Jump to content


Show
Photo

! Guide ! Installing A Sub Box To Mk7


  • Please log in to reply
63 replies to this topic

#31 Luigi 200

Luigi 200

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec-S

Posted 22 December 2009 - 11:03 AM

Right, my 12" Vibe CBR Active Sub is in my boot, I've run my audio cables driver side and my power cables passenger side! (All Good)

I'm running the sub through the rear speakers, if your going to do this i recommend doing it properly, i see where Steve is coming from and it can be taken out without anyone knowing but i can see the wires popping out all the time! and the effort to get the dash out is not worth the hassle

i have scalpeled off the plastic coating on 2mm of the wire b4 the multiblock, you dont even have to take the cd player out. just disconnect the multiblock below it. i then soldered on my converter cables (2 postive, 2 negative and a ground cable) then i put insulation/electrical tape round the joins. this way there is a solid connection, it will not come out and it will sound better.

this is how a professional fitter would do the job! you could take all off it off and all you would see is a bit of bare cable on the speaker cable, this would be covered by insulation tape and it would be back to normal.

Its been asked a couple of times now which cables are the rear speakers, the top level are positive and the bottom are negative, the rear speakers are not next to eachother on the block, they are the WHITE/BROWN AND BLUE/BROWN the other rear speaker is GREEN/WHITE AND BROWN/YELLOW

Also on my 59 Fiesta, might be different from steves but i wouldnt of thought so, there is a couple of extra cables in the multiblock next to the speaker cables, they have a 3/4 V current passing through them, im not entirely sure what these are for but leave them be! dont connect speakers too them, i think it could get ugly! use a multimeter to find these cables and steer clear :) other than that a pretty simple install, just take your time.

This job is definately worth doing its a really good upgrade!

Any questions please ask :)

Mikey

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#32 Jonny87

Jonny87

    Ford Enthusiast

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,742 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Location:

Posted 22 December 2009 - 11:14 AM

Any pics of where you have connected stuff up? power, earth, and suchlike?

#33 Luigi 200

Luigi 200

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec-S

Posted 22 December 2009 - 01:11 PM

ill take pics of it all tonight and post on, steves original place of grounding for the sub is perfect.. works a treat.

i found a cheeky hole while the bonnet was open for the power cable to go through, it then goes into the car via the main door gromet, so you cant see any cables unless you look seriously hard haha its then fed down into the door well along with the remote (battery) live cable

was my first fit (had done some speaker changes before though) and went really well! :)

#34 beatty36

beatty36

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 252 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S 1.6TDCi

Posted 05 January 2010 - 05:49 PM

Thats idiotic!!! You have a live cable running along the passenger door on the outside, then along the side of the rear passenger!

#35 Luigi 200

Luigi 200

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec-S

Posted 22 January 2010 - 06:19 PM

Thats idiotic!!! You have a live cable running along the passenger door on the outside, then along the side of the rear passenger!


beatty36 your clearly an idiot and have no idea what your going on about....

the live cable is fully insulated and fused and both ends...

live cables run all the way through the car...

#36 beatty36

beatty36

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 252 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S 1.6TDCi

Posted 24 January 2010 - 07:09 PM

Hello there...
Do you have a link to this or any more information?
I looked on the Halfords site but could not find it.

thank you,

Mark.


Hey mate, sorry it took so long. But yeah i dont know where they are on the halfords site but if you go onto ebay its called a vibe fast plug. Really neat wee gadget. Hope this helps.

#37 beatty36

beatty36

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 252 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S 1.6TDCi

Posted 24 January 2010 - 07:11 PM

beatty36 your clearly an idiot and have no idea what your going on about....

the live cable is fully insulated and fused and both ends...

live cables run all the way through the car...



Clearly, lol thinking of somthing else.

#38 LeeZetecS

LeeZetecS

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 167 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S TDCi
  • Location: Hertfordshire

Posted 06 March 2010 - 12:01 PM


Did you manage to get some photo's of what you were describing about part of this install.

I want to finish a list of stuff i need before i start this upgrade.


#39 curtis-mk4

curtis-mk4

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Ford Model: fiesta mk4

Posted 22 March 2010 - 08:48 PM

hi , ive got an amp and bass, im wandering does it connect to the orginal ford head unit (mk4 fietsa) cheers

#40 Mk7_Rbj

Mk7_Rbj

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Name: Robert
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7 1.4tdci Titanium
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: West Midlands

Posted 14 October 2010 - 06:09 PM

Please have a look at my posts here in my progress thread and let me know if you can help..

Thanks
RBJ

#41 mpkayeuk

mpkayeuk

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec 1.25

Posted 04 December 2010 - 03:41 PM

i have scalpeled off the plastic coating on 2mm of the wire b4 the multiblock, you dont even have to take the cd player out. just disconnect the multiblock below it. i then soldered on my converter cables (2 postive, 2 negative and a ground cable) then i put insulation/electrical tape round the joins. this way there is a solid connection, it will not come out and it will sound better.


I'm looking at fitting an active sub, the low profile Pioneer one, into my Zetec. However, why would you make a permanent change to the Ford loom (albeit hidden) when you could get an SOT (also known as a Parrot lead) from Autoleads like this:

http://bit.ly/eAcIl0

Then you have converted the Ford loom to an ISO loom inline and you can make a custom ISO lead to take off just the outputs you need to run to the rear of the car (i.e. the rear speakers or RCAs and ignition power). All this without effecting the operation of the OEM head unit. That's what I'm going to do I think. Any reason why this is a bad idea? Is there enough room in the dash for this approach?

#42 kemik

kemik

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Ford Model: fiesta
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 13 May 2011 - 10:37 PM

Right, my 12" Vibe CBR Active Sub is in my boot, I've run my audio cables driver side and my power cables passenger side! (All Good)

I'm running the sub through the rear speakers, if your going to do this i recommend doing it properly, i see where Steve is coming from and it can be taken out without anyone knowing but i can see the wires popping out all the time! and the effort to get the dash out is not worth the hassle

i have scalpeled off the plastic coating on 2mm of the wire b4 the multiblock, you dont even have to take the cd player out. just disconnect the multiblock below it. i then soldered on my converter cables (2 postive, 2 negative and a ground cable) then i put insulation/electrical tape round the joins. this way there is a solid connection, it will not come out and it will sound better.

this is how a professional fitter would do the job! you could take all off it off and all you would see is a bit of bare cable on the speaker cable, this would be covered by insulation tape and it would be back to normal.

Its been asked a couple of times now which cables are the rear speakers, the top level are positive and the bottom are negative, the rear speakers are not next to eachother on the block, they are the WHITE/BROWN AND BLUE/BROWN the other rear speaker is GREEN/WHITE AND BROWN/YELLOW

Also on my 59 Fiesta, might be different from steves but i wouldnt of thought so, there is a couple of extra cables in the multiblock next to the speaker cables, they have a 3/4 V current passing through them, im not entirely sure what these are for but leave them be! dont connect speakers too them, i think it could get ugly! use a multimeter to find these cables and steer clear :) other than that a pretty simple install, just take your time.

This job is definately worth doing its a really good upgrade!

Any questions please ask :)

Mikey

Hey Mikey,
i've just fitted a sub to my fiesta but im getting a popping sound from one of the phono cables. Its not power or interference from the air as when you swap the connections round the interference switches to the other lead. Im stumped and dont know here to go from there. Can anyone help please? Thanks.
Kemik.

#43 cmw1992

cmw1992

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Name: chris
  • Ford Model: fiesta zetec s
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Bedfordshire

Posted 07 October 2011 - 07:36 PM

im using one of these My link but i have connected everything up and no sound is coming from the sub, can anyone help?

#44 D4nz0

D4nz0

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 422 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S 1.6 TDCI

Posted 07 October 2011 - 10:35 PM

im using one of these My link but i have connected everything up and no sound is coming from the sub, can anyone help?



wow! That looks really cool, much better than using other methods..... but my only worry s the lack of a trustworthy brand.

But back to your problem. You will need to give a bit more detail.... first off, is your amp turning on? Fuses all connected and ok?

If you're amp's power light is coming on, then it can only really be between the head units RCA's, or the wiring to sub.... maybe headunit settings? checked the bias goes to rear as well as front? If you don't have the option of front and rear bias (which some Fez's don't) then that could be your issue if the unit is only outputting front signal.... I think Ford can update the cars software to fix this so no big deal I don't think.

Danny

#45 cmw1992

cmw1992

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Name: chris
  • Ford Model: fiesta zetec s
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Bedfordshire

Posted 08 October 2011 - 06:26 PM

yer they are so simple just plug in and play but not sure if they actually work :P

to your questions the light in the amp is on and fuses are good. i have tryed changing the earth and making a better connection to the sub from the amp but still nothing. do you think the problem will be with the rca's?

Also im a bit confused, do you have to conect the amp to the rear speakers?

cheers

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users