Jump to content


Show
Photo

USB on new Fiesta


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Turbo weasel

Turbo weasel

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.6 TDCi Titanium 2008
  • Location:

Posted 09 April 2009 - 06:43 PM

Hi

I have a new shape Fiesta with Bluetooth and Aux. I did not ask for the USB option when I ordered the car.

I am now considering buying an Ipod, which I would like to use in the car. I believe that I can play from the Ipod through the Aux socket, but will not be able to get the track list on the cars display. Am I right in thinking that I would need the USB to get the tack listing?

Is it possible to add the USB to the fitted audio?

Any help appreciated.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 JonZS

JonZS

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Name: Jonathan
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Staffordshire

Posted 13 April 2009 - 10:31 PM

1. You can use the iPod through the aux port but the only remote control you can use is the volume, all track changes etc are done via the iPod.
2. It will be displayed as LINE IN and nothing else i.e iPod etc
3. Yes you need usb to get more functionality
4. Possibly BUT as they are only factory fit options at the moment we will have to either investigate it ourselves via dismantling the panels to see if the wiring loom is installed already. Only problem is no parts are yet on sale and we await Ford to release it as an upgrade option / purchasable parts.

#3 TitaniumSteve

TitaniumSteve

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 83 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7 1.6 TDCi Titanium
  • Location:
Contributor

Posted 20 April 2009 - 10:37 PM

A friend of mine has the USB option and I only have the standard bluetooth without USB. We have taken apart the trim panels on both our cars in this location and unfortunatly I can confirm that the wiring loom is diffrent as the connection for USB are not any where to be seen on mine. I guess Ford have built them very much to order and are doing all the can to save a few pence on the wiring looms.

#4 Turbo weasel

Turbo weasel

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.6 TDCi Titanium 2008
  • Location:

Posted 23 April 2009 - 08:15 PM

A friend of mine has the USB option and I only have the standard bluetooth without USB. We have taken apart the trim panels on both our cars in this location and unfortunatly I can confirm that the wiring loom is diffrent as the connection for USB are not any where to be seen on mine. I guess Ford have built them very much to order and are doing all the can to save a few pence on the wiring looms.

Thanks for the useful reply. I guess I will have to make do with what I have.

#5 mount66

mount66

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • Name: Christopher
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.5 TDCI Zetec
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: RhonddaCynonTaff

Posted 27 October 2013 - 08:37 PM

A friend of mine has the USB option and I only have the standard bluetooth without USB. We have taken apart the trim panels on both our cars in this location and unfortunatly I can confirm that the wiring loom is diffrent as the connection for USB are not any where to be seen on mine. I guess Ford have built them very much to order and are doing all the can to save a few pence on the wiring looms.

 

How difficult a job is it to remove the trim, I have just bought a 2013 1.5 TDCi Zetec and the USB port is damaged, and was wondering about removing trim so I can get to the socket and cable to try and replace or repair




Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users