Jump to content


Show
Photo

Focus Dash Problem


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 tommyvb

tommyvb

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus Zetec 1.8
  • Location:

Posted 05 April 2009 - 05:33 PM

Hello all,

My girlfriend has a focus on a 1999 plate i think its a 1.8 zetec

and she has a problem with her speedo,

now and again it wont work, she'll be drivign but no speedo working, this also leads to the car stalling/engine cutout when slowing down at junctions/round abouts etc etc ...

she had it in garage a few times an the mechanics rather say its sorted or theres nothing wrong.

But this only happens a few times, when the speedos not working she re-starts the car and most of the time it will work.

i personally think there maybe a loose connection behind the dash or a mucky/corroded connection. thats why it wont be working 100% but with the car cutting out that baffels me lol.

so thats why i come on here and ask if anyone knows anything about this problem and could help me..

Many Thanks and if anyone knows anythings please reply or email me and let me know.

all information is very very much appricated ..


thanks

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 w2575

w2575

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 33 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2
  • Location:

Posted 05 April 2009 - 05:41 PM

Erm it could be a combination of things but in my experience it sounds either to be your battery on the way out , test this with a multimeter you should get 12v ! or it could be the alternator , the reason why i dont say its the dials is because you mentioned cutting out !

#3 tommyvb

tommyvb

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus Zetec 1.8
  • Location:

Posted 05 April 2009 - 05:45 PM

Erm it could be a combination of things but in my experience it sounds either to be your battery on the way out , test this with a multimeter you should get 12v ! or it could be the alternator , the reason why i dont say its the dials is because you mentioned cutting out !



Hello mate,

Ahhh thanks for that advice, so you recon it could be a new battery needed..

When i say it cuts out i mean like when slowiing down to junctions and roundabouts it cuts out, and has to be restarted.

i made sure its not my Girlfriend stalling lol its the car..

so what else do you recon

#4 craggy

craggy

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 61 posts
  • Ford Model: mondeo 2.0 tdci ghia x

Posted 05 April 2009 - 05:50 PM

sounds more like a faulty speed sensor , which can cause the problems your having

#5 tommyvb

tommyvb

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus Zetec 1.8
  • Location:

Posted 05 April 2009 - 05:54 PM

sounds more like a faulty speed sensor , which can cause the problems your having



Thanks for your advice aswell mate.

So what you recon should be done.

i know your saying a new speed sensor. would that be around near the wheels to monitor the speed of the wheels and give you your speed on your dash,

what ya think about the cutting out issue

#6 dezwez

dezwez

    Dezwez

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,292 posts
  • Name: Derek
  • Ford Model: ford focus 1.8 zetec mk 2.5
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Cambridgeshire

Posted 05 April 2009 - 06:35 PM

Thanks for your advice aswell mate.

So what you recon should be done.

i know your saying a new speed sensor. would that be around near the wheels to monitor the speed of the wheels and give you your speed on your dash,

what ya think about the cutting out issue

the focus has an electionic speedometer with a speed sensor fitted to the transmission in
place of the older speedometer cable drive pinion.The speed singnal passes to the instrument panel vie the engine management
E C U. which also uses the speed signal for fuel system-relateded calculations.
so i would take a look at this speed sensor see if you can swap one with someone just to try it ;)

#7 mintalkin

mintalkin

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,464 posts
  • Name: mintalkin
  • Ford Model: mondeo tdci 130
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Staffordshire

Posted 05 April 2009 - 06:39 PM

i would say the speed sensor its a known problem and is located on top of the gearbox and held in place by a location pin.

#8 SierraYankee99

SierraYankee99

    Too much time on the boards

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 859 posts
  • Ford Model: Ford
  • Location:

Posted 05 April 2009 - 07:24 PM

i would say the speed sensor its a known problem and is located on top of the gearbox and held in place by a location pin.


Unless its the MTX-75 gearbox then its held in with a torx screw and costs 3 times as much as one for the IB5 box

#9 sam1986uk

sam1986uk

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Location:

Posted 03 June 2009 - 09:05 PM

Probably the speedo sensor.
I believe it was on TV programme "Watchdog".
It is a common fault. One viewer said it can be temporarily fixed by spraying WD-40, but this is not a perminant fix though.


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users