Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Coolant Leak?

Matt_wlkr

Hi everyone,

I was wondering if someone could help identify and suggest a fix for what i am seeing...

2013-08-03143553_resized_zpsab13f725.jpg

I'm thinking its coolant if it is how would I be able to stop it from leaking?

I'm no expert so any advice is welcome.

Thanks,

- Matt

given that the thermostat housing has a rusty screw on the bottom of it, I would hazard a guess the housing is leaking onto the pipework below.

A new thermostat housing/seal is the way forward here by the look of it. can you provide us with any better/close up pics?

Sure I should be able to take more pics tomorrow...

Thanks,

-matt

Sure I should be able to take more pics tomorrow...

Thanks,

-matt

While you are there, have a feel of that triangular shaped bit of plastic (thermostat housing) with the big hose coming out going to the right and the rusty screw at the bottom. is it wet on the bottom?

The thermostat housings often warp and consequentyly leak - possibly whats happened to yours

looks like stef hit the nail on the head with the staining directly below it its pretty much a gaurantee thats the issue

Hello,

Here is a closer pic:

2013-08-04143945_zpsb95c9c2d.jpg

And a pic from the other side best i can get:

2013-08-04144042_zpsd3ab2748.jpg

...Could probably do with resizing the images.

I felt round the triangle thing it's not dripping but is wet/moist.

How would I be able to sort this out?

Just got this back from the dealership after replacing the starter motor and they said they had a good look over the engine so i don't know how they missed that one.

Thanks,

- Matt

youll need a new thermostat housing and seal put on it and the coolant refilled its defo warped as you can see at the top where the red dye from the coolants stained it as its ran down the housing

Thanks for the info.

How would I go about that? Is it doable myself?

Where would you recommend getting the stuff for it?

- Matt