Jump to content


Show
Photo
- - - - -

Software Update For Mk7.5


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 Clarky2013

Clarky2013

    Addicted to boost

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 769 posts
  • Name: Tom
  • Ford Model: Fiesta ST3 Spirit Blue
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Hampshire

Posted 21 August 2013 - 07:11 PM

Does anyone know how you find out if a software update is available for the stereo?

 

Sorry if it's a stupid question, I have no idea!  :)



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 iNath

iNath

    ST-2 Mod

  • Super Mod
  • 3,587 posts
  • Name: Nathan
  • Ford Model: Molten Orange Fiesta ST-2
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Buckinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 21 August 2013 - 07:42 PM

Only through dealers for Ford Sync at the moment until they make it available to download.

#3 b1g_dav3

b1g_dav3

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Moderator
  • 2,511 posts
  • Name: David
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S TDCi
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Lancashire
Contributor

Posted 21 August 2013 - 08:23 PM

There is an update at the dealers, had it done to mine yesterday :P there's also a tweak to the ECU too for the 1.6 diesel's, not sure if it's for any other engine's though. 



#4 Clarky2013

Clarky2013

    Addicted to boost

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 769 posts
  • Name: Tom
  • Ford Model: Fiesta ST3 Spirit Blue
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Hampshire

Posted 21 August 2013 - 08:33 PM

Cheers , I've got the 1500 mile check on the weekend, is the update something they can do then? Or is it half/full day job?

#5 mattiff

mattiff

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 88 posts
  • Name: Matthew
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Pembrokeshire

Posted 21 August 2013 - 08:49 PM

There is an update at the dealers, had it done to mine yesterday :P there's also a tweak to the ECU too for the 1.6 diesel's, not sure if it's for any other engine's though. 


Is that all 1.6 diesels or just the me 7.5?

#6 cuke

cuke

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 728 posts
  • Name: Chris
  • Ford Model: Mk3 Focus Titanium X
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Sussex

Posted 22 August 2013 - 09:36 AM

Hi, they will perform updates if there is a known fault with your car, which you might have to prove. Over at Talkford there is a discussion about adding the trip counter to the 4 way display on the drivers screen through a software update. Some are going in and saying that there screens are freezing and getting it done for nothing. Otherwise it is a charge of around £50-£80....



#7 b1g_dav3

b1g_dav3

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Moderator
  • 2,511 posts
  • Name: David
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S TDCi
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Lancashire
Contributor

Posted 22 August 2013 - 10:07 AM

Cheers , I've got the 1500 mile check on the weekend, is the update something they can do then? Or is it half/full day job?

 

Took them a day for me because it had a Sync problem and a problem restarting after a stall, it'll probably be a quick job but as said it'll cost if there's no fault with the vehicle. I had a low fuel pressure problem too.

 

Think it's only for the 7.5 but there is an update for the mk7, tell them you have an unusual amount of turbo lag and they'll apply the update if you push them. That's if it's not been done by the previous owner, some dealers included the update in the service like I had on the previous car.

 

Hi, they will perform updates if there is a known fault with your car, which you might have to prove. Over at Talkford there is a discussion about adding the trip counter to the 4 way display on the drivers screen through a software update. Some are going in and saying that there screens are freezing and getting it done for nothing. Otherwise it is a charge of around £50-£80....

 

Thought all Fiesta's already had trip computers?



#8 cuke

cuke

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 728 posts
  • Name: Chris
  • Ford Model: Mk3 Focus Titanium X
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Sussex

Posted 22 August 2013 - 10:45 AM

I was using the trip on the Focus as a software update example, not the Fiesta, because Focus owners are trying to get a software update performed so it is displayed..



#9 Torchwood

Torchwood

    ST.....Seriously Tempting!

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 235 posts
  • Name: Torchwood_HK
  • Ford Model: Fiesta ST3
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Dorset

Posted 23 August 2013 - 01:27 PM

There is an update at the dealers, had it done to mine yesterday :P there's also a tweak to the ECU too for the 1.6 diesel's, not sure if it's for any other engine's though. 

Already!!!!!!!!

 

Do we know what the update addresses specifically? 

 

Is the tweak to the ecu in the update or a separate thing?



#10 Torchwood

Torchwood

    ST.....Seriously Tempting!

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 235 posts
  • Name: Torchwood_HK
  • Ford Model: Fiesta ST3
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Dorset

Posted 23 August 2013 - 01:29 PM

Cheers , I've got the 1500 mile check on the weekend, is the update something they can do then? Or is it half/full day job?

1500 mile check??? Surely that is something only your dealer has opted to do....



#11 jmbrown91

jmbrown91

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 378 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Ford Fiesta Zetec S 1.0 EcoBoost
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Northamptonshire

Posted 23 August 2013 - 02:22 PM

I can't believe they think it is acceptable to be able to charge you for a software upgrade to the car when you have paid so much out for a car...If this is the case then I'll just wait till the Focus needs a service and get them to do it then.

 

I hope the announce the ability to upgrade it yourself via USB sharpish



#12 Clarky2013

Clarky2013

    Addicted to boost

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 769 posts
  • Name: Tom
  • Ford Model: Fiesta ST3 Spirit Blue
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Hampshire

Posted 24 August 2013 - 09:12 AM

Sat in the dealer now and they refuse to accept there is a software update avalaible!, even after I offer to demonstrate the errors I get on mine! Good old ford for you

#13 Torchwood

Torchwood

    ST.....Seriously Tempting!

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 235 posts
  • Name: Torchwood_HK
  • Ford Model: Fiesta ST3
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Dorset

Posted 24 August 2013 - 01:02 PM

Sat in the dealer now and they refuse to accept there is a software update avalaible!, even after I offer to demonstrate the errors I get on mine! Good old ford for you

 

WHAT!!!  Which dealer..... PM it to me!!!



#14 cuke

cuke

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 728 posts
  • Name: Chris
  • Ford Model: Mk3 Focus Titanium X
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Sussex

Posted 24 August 2013 - 03:47 PM

Hi, you can already check to see if a update is available through ETIS, all you need is a VCI https://www.google.c...erface&tbm=shop whether this is able to update the pcm's or sync I do not know. Also, some dealers will connect up your car when it is being serviced, some will not and charge you £50-£80 for the privilege. If it isn't a safety issue they will be unlikely to be performed for free outside of that unless you have a very willing dealer..



#15 mgaking

mgaking

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 78 posts
  • Name: Michael
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Titanium 1.6
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Northamptonshire

Posted 24 August 2013 - 04:03 PM

Hi, you can already check to see if a update is available through ETIS, all you need is a VCI https://www.google.c...erface&tbm=shop whether this is able to update the pcm's or sync I do not know. Also, some dealers will connect up your car when it is being serviced, some will not and charge you £50-£80 for the privilege. If it isn't a safety issue they will be unlikely to be performed for free outside of that unless you have a very willing dealer..

 

Have you actually tested ETIS with any of these adapters?



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users