Jump to content


Photo

! Guide ! Installing A Sub Box To Mk7


  • Please log in to reply
63 replies to this topic

#46 D4nz0

D4nz0

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 422 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S 1.6 TDCI

Posted 08 October 2011 - 08:58 PM

if the amp is on then you definitely have no problems with your earth, live or remote cables.

I've just done some reading up on this, after googling the serial number of it.... and it turns out those RCA's are for input. E.g. get a 3.5mm jack to RCA cable and plug in your iPod.

That's the reason you're getting no sound, coz they're not outputting anything ;)


You're gonna need to get a couple of these http://www.ebay.co.u...2#ht_3040wt_982

and plug them into the rear speakers wires. I just linked first set I found with a reputable name, but do a search for RCA Line Converter and see what you find.

Danny

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#47 cmw1992

cmw1992

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Name: chris
  • Ford Model: fiesta zetec s
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Bedfordshire

Posted 09 October 2011 - 05:25 PM

top man cheers for that think ill prob pop to halfords cos i know they sell them.
thanks for the help hopefully ill have it up and running tomorrow :)

#48 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 9,706 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Focus ZetecS
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 10 October 2011 - 03:37 PM

Nice Guide Mate Posted Image

will help lots of people




#49 cmw1992

cmw1992

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Name: chris
  • Ford Model: fiesta zetec s
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Bedfordshire

Posted 15 October 2011 - 06:30 PM

finally got my sub going, when you have it all conected you apreciate how good this guide is!

#50 FordCom18

FordCom18

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Name: kenneth
  • Ford Model: fiesta
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 02 February 2012 - 06:51 PM

Hello Iam also workingwith a subwoofer formyfordfiestaMK7of 2011I'vedoneall the stepsthatcan be found hereonshowyour topic, I haveonly1 problemand thatis the remote, youcan helpmesometimes?byeasy to explainexactly where heshouldsit orwith photographsto

Thank you


#51 1989jeffrey1989

1989jeffrey1989

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Name: kieren
  • Ford Model: focus zetec
  • Year: 2003
  • Location: Hampshire

Posted 20 February 2012 - 08:38 PM

Hey, Ive recently puchased a mk 7 fiesta with the sony head unit etc. I was just wondering if anybody has the know how about fitting a sub and amp to this unit? Will it be the same as the regular headset?? Ive had the sub and amp for some time now so hoping to use these (= P.S one month til i pick my baby up!! :D

#52 moican

moican

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Name: zafiris
  • Ford Model: fiesta mk7 zetec s
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 27 March 2012 - 12:47 PM

I am writing this guide in addition to my first guide to help others if they want to install a sub box into the Mk7 using a RCA convertor to create pre amps out.

Firstly I will add that this is not a simple job and I would not advise this to be done by a novice. How ever I hope my guide will make it easier for anyone trying to do the same. Also I will add for those that are screamish Posted Image this does invole taking apart a 3 week old car, but absolutly no damage was done to my new little car.

So here we go.

Take out the front head unit, refer to my FIRST guide to do this. Once you have the head unit out you will have to disconnect two multi blocks from the rear of the unit, disconnect both and remove head unit to a safe place. The smaller multi block is just data cables. The connection you are interested in is the larger multiblock. When you look the block you will see 5 pairs of wires top n bottom plus a single cable on its own. The single cable on its own is the ignition live (only goes live when ignition is on). At the other end of the block you will see two fatter cables, the cable with black on it is the ground, and the other is the permannet live. The other eight cables which are a variety of colours are the speaker cables. The top row is the positive and bottom is negative.

Posted Image

Now take your RCA convertor on it you will have two positive speaker cables and two negative speaker cables. To avoid cutting cables you can push a bare end cable into the back of the multi blocks so push two positive into the top row and two positive into the bottom row. It is not important which speaker connection you use just as long as you use the same for both neg and pos. On your RCA convertor you will also have a positive and negative cable, again push the bare end cable from your RCA convertor into the appropriate neg and pos connection on the multi block. Now with your ampilifier kit you will be supplied with a long blue remote live cable, this cable is pushed into the back of the ignition live cable (the single cable on the multi block), this will mean your amp will on go on when your ignition is on.

Next you will have to feed your RCA cables, (supplied with your amp), your blue remote cable and your power cable to the rear of the car. First tie off your RCA cable and remote cable to something at the head unit so you dont pull them through.

Posted Image

It is fairly easy to feed your RCA cables and your remote cable down from the head unit to the floor. You can then tuck them in behind the carpet, and lead them to the small side panel on the passenger side.

Posted Image

Now you can take your main min 8 gauge power cable and connect it to the battery.

Posted Image

Then this cable can be fed down through a hole next to the washer bottle which will bring it out by the inner arch wheel trim. Thread it round the arch, and by the door hinge you will see some foam sound insulation, this can be moved to the side so the cable can be fed through the hinge to the interior.

Posted Image

Now lift up the rubber waterproof trim and feed 3 cables along it, the power cable the RCA cable and the remote cable, and they will now come out by the rear seats.

Posted Image

It is now possible to pass all 3 cables along the side of the back seat so that they come out in the boot.

Posted Image

Now just when you thought you were done you now have to create an Earth cable, this should be as short as possible and taken from the rear. I used one of the 13mm bolts that hold seat belt mounting in. Simple take out bolt connect your earth cable and put bolt back in.

Posted Image

Now the fun bit connect all those cable up to your amp. I am using a active sub, meaning the amp is bulit into the sub box. To test it temporarily reconnect the front head unit and dash and power it up to see if it all works, (remember to turn on your ignition).

Posted Image

It should all now come on. With me it all worked first time, I was very pround of myself.

Posted Image

You can now put the car carefully back together. I did this whole job without a single scratch and no damage to the car at all, the entire system could be taken out without any sign that had been there.

I hope this guide has been of some use. Any questions then please ask.

Steve

hey man, you lifted the waterproof rubber in order to fit the power cable. how did you put it back?I mean that with the power cable over there it may not be waterproof any more!

#53 GillyShack

GillyShack

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 27 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Edge 1.25
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Perthshire

Posted 19 January 2013 - 09:43 PM

hey guys- all who installed a sub to the mk7 standard fordy h/unit- did you notice a difference with the standard speakers? mine are a bit pants as is.... cause i like a bit of bass.... a lotta bass! and the standard speakers just can't handle me!

#54 TommyTse

TommyTse

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
  • Ford Model: mk7 zetec s
  • Location: Essex

Posted 12 March 2013 - 11:42 AM

hi. i have recently ask a shop to install amp and 6x9 speakers on my parcel shelf. i supplied the amp and speakers for the job. after the job was done and they said i have to book another time because it has a very bad interference with my speakers  but i dont have time till next week so i want to know what seem to be the problem with it? i have also told putting another amp in but still do the same and i tried a sub as well but it still makes a very bad interference noise. i'll have ask how they have put the rca cable in they said they done it from the rear speakers etc. i really rather do it myself if i can to sort the problem out rather wasting more time on the weekend to try look for the problem? 

thank you



#55 RyanB

RyanB

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Name: Ryan
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: West Midlands

Posted 20 March 2013 - 02:38 PM

Hi! Great guide, it's helped me loads and I understand it all. However, I really cannot find where the hole is for the power wire of the sub from the battery goes into the car is? Any detailed explanations, especially with pictures is much appreciated! 

 

Thanks in advance,

Ryan



#56 UUilliam

UUilliam

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 59 posts
  • Ford Model: Style
  • Location: Lanarkshire

Posted 20 May 2013 - 11:36 PM

I got my sub installed by Audiowise in eastkilbride.

They took the door panels off (or the trim atleast) and then the wires go UNDER the passanger seats, so totally not visible anywhere in the car, except in the boot where they connect to the sub and amp.

cost me £220 to get fitted (quoted 120 but cause it was the first mk7.5 they ever done it took them a few hours more to do it)
That's including 4-gauge cables and a high level adapter so I could keep my original stereo and upgrade my sub to a more powerful one in the future.

so pretty good price.



#57 UUilliam

UUilliam

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 59 posts
  • Ford Model: Style
  • Location: Lanarkshire

Posted 20 May 2013 - 11:37 PM

Ryan - there is a "hose" (contains wires) under the hood that goes into the body.

The guys at audio wise just poked a hole through it and fed the wire into the hose.
on the same side as the window washer fluid.

 



#58 Chris Wilson

Chris Wilson

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Name: Chris
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Wiltshire

Posted 23 June 2013 - 08:57 PM

Hi, I believe i have the same model Fiesta as this one. but im still useless at trying to instal my Sub. Is anyone near the Swindon area that would be willing to install it for me if i pay them.



#59 Lasher

Lasher

    Newbie

  • Members via FB
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Name: Liam
  • Ford Model: feista
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: West Midlands

Posted 18 July 2013 - 07:44 PM

Hey,

I don't know if this is the easiest way to explain this but hopefully someone can explain/help me out

 

 

Im considering installing a active sub when I get my new fiesta all I wanted to know is : how do you control the volumes on it e.g the bass and frequency. I understand that it would be controlled on the enclosure itself but is there anyway to control it from the radio menus ? Any help would be much appreciated. 

 

Thanks!!



#60 UUilliam

UUilliam

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 59 posts
  • Ford Model: Style
  • Location: Lanarkshire

Posted 19 July 2013 - 02:08 PM

Hey,

I don't know if this is the easiest way to explain this but hopefully someone can explain/help me out

 

 

Im considering installing a active sub when I get my new fiesta all I wanted to know is : how do you control the volumes on it e.g the bass and frequency. I understand that it would be controlled on the enclosure itself but is there anyway to control it from the radio menus ? Any help would be much appreciated. 

 

Thanks!!

I control mines from the dash radio.
In the sound menu you can change the bass from -7 to +7
As well as "middle" and "treble"
 



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users