Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Getting Sick Of Sync, Looking For Help To Install Aftermarket.


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 Willy

Willy

    Mountune'd 1.0 EcoBoost Titanium (Midnight Sky)

  • FOC Supporters
  • 1,677 posts
  • Name: Willy
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Titanium MP135
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Sussex
Contributor

Posted 02 July 2013 - 02:15 AM

Sync is really peeving me off and am starting to look at aftermarket options. All I want is to play all my music in alphabetical album order without having to keep going back to the menu to play the next album. I would also like the option of skipping albums (folders) without having to go back to the menu.

I understand that sync does have a folder mode but why do I have to use the voice control to skip folders?

 

Anyways I want to rip it out and replace with a double DIN head unit which is steering wheel compatible as well as being able to access the cars setting. Any ideas? I have £500ish to spend :)

 

Oh it's a 2013 Fiesta by the way ;)



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 iNath

iNath

    ST-2 Mod

  • Super Mod
  • 3,625 posts
  • Name: Nathan
  • Ford Model: Molten Orange Fiesta ST-2
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Buckinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 02 July 2013 - 06:35 AM

But double DIN looks so awful :(



#3 Willy

Willy

    Mountune'd 1.0 EcoBoost Titanium (Midnight Sky)

  • FOC Supporters
  • 1,677 posts
  • Name: Willy
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Titanium MP135
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Sussex
Contributor

Posted 02 July 2013 - 06:45 AM

Yeah true. I did see a touch screen affair that replaces the current screen and keeps the original head unit, that's what I'm really after.

#4 FiestaZS90150

FiestaZS90150

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 518 posts
  • Name: Nicolas
  • Ford Model: Ford Fiesta 2013 1.0 Ecoboost Racing Red
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 02 July 2013 - 07:30 AM

i think anything else that the stock one will look awfull =(



#5 Willy

Willy

    Mountune'd 1.0 EcoBoost Titanium (Midnight Sky)

  • FOC Supporters
  • 1,677 posts
  • Name: Willy
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Titanium MP135
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Sussex
Contributor

Posted 02 July 2013 - 07:33 AM

Nath.
What if I got an old bluetooth module from an earlier model. You reckon it will work?

#6 alexp999

alexp999

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Moderator
  • 2,210 posts
  • Name: Alex
  • Ford Model: Focus 2.0 TDCi 163PS Titanium X
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Dorset
Contributor

Posted 02 July 2013 - 08:19 AM

Have you checked with your dealer to see if there are any updates to Sync?



#7 iNath

iNath

    ST-2 Mod

  • Super Mod
  • 3,625 posts
  • Name: Nathan
  • Ford Model: Molten Orange Fiesta ST-2
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Buckinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 02 July 2013 - 08:43 AM

Nath.
What if I got an old bluetooth module from an earlier model. You reckon it will work?


It will be possible but may require control panel, CD player and wiring loom as well.

#8 Willy

Willy

    Mountune'd 1.0 EcoBoost Titanium (Midnight Sky)

  • FOC Supporters
  • 1,677 posts
  • Name: Willy
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Titanium MP135
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Sussex
Contributor

Posted 02 July 2013 - 03:17 PM

Have you checked with your dealer to see if there are any updates to Sync?

  

Nothing in the pipeline :(

It will be possible but may require control panel, CD player and wiring loom as well.


Not as easy as just changing the module to a 2012 bluetooth / USB model. Oh well looks like we're all stuck with it for now.

#9 cuke

cuke

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 728 posts
  • Name: Chris
  • Ford Model: Mk3 Focus Titanium X
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Sussex

Posted 02 July 2013 - 07:06 PM

Hi, on another forum I heard that there is too be an update at some point but I don't know if it is for your particular issue. But really, is it that bad to go to such an expense just for your musical tastes? I also doubt very much if a earlier BT module will do anything as all of the sync is embedded into the head unit. Personally I'd stick with it, you are an early adopter of the car, thus there will also be tweaks and fixes that come along sooner or later. Perhaps you should hassle your dealership about it...



#10 Willy

Willy

    Mountune'd 1.0 EcoBoost Titanium (Midnight Sky)

  • FOC Supporters
  • 1,677 posts
  • Name: Willy
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Titanium MP135
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Sussex
Contributor

Posted 02 July 2013 - 07:36 PM

Been onto my dealer and FORD CS but no update as yet.

The Sync module is separate from the head unit located in the passenger side foot well but as iNath said it wouldn't work without pulling the loom etc.

I'll keep asking about the update and see what happens.

#11 b1g_dav3

b1g_dav3

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Moderator
  • 2,523 posts
  • Name: David
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S TDCi
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Lancashire
Contributor

Posted 02 July 2013 - 08:54 PM

Not gonna lie, Sync is the worst thing I've ever had on a car, and that's saying something when I had a car that on every journey the brakes would set on fire if you'd been on a Motorway.



#12 The Comfy Chair

The Comfy Chair

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Name: Kai
  • Ford Model: Ford Fiesta Titanium Ecoboost
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Staffordshire

Posted 02 July 2013 - 09:08 PM

Not gonna lie, Sync is the worst thing I've ever had on a car, and that's saying something when I had a car that on every journey the brakes would set on fire if you'd been on a Motorway.

 

I like sync :D It kinda just works for me and does everything o.O It even has perfectly working voice recognition (as in, it's always, without exception, done the right thing, that's a first for any voice thing ever).

 

Maybe my sync systems loves me!



#13 Willy

Willy

    Mountune'd 1.0 EcoBoost Titanium (Midnight Sky)

  • FOC Supporters
  • 1,677 posts
  • Name: Willy
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Titanium MP135
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Sussex
Contributor

Posted 02 July 2013 - 09:56 PM

Mine work perfectly too. Just hard to find what your looking for when your doing 70 ;)

#14 The Comfy Chair

The Comfy Chair

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Name: Kai
  • Ford Model: Ford Fiesta Titanium Ecoboost
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Staffordshire

Posted 02 July 2013 - 10:07 PM

Mine work perfectly too. Just hard to find what your looking for when your doing 70 ;)

 

'tis true :D Admittedly i do tend to use voice commands for that. But then again, voice commands don't usually work for me very well, it's only sync that does!



#15 b1g_dav3

b1g_dav3

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Moderator
  • 2,523 posts
  • Name: David
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S TDCi
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Lancashire
Contributor

Posted 04 July 2013 - 08:52 AM

I like sync :D It kinda just works for me and does everything o.O It even has perfectly working voice recognition (as in, it's always, without exception, done the right thing, that's a first for any voice thing ever).

 

Maybe my sync systems loves me!

 

Have you called 'Home' yet? >_>

 

Mine freezes, tells me stuff is unavailable meaning I'd have to go through it all manually, won't ring out sometimes, voice recognition fails, TA won't turn off at all, just to name a few of the faults >.<



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users