Jump to content


Photo

Adding an ipod adaptor - Can it be done ?


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 barry0501

barry0501

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Ford Model: kuga
  • Location:

Posted 03 April 2009 - 06:00 PM

I've seen some other threads for the C-Max suggesting there is a quadlock hidden somewhere for a quick hook-up, but I can't find anything on this one.
The car has the mp3 jack, but I really want full control from the steering wheel.
I have the bluetooth option and the standard Sony unit for the titanium, but really want the ipod (yes, I know it'd only another 50 when buying the car, but this car was in stock and I wanted it!)

Given Ford only charge 50, there can't be much to it?

Anyone have any good pointers?

Thanks in advance

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 Lez

Lez

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 277 posts
  • Name: Laszlo
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.4 TDCi
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Gloucestershire

Posted 03 May 2011 - 03:42 PM

If you lucky you can buy a higher Bluetooth module and USB lead on eBay or scrap yards... and after 90 software update by ford garage, unfortunately this module not plug and play, need to add to the computer...

#3 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 9,955 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Focus ZetecS
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 04 January 2012 - 01:15 PM

If you lucky you can buy a higher Bluetooth module and USB lead on eBay or scrap yards... and after 90 software update by ford garage, unfortunately this module not plug and play, need to add to the computer...


I found this guide on fitting ipod adaptor to a focus mate may be the same on your kuga Click Here

#4 andthen

andthen

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Name: mike
  • Ford Model: mk4 mondeo zetec with sports pack
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Lincolnshire

Posted 30 January 2012 - 08:37 PM

Hi there .

I may have some info which might be of use.

If you go to the mondeo page and i have a topic titled "is there a hidden usb port in a mk4 mondeo???"..

Now it turns out if you remove the glove box there is a blanked out plug on the left side , now one man on there assures me that if you buy a usb plug from Ford and he quotes £2.70 , he now has full i control on his steering wheel ..

i'm have the blanked out plug in my 59 reg mondeo and will be searching from the plug this week .

i let you know what happens ;-)

I wouldn't put i pass Ford to charge £50 for a three quid bit!!

#5 Italiandave

Italiandave

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • Name: Dave
  • Ford Model: Kuga
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Hertfordshire

Posted 09 April 2013 - 09:56 PM

Is this true this hidden USB??? I too have a blank in glove box never thought bout removing it.... Unless it works

#6 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 15,504 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 09 April 2013 - 11:54 PM

This will be the bit you need.

Don't worry about the compatibility thing on the listing, it will fit mondeo, kuga, fiesta and focus. (helped my mate fit one on a MK4 mondeo last year.)

 

http://www.ebay.co.u...984.m1423.l2649



#7 Italiandave

Italiandave

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • Name: Dave
  • Ford Model: Kuga
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Hertfordshire

Posted 10 April 2013 - 04:59 AM

So I literally remove blank plate, fit this part and my 6000 unit will play USB ?

Would I phone work on it?

#8 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 15,504 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 10 April 2013 - 06:08 AM

It should do but you would have to use a Ford iPhone, cable unless you update the firmware to enable you to use just a standard iPhone cable.



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users