Jump to content


Photo

Escort gear linkage HELP


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 demonteddy

demonteddy

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Ford Model: mk4 Escort estate
  • Location:

Posted 10 April 2009 - 09:16 PM

Hi, I have an Escort 1300L it was made with a 5spd box but the person i bought it from changed it to 4spd.
The problemi have is that when i fitted a 5spd box i am only get 1,2,3and 4th gear, cant get reverse or fifth.
Are the linkages different for 4spd and 5spd?
If so my engine is an OHV will the linkage from a CVH gearbox fit the OHV gearbox the local car dismanterles
dont have any 5spd Mk4 Escorts in only 4spd, I got the gearbox from a fiesta the breakers said they are the same gearbox.
the gearbox did go straight in.
This is the first time i have ever worked on a transverse engine maybe i havnt lined something up
Desperatly need help i need my car back on the road.

Thankyou in advance for your advice

demonteddy

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...



Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 homeless

homeless

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 42 posts
  • Ford Model: mondeo
  • Location:

Posted 11 April 2009 - 07:48 PM

you need a five speed gear selector.....

#3 demonteddy

demonteddy

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Ford Model: mk4 Escort estate
  • Location:

Posted 11 April 2009 - 11:38 PM

you need a five speed gear selector.....

I thought that what i wanted to know was will a cvh gear selector fit i cant get a ohv 5spd selector there are loads of
CVH mk 4 cars in breakers, just hard to get hold of OHV 5spd in breakers

#4 homeless

homeless

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 42 posts
  • Ford Model: mondeo
  • Location:

Posted 12 April 2009 - 09:29 AM

I thought that what i wanted to know was will a cvh gear selector fit i cant get a ohv 5spd selector there are loads of
CVH mk 4 cars in breakers, just hard to get hold of OHV 5spd in breakers



A cvh one will be fine...best to set them up in reverse and go from there.
You may see on your selector rod coming out of the gearbox that there is a rust tide line...try and use that as a guide when lining them up, and have someone else in the drivers seat checking it for you as you go to save to getting up and down...it will take a little while to get it perfect, but you will get there.
Good luck :)



#5 demonteddy

demonteddy

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Ford Model: mk4 Escort estate
  • Location:

Posted 13 April 2009 - 09:23 AM

Thankyou homeless
I will get the CVH 5spd selector and hopefully get back on the road, I should have relised that the selectors would be different
i didnt want to change the gearbox back to a 4spd after all the hell i went through fitting the 5spd box, this is the first time i have ever fitted
a gearbox to a transerve engine And the last.

I do have another question my Escort just has the normal clocks i was thinking of fitting clocks with a rev counter instead will it just plug straight in or
do i need to rewire
Thanks again
demonteddy

#6 homeless

homeless

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 42 posts
  • Ford Model: mondeo
  • Location:

Posted 14 April 2009 - 09:24 AM

You can just need to take one wire to the coil for a RPM source...i did this years ago on an Mk3 GL and i added XR3 clocks..ghia ones would do too, when removing them from another car ask the scappy if you can cut the plugs off 2 this will u.

Good luck mate.. :) and no problem ;)

#7 demonteddy

demonteddy

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Ford Model: mk4 Escort estate
  • Location:

Posted 16 April 2009 - 08:57 AM

Hi Thanks for advice will have a go at putting a rev counter on.
Sorted the gear linkage out by using a 5spd linkage just need to fine tune it,
I can drive it but will have to adjust linkage till i get it spot on, another day tho
i need a break from working on it LOL

thanks
demonteddy

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users