Jump to content


Show
Photo
- - - - -

Mk7 1.6Tdci (90Bhp) Remap - Through Odb?


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 neps

neps

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Name: Espen
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 19 September 2013 - 10:40 AM

Have tried to get my fiesta remapped, but the tuner had problem doing this over the odb port. We tried several tools without any success.

 

Have any of you guys remapped your tdci? If so, how was is it done? Through odb, or did they need to take the ECU out of the car?



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 FOCA

FOCA

    Feet on the table

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,641 posts
  • Name: FOCA
  • Ford Model: Mondeo Mk3 Sleeper 194 flb.p.t.
  • Year: Non
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 19 September 2013 - 02:05 PM

There must be something that can be done, as Superchips can remap the car if you take it to a Superchips dealer -

 

http://www.superchip...aMk71.6TDCi.pdf

 

where abouts are you?



#3 Mike77

Mike77

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 909 posts
  • Name: Mike
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.6 TDCI Titanium
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 19 September 2013 - 02:49 PM

I'm on my phone so can't see what year your car is. But I've read somewhere that if it has a dpf, they are more difficult. But they are 95bhp, so I'm assuming yours is pre 2011 ? In which case, I've never heard of any problems.....?

#4 neps

neps

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Name: Espen
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 20 September 2013 - 08:48 PM

Mine is a 2009, 90bhp, with dpf. Ecu should be a bosch edc16

I know it can be mapped, but I just wonder if it might be that my obd port is faulty? Or do remapping it require direct access to the ecu (BDM mode)

#5 neps

neps

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Name: Espen
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 20 September 2013 - 08:49 PM

There must be something that can be done, as Superchips can remap the car if you take it to a Superchips dealer -
 
http://www.superchip...aMk71.6TDCi.pdf
 
where abouts are you?

Im in Oslo, Norway.

#6 iNath

iNath

    ST-2 Mod

  • Super Mod
  • 3,596 posts
  • Name: Nathan
  • Ford Model: Molten Orange Fiesta ST-2
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Buckinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 20 September 2013 - 08:58 PM

Mine is a 2009, 90bhp, with dpf. Ecu should be a bosch edc16

 

 

Just out of interest, if you put your VIN in to etis what stage emissions is it?
 

https://www.etis.for...cleSelection.do



#7 Mike77

Mike77

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 909 posts
  • Name: Mike
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.6 TDCI Titanium
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 21 September 2013 - 04:03 AM

Pretty sure they didn't have dpf's fitted to the 90bhp model !!! Thats the reason I bought mine. A model with a DPF has 95bhp.



#8 neps

neps

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Name: Espen
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 21 September 2013 - 07:44 AM

No offence Mike, I can see the DPF physically, I have the regenerate light in my cluster. And I also hear the fan going full speed sometimes after parking the car if it was stopped during a regen cycle.

 

 

And the Etis link iNath provided also back up that I have dpf

 

Primary Features

Build Date:

  09.06.2009

Vehicle Line:

  Fiesta 2008-2012

Body Style:

  5 Door Saloon

Version:

  Series 30

Engine:

  1.6L Duratorq TDCi (90PS) - DV6

Transmission:

  5 Speed Manual Transaxle - B5/IB5

Drive:

  LHD FWD

Axle Ratio:

  3.05

Emission:

  Stage IV + CDPF Emissions

Air Conditioning:

  Manual Air Conditioning

Territory:

  (+)"S"

Paint:

  Frozen White

Interior Fabric:

  Ecrin / Syracus

 


Emission:

  Stage IV + CDPF Emissions

 


 

Anyways, I have the same ECU`s as cars without DPF (EDC16C34) so it should be as easy to remap ?



#9 FOCA

FOCA

    Feet on the table

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,641 posts
  • Name: FOCA
  • Ford Model: Mondeo Mk3 Sleeper 194 flb.p.t.
  • Year: Non
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 21 September 2013 - 03:24 PM


 

Superchips can remap your car (Fiesta 1.6 TDCI mk7 90PS 9/2008-on ) With a claimed improvement to 122Hp (approx 124PS) / 231Nm -

Its interesting that this is not offered via mail order Via Bluefin handset to do yourself and you must take it to a Superchips dealer (so it probably cannot be done through the OBD port alone and there is more they need to do -(so your OBD port probably is not faulty) )


 

Here are the Superchips dealers closest to you  -
 

 

Turbo Teknikk

City: Mjondalen

Address: Stranvn 10,3050

Tel: 0047 32878108

Fax: 0047 32878108


Eng`s Auto AS

City: Trogstad

Address: Grav Industriomrade 4

Post code: N-1860

Tel: 0047 69 82 69 85

Fax: 0047 69 82 69 86

Email: post@engs-auto.no

 

Autoteknikk AS

City: Kristiansand

Address: Setesdalsveien 207 Vest-Agder

Post code: 4618

Tel: 0047 38019053

 

 

 

In Sweden -

 

Motor Nord AB

City: Sundsvall

Address: Bjorneborgsgatan 49

Post code: 85121

Tel: 0046 60157400

Fax: 0046 60157405

Email: car.special@motornord.se

Site: www.motornord.se

 

And in Denmark -
 

Schmiedmann Odense A/S

City: Korup

Address: Sandvadvej 9

Post code: 5210 Odense NV

Tel: 0045 65941545

Fax: 0045 65940098

Email: web@schmiedmann.com

Site: www.schmiedmann.com

 

(I have included the Sweden and Denmark ones in case you work or travel there often/ as alternatives )

 

 

It would cost £320 to do it if it was the UK


 

Like most things it is easy to do >if you know how< and if it was that easy your tuner would have done it already



#10 b1g_dav3

b1g_dav3

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Moderator
  • 2,514 posts
  • Name: David
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S TDCi
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Lancashire
Contributor

Posted 21 September 2013 - 08:27 PM

Still debating a remap for my diesel, just don't fancy voiding my warranty lol.



#11 Mike77

Mike77

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 909 posts
  • Name: Mike
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.6 TDCI Titanium
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 22 September 2013 - 03:12 AM

Someone must have opted for it from new then,,, as they were only fitted as standard from 2010. Unusual option to go for though I'd have thought.



#12 neps

neps

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Name: Espen
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 22 September 2013 - 08:01 AM

Someone must have opted for it from new then,,, as they were only fitted as standard from 2010. Unusual option to go for though I'd have thought.


It may be because this is a "econetic", a model which is supposed to be environment friendly, have better fuel mileage and so on.
It was also sold new in Sweden, maybe they have other regulations there than in UK.

#13 tom_d

tom_d

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 133 posts
  • Name: Tom
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S TDCi
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Durham

Posted 22 September 2013 - 12:07 PM

Still debating a remap for my diesel, just don't fancy voiding my warranty lol.


Same same! Looked and it's only extra £30 a year insurance, for being 20 I don't think it's that bad. But you never know if you will need to claim on the warranty, it's annoying

#14 Mike77

Mike77

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 909 posts
  • Name: Mike
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.6 TDCI Titanium
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 22 September 2013 - 03:37 PM

Yeah, just noticed your not in the UK, you may have tighter regulations over there  :)



#15 b1g_dav3

b1g_dav3

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Moderator
  • 2,514 posts
  • Name: David
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S TDCi
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Lancashire
Contributor

Posted 22 September 2013 - 04:35 PM

Same same! Looked and it's only extra £30 a year insurance, for being 20 I don't think it's that bad. But you never know if you will need to claim on the warranty, it's annoying

 

Companies claim that diagnostic software can't detect the maps, but I'm not completely convinced >_>



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users