Jump to content


Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

Removing Head Unit on New Mk7


  • Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#1 TitaniumSteve

TitaniumSteve

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 83 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7 1.6 TDCi Titanium
  • Location:
Contributor

Posted 03 April 2009 - 06:15 PM

I am just putting this thread up incase anyone is interested in knowing how to take the head unit out for example fitting a rear sub box which is why I have worked out how to do this.

First of all carefully place flat blade screwdriver under display surround and carefully lever up the clips the secure it down.

Posted Image

This is a picture of the underside so you can aproximate where the clips are

Posted Image

This is view with display surround removed

Posted Image


Then remove the panel below the main unit and above the temperature controls. This is done by carefully placing flat blade screwdriver along the top edge, the cattch that holds it in is located at the middle of the top edge. Lever this very carefully so not the break the catch.

Now to remove the main unit it you have to first undo the four screws at the top of the unit. Two of them are 7mm screws and two of them are torx size T25.
Once the bottom panel is out you can then pull the main unit surround out. The catches that hold this in are along the bottom edge. You can pull these straight back, no need for any tools at this stage, the catches are quite stiff but it is only them (after the top screws have been removed) that are holding the unit in. Once you have the main surround out you can easily disconnect the multi-block connector.

View of main unit removed

Posted Image

Next to remove the actual head unit. Without any tools simply pull the head unit out.

As you can see from the image below there is no pre amp out sockets or USB inputs on te rear of the head unit. If you want to fit a sub box you will need to fit an RCA converter something like this LINK

View with head unit out.

Posted Image


To refit reverse the above making sure to carefully line up catches so not to break them.

View with it all back together.

Posted Image

I will be fitting a sub box once I have purchased a RCA converter and I will then put a thread up describing how to do this.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 tt07

tt07

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Soon maybe :)
  • Year: Non
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 03 April 2009 - 06:53 PM

Thanks for sharing that, not something I would do nowadays but I used to be very into the whole ICE thing, the fiesta IMHO doesn't lend it's self to ICE without major works be interesting if a din or double din adaptor comes out.

Look forward to more of your guides.

#3 Mark M.K

Mark M.K

    FOC Supporter

  • FOC Supporters
  • 1,467 posts
  • Ford Model: 1.6 Fiesta Titanium
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Buckinghamshire

Posted 03 April 2009 - 07:28 PM

Eep! i could NEVER do that to my baby fiesta! Nice guide tho :)

#4 JAR897

JAR897

    Serial Poster

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 479 posts
  • Ford Model: Ford Fiesta MK7 Titanium 1.6 TiVCT

Posted 03 April 2009 - 08:07 PM

Thanks man. I was wondering how to go about that. It's something I may be interested in if I choose to install a sub, but with the speakers provided in modern cars I don;t think ill bother. Thanks anyway though. :D

#5 Zakken

Zakken

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1,4 tdci, 2009

Posted 04 April 2009 - 07:46 AM

Super guide.
I have already bought the sub and amplifier, but itīs currently living in the living room because I didnīt know how do get a linesignal from the head unit.

Thanks for your help, just need a stif drink before Iīll start ruining my baby Fiesta. :o)

#6 JAR897

JAR897

    Serial Poster

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 479 posts
  • Ford Model: Ford Fiesta MK7 Titanium 1.6 TiVCT

Posted 04 April 2009 - 10:14 AM

Iv'e always concidered installing a Sub, but there are two issues for me now:

1) The speakers in the Titanium (6 speakers aposed to 4) are suposed to be pretty wicked anyway...

2) The weight of a sub must surely depleate performance a little?

#7 RIIIDAA

RIIIDAA

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 318 posts
  • Ford Model: 09 Fiesta Titanium, Tech & dress-up pack

Posted 04 April 2009 - 10:30 AM

very good pics, am thankful some one has had the guts to tear down their dash to go for an exploration.

...but there is a much much simpler alternative for fitting a sub, you don't need the headunit out to do it (sigh of relief peeps?)

You can piggy back from the rear speakers and use a decent amp which will have the option for 'speaker level inputs' but yeah the secondary alternative to an amp with that functionality built in would be to use the rca conversion link Steve wrote about

The last car I had amp'd up professionally, the guy was insistent I needed the rca to speaker level cables but my trusty old kenwood amp had no need for them. Silly thing was most of the amps in the shop had the speaker level input terminals built in.

So that just leaves the 'remote' lead which usually is connected from the H/U so the amp only powers up when radio is on, so you could if you wanted wire that to a seperate switch or to come on with ignition

#8 RIIIDAA

RIIIDAA

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 318 posts
  • Ford Model: 09 Fiesta Titanium, Tech & dress-up pack

Posted 04 April 2009 - 10:33 AM

Iv'e always concidered installing a Sub, but there are two issues for me now:

1) The speakers in the Titanium (6 speakers aposed to 4) are suposed to be pretty wicked anyway...


They are indeed

2) The weight of a sub must surely depleate performance a little?


Well if you are in need of uber bass, you could diet (or remove the spare wheel for short distance trips)

#9 KeithC

KeithC

    Ford Enthusiast

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,163 posts
  • Ford Model: New Fiesta 1.4 Titanium
  • Location:

Posted 04 April 2009 - 10:36 AM

They are indeed



Well if you are in need of uber bass, you could diet (or remove the spare wheel for short distance trips)


And not forgetting, it's a 1.6 Fiesta, hardly a hot hatch anyway.

#10 JAR897

JAR897

    Serial Poster

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 479 posts
  • Ford Model: Ford Fiesta MK7 Titanium 1.6 TiVCT

Posted 04 April 2009 - 11:10 AM

Yea I know lol. I always crank up the bass with the normal speakers, I'm sure that will be fine.

Out of interest, where are the two extra speakers located? Are they bass sepaers or what?

I expect them to be two extra ones in the rear of the cabin towards the bottom of the seats?

Also, which model's come with 6 as oposed to 4 speakers?

#11 MichellefromEssex

MichellefromEssex

    Too much time on the boards

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 898 posts
  • Ford Model: Zetec S Mountune
  • Location:

Posted 04 April 2009 - 12:00 PM

OMG I am shocked by those pictures!!

by the way my car clock still set on winter time oops

#12 jma78b

jma78b

    Serial Poster

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 450 posts
  • Ford Model: Ford Fiesta Titanium
  • Location: London

Posted 04 April 2009 - 01:24 PM

How could you abuse your baby like that? If you don't want your car, i'll have it :lol:

#13 TitaniumSteve

TitaniumSteve

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 83 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7 1.6 TDCi Titanium
  • Location:
Contributor

Posted 04 April 2009 - 08:53 PM

Iv'e always concidered installing a Sub, but there are two issues for me now:

1) The speakers in the Titanium (6 speakers aposed to 4) are suposed to be pretty wicked anyway...

2) The weight of a sub must surely depleate performance a little?


Firstly I don't know who told you they are 'wicked' thay are OK but not 'wicked', so I believe a sub would vastly improve the sound.
Secondly the weight thing is hardly an issue, you are not doing timed 1/4 mile drags are you. Trust me the speed and or fuel consumption you would barely notice esp with a 1.6 engine.

very good pics, am thankful some one has had the guts to tear down their dash to go for an exploration.

...but there is a much much simpler alternative for fitting a sub, you don't need the headunit out to do it (sigh of relief peeps?)

You can piggy back from the rear speakers and use a decent amp which will have the option for 'speaker level inputs' but yeah the secondary alternative to an amp with that functionality built in would be to use the rca conversion link Steve wrote about

The last car I had amp'd up professionally, the guy was insistent I needed the rca to speaker level cables but my trusty old kenwood amp had no need for them. Silly thing was most of the amps in the shop had the speaker level input terminals built in.

So that just leaves the 'remote' lead which usually is connected from the H/U so the amp only powers up when radio is on, so you could if you wanted wire that to a seperate switch or to come on with ignition


Thank you for your kind comments. I was aware you could connect an amp with the way you are saying in fact you can connect an RCA convertor to the speaker wire going to the speaker in the back door. However I thought that it would be more complicated to strip down the rear panel to the get to the rear speaker than take out the front dash. Plus by taking out the dash I can tap into a wire plus tap into a remote power supply. Also the amp which I have already only has RCA inputs, as it is an active set up. However I do agree your way is possible just I think my way has more advantages.

Yea I know lol. I always crank up the bass with the normal speakers, I'm sure that will be fine.

Out of interest, where are the two extra speakers located? Are they bass sepaers or what?

I expect them to be two extra ones in the rear of the cabin towards the bottom of the seats?

Also, which model's come with 6 as oposed to 4 speakers?


No they are not bass speakers, just plain full range speakers, and yes they are in the rear panels next to the rear seats.

How could you abuse your baby like that? If you don't want your car, i'll have it :lol:


I was not abusing it at all, I was merely doing what a garage would do if they were asked to fit a sub to a Mk7. I would rather I did the work than some spotty teenager in a car audio shop. I do know what I am doing and have installed many sounds system in cars plus recently built a complete boot install for my other car a 1994 Celica.

So it is ok everyone no harm or damage was caused in the making of this thread.

#14 Truly55

Truly55

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 163 posts
  • Ford Model: Hot Magenta Titanium 1.4 with Tech Pack

Posted 05 April 2009 - 11:05 AM

I do know what I am doing and have installed many sounds system in cars plus recently built a complete boot install for my other car a 1994 Celica.


Celicas, yumm B) Steve, are you a member of any Celica clubs?? I was a member of CCUK, TOC, Jap North East, etc with a modded Gen 7 TSport. I'd changed her with some TRD, TTE, Blitz, Wings West, etc. Eventually I took it all off and sold the parts to the club. I'd actually like a late Gen 7 GT as a weekend car. Her she is:

Oh, by the way, congrats on being a new Fiesta pioneer. :) Steve, seeing you doing that to your car brought back memories of Perry190 in CCUK. Pezzer was da man in 'appropriate' car mods. RIP Perry :(

Posted Image
Posted Image

#15 smurfs

smurfs

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.6 Titanium Hot Magenta

Posted 05 April 2009 - 03:46 PM

Steve, it looks like you know what you are up to and as you have blue teeth I assume you have usb also, when you get round to fitting your audio how about doing a check as to where your usb is connected to onthe head unit, a simple point to point with a multimeter should do it and it would help a few of us out here to see if a usb cable could be fitted to the multi plugs on the head unit....Ta

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users