Jump to content


Photo

! Guide ! Installing A Sub Box To Mk7


  • Please log in to reply
75 replies to this topic

#61 Lasher

Lasher

    Newbie

  • Members via FB
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Name: Liam
  • Ford Model: feista
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: West Midlands

Posted 22 July 2013 - 06:31 PM

I control mines from the dash radio.
In the sound menu you can change the bass from -7 to +7
As well as "middle" and "treble"
 

Yeah that's what I thought it would be like but I thought there might be a separate option for the sub itself if you see where im coming from ?



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...



Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#62 wickenss

wickenss

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Name: roy
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: London

Posted 26 May 2014 - 09:22 PM

When you push the cables into the multi block how do you get them to stay in? Doesn't seem very secure. Nice tutorial please reply.

#63 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 21,220 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 27 May 2014 - 11:37 AM

multiblocks normally have a screw to tighten to hold the wire in place.



#64 vettienbusta

vettienbusta

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Location:

Posted 19 June 2014 - 09:11 PM

Hi. Does the stereo have the jacks to plug the amp straight in or do I need some kind of adapter. Thanks


Vettie

#65 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 11,695 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Mk2.5 Focus ZetecS 1.6TDCi superleggero
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 09 February 2015 - 05:35 PM

Few sub installation items for sale here: http://www.fordowner...ade-items-sale/

#66 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 11,695 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Mk2.5 Focus ZetecS 1.6TDCi superleggero
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 09 February 2015 - 05:37 PM

Hi. Does the stereo have the jacks to plug the amp straight in or do I need some kind of adapter. Thanks
Vettie

Hi,
You will need a low level RCA output adaptor such as this: http://www.ebay.co.u...E-/270662823340

#67 JustCallMeTom

JustCallMeTom

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Name: Tom
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Monmouthshire

Posted 27 February 2015 - 01:02 AM

Hi all,

I have wired my sub and amp in the same fashion as this, however i am getting some interference from somewhere. if i am not playing any music, there is a constant noise coming from the sub, and if i indicate or even flash my lights there is almost a heartbeat sort of beat from the sub. Could anyone tell me what could be causing this? I bought both sub and amp second hand, but the wiring kit was from motorworld and is an 8 gauge set. 

Thanks!

Tom



#68 GillyShack

GillyShack

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts
  • Name: Gillian
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Edge 1.25
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Perthshire

Posted 27 February 2015 - 08:29 AM

Check where your remote is, chances are you're picking up interference from there.
Remember also don't run your RCA's directly beside your power cables down the side of the car, it takes longer but you're better running them down opposite sides of the car! That saves noise too. And of that still doesn't work then you can get noise suppressors that will cancel out the noise!

#69 JustCallMeTom

JustCallMeTom

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Name: Tom
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Monmouthshire

Posted 27 February 2015 - 12:00 PM

Ah okay then thanks! I'll try that and repost!


Sent from my iPhone using Ford OC

#70 JustCallMeTom

JustCallMeTom

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Name: Tom
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Monmouthshire

Posted 27 February 2015 - 12:01 PM

Should I run the remote down the same as the RCA cables or power cable??


Sent from my iPhone using Ford OC

#71 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 11,695 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Mk2.5 Focus ZetecS 1.6TDCi superleggero
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 27 February 2015 - 05:35 PM

Should I run the remote down the same as the RCA cables or power cable??
Sent from my iPhone using Ford OC

Same side as the power cable,
I recommend a ground loop isolator to eliminate interferance see link: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/251215258169
It filters the audio feed and removes any spikes from the negative line.

#72 NL-ST

NL-ST

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Name: NL
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2015
  • Location: London

Posted 01 March 2015 - 12:41 PM

Has anyone used on of these RCA adapters with Remote/ Power out ?

 

 

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item566e4ba76b

 

Am I right in thinking that with this there would be no need to remove the headunit & the Power & Remote cables from the adapter could be wired up directly to the AMP (which will be in the boot with the sub) ? 

 

And the speaker connection taken directly from the rear speakers ?

 

ONLY will need to run the POWER cable for the AMP to the battery



#73 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 11,695 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Mk2.5 Focus ZetecS 1.6TDCi superleggero
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 01 March 2015 - 02:17 PM

Has anyone used on of these RCA adapters with Remote/ Power out ?
 
 
http://www.ebay.co.u...=item566e4ba76b
 
Am I right in thinking that with this there would be no need to remove the headunit & the Power & Remote cables from the adapter could be wired up directly to the AMP (which will be in the boot with the sub) ? 
 
And the speaker connection taken directly from the rear speakers ?
 
ONLY will need to run the POWER cable for the AMP to the battery

Yes thats correct no need to remove headunit,
This perticular model does need a 12v feed; for this you could fit a piggy back mini blade fuse adaptor to the passenger glove box on a fuse which becomes live at ignition,
Just need power cable from battery and RCA from this box to your amp,
Audio cable between amp and sub i recommend vibe flatbass 13AWG
Im currently selling that aswell as some amp power cables etc see link:
http://www.ebay.co.u...=1&_ipg=&_from=

#74 NL-ST

NL-ST

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Name: NL
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2015
  • Location: London

Posted 01 March 2015 - 02:32 PM

Great - I think I will be placing a order........

For the 12v feed from the adapter, surely I could connect to the Power terminal on the AMP (where the main power cable connects) ???

Same for the earth (of the amp) ???

Thanks for the link for the power cables BUT have already got everything which I have removed from my last car........


Sent from my iPhone using Ford OC

#75 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 11,695 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Mk2.5 Focus ZetecS 1.6TDCi superleggero
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 01 March 2015 - 03:15 PM

Great - I think I will be placing a order........
For the 12v feed from the adapter, surely I could connect to the Power terminal on the AMP (where the main power cable connects) ???
Same for the earth (of the amp) ???
Thanks for the link for the power cables BUT have already got everything which I have removed from my last car........
Sent from my iPhone using Ford OC

You could splice them in with the feeds directly from battery while fitting an in-line fuse to protect the low level rca adaptor
It may say amperage on the box itself im guessing 10amp

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users