Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Squeeling Brakes......

exponential

Hi guys.

My Focus has the problem of squeeling/squeeking brakes but only after a journey on the motorway?

Not noticed or heard it at any other time except after high speed.

Have sprayed brake cleaning fluid (as directed by the local motor spares shop) directly onto and above the pads which seemed to rectify the problem but only for a short time.

The car has had an interim service recently from the place I bought it so I assume all necessary checks have been done and I trust the garage it came from.

I'm a novice compared to most on here so the problem may be obvious....

Thanks in advance.

Mike.

next step would be to purchase an anti squeal paste, copperslip or similar (there is another good product out there that acts like a sticky pad, but cant for life remember the name)

pads will have to be removed, all dust cleaned off from pads/caliper/carrier, apply the paste to back of pads and at any point the metal of the pad contacts metal on the caliper/carrier..also give any sliding pins a coating of copperslip or small amount of grease...reassemble..job done

if you find/use the sticky type paste, only use it on rear of pad, not on the pad to carrier joints or sliding pins

It sounds more like it needs a replacement set of pads? the brake squeal is more likely to be the vibration of the pad against the caliper than the pad against the disk...

next step would be to purchase an anti squeal paste, copperslip or similar (there is another good product out there that acts like a sticky pad, but cant for life remember the name)

pads will have to be removed, all dust cleaned off from pads/caliper/carrier, apply the paste to back of pads and at any point the metal of the pad contacts metal on the caliper/carrier..also give any sliding pins a coating of copperslip or small amount of grease...reassemble..job done