
 
The cruise control issue may be due to a faulty switch, it could be that the cruise control switch has been disabled by Ford if the previous owner didnt want it. If you have a moddified ELM 327 you can switch it on or off that way, otherwise you may need a trip to a dealer. (where abouts in Kent are you?)
 
As for the brake light issue, it sounds like you have either a poor earth connection on one side, or possibly water ingress on that light.


Sometimes when I press the Cruise control button I get a "cruise control is in standby" message which goes away after 1 second, but this only happens once, until I restart the car.

I don't think it can be an earth problem or a fault with the light because when I change the bulbs around the problem switches over too. You know the mk4 Mondeos have 3 lines that look like LEDs when the rear tail lights are on, well on one side they show thorough whilst on the other side they don't, but if I switch the bulbs from left to right the problem switches over too.

Do you know the exact bulb spec that goes in the mk4 mondeo?

#4 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 17,749 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 28 June 2013 - 09:21 AM

Not sure off the top of my head, but if you visit http://www.autobulbsdirect.co.uk/ and have a look that should tell you the type of bulbs. Sounds like the bulbs have gone, or at least theres a PCB issue...

 

As for the cruise control, at what speed do you try to initialize it, and for how long were you at that speed before hand?



#5 22ssingh

22ssingh

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Name: lucky
  • Ford Model: mondeo
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Kent

Posted 28 June 2013 - 09:58 AM

Not sure off the top of my head, but if you visit http://www.autobulbsdirect.co.uk/ and have a look that should tell you the type of bulbs. Sounds like the bulbs have gone, or at least theres a PCB issue...
 
As for the cruise control, at what speed do you try to initialize it, and for how long were you at that speed before hand?


Well that site tells me it's a 382 single filament but the halfords site says it's a 380, and the bulbs that were fitting to the car were 380 I think, but it's really weird that only one of the bulbs work properly no matter what side you put it in. What's a PCB issue?

Well in my Audi Q7 you have to be going at least 30mph so I've been driving at 65 70mph and been driving at that speed for a good few miles, I basically drive 35 miles to work and keep trying whilst driving. I heard there's a button you have press to reset the cruise control, and I also read elsewhere that the cruise control may not work if the brake lights are not fully working, are either of those true?

#6 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 17,749 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 28 June 2013 - 10:08 AM

If they are LED's they they tend to have a Printed Circuit Board that distributes the power to them. I suspect there is a damage on this board.

 

The cruise should kick in correctly, however you may find that due to my suspicions on the PCB that this may be reporting a CAN error which is causing the cruise control to decide not to put the system in use.

 

Normally you just need the sensor under the brake pedal to disengage cruise when the brake pedal is depressed, however its likely that this has changed in the later revisions of the mondeo.



#7 22ssingh

22ssingh

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Name: lucky
  • Ford Model: mondeo
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Kent

Posted 28 June 2013 - 01:12 PM

If they are LED's they they tend to have a Printed Circuit Board that distributes the power to them. I suspect there is a damage on this board.

 

The cruise should kick in correctly, however you may find that due to my suspicions on the PCB that this may be reporting a CAN error which is causing the cruise control to decide not to put the system in use.

 

Normally you just need the sensor under the brake pedal to disengage cruise when the brake pedal is depressed, however its likely that this has changed in the later revisions of the mondeo.

They are not leds, they are just normal bulbs, but the light cluster has 3 lines on it which make them look like leds, and one side lights up but the other side don't which was showing me that bulb was dim on that side.

 

I really don't know what to try now



#8 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 17,749 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 28 June 2013 - 02:37 PM

so the fault follows the individual bulbs?

 

Not sure how many bulbs you have or in what formation but take the below as an example....

 

if you have the bulbs on the RHS work fine in this formation (+ = working, - = dull)

 

+ + + + + + +

+ + + + + + +

+ + + + + + +

 

and the LHS looks like this

 

+ + + + + + +

-  -   -  -  -  - +

+ + + + + + +

 

If you take the - bulbs and switch it with the positive, does it then look like this?

 

+ + + + + + +

-  -   -  + -  -  -

+ + + + + + +

 

If you can show some photos that will help :)



#9 22ssingh

22ssingh

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Name: lucky
  • Ford Model: mondeo
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Kent

Posted 28 June 2013 - 05:50 PM

so the fault follows the individual bulbs?
 
Not sure how many bulbs you have or in what formation but take the below as an example....
 
if you have the bulbs on the RHS work fine in this formation (+ = working, - = dull)
 
+ + + + + + +
+ + + + + + +
+ + + + + + +
 
and the LHS looks like this
 
+ + + + + + +
-  -   -  -  -  - +
+ + + + + + +
 
If you take the - bulbs and switch it with the positive, does it then look like this?
 
+ + + + + + +
-  -   -  + -  -  -
+ + + + + + +
 
If you can show some photos that will help :)


As you can see in one of the pics the 3 lines are visible (they look yellow I know but are red in reality, the camera is showing them to be yellow) and in the other side you can't really see the lines, but if I swap the bulbs over the problem follows the bulbs. And I'm getting a bulb out warning in the dash that doesn't go

Attached Thumbnails

  • image.jpg
  • image.jpg


#10 22ssingh

22ssingh

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Name: lucky
  • Ford Model: mondeo
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Kent

Posted 28 June 2013 - 06:25 PM

Update: I swapped out the brighter bulb with a spare, and the error on the dash disappeared :-) so I guess it's not meant to be that bright and the bulb that the previous owner put in it must have been the wrong one. But the cruise control still isn't working :-(

#11 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 17,749 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 30 June 2013 - 06:39 AM

OK so one down one to go.

So you get up to speed then press SET and it says standby, or do you press any other button ?

#12 22ssingh

22ssingh

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Name: lucky
  • Ford Model: mondeo
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Kent

Posted 30 June 2013 - 11:27 PM

OK so one down one to go.

So you get up to speed then press SET and it says standby, or do you press any other button ?


I don't press set, I press the on button which is on the left side of the steering wheel, and after pressing that very rarely I get a message about "CC is in standby" but it goes after 1 second, but I've never actually got the CC to work

#13 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 17,749 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 01 July 2013 - 11:40 AM

aaah thats probably why then.

If I recall correctly, you need to get to speed, then press the "SET" button. This then sets cruise to work at this speed, then if that doesnt click the cruise control on, then you click the cruise icon, and use the + and - to change the speed accordingly.

Give that a go and see what happens... I think the reason is because there is no speed set, the cruise sits in standby to advise its got no settings to use?



#14 22ssingh

22ssingh

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Name: lucky
  • Ford Model: mondeo
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Kent

Posted 01 July 2013 - 04:19 PM

aaah thats probably why then.

If I recall correctly, you need to get to speed, then press the "SET" button. This then sets cruise to work at this speed, then if that doesnt click the cruise control on, then you click the cruise icon, and use the + and - to change the speed accordingly.

Give that a go and see what happens... I think the reason is because there is no speed set, the cruise sits in standby to advise its got no settings to use?


Even when I press set nothing happens. The on button that I was talking about has the cruise control icon on it, so I'm pretty sure that's what I'm meant to press 1st

#15 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 17,749 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 02 July 2013 - 08:51 AM

Very strange...

 

It sounds like some sort of control issue, perhaps a sensor isnt working correctly.

 

Have you been able to check the car for error codes?

 

Where abouts in Kent are you?



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users