Jump to content


Show
Photo

Mk1 Focus. Anyone Changed The Stereo?


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 caffeinehigh

caffeinehigh

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Name: Chris
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2003
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 05 October 2013 - 07:24 PM

I'm thinking of changing the stereo on my MK1 focus. But since the standard stereo is slightly curved I'm thinking it might not look right. Has anyone who has done it got some pictures so I can get an idea of how it looks? 



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 Foci_st3

Foci_st3

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 331 posts
  • Name: D
  • Ford Model: MK3 Focus Titanium x
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Buckinghamshire

Posted 05 October 2013 - 10:37 PM

I used to have a nice pioneer in my old mp3 and it sat rather well, the only bad design is the blanking plate needed to put above the unit as sometimes they don't fit tightly.

#3 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 14,374 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 06 October 2013 - 12:29 AM

This is the kit you need-

 

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item53fcc44717

 

Also depending on the radio you fit you'll need a loom patch cable and a steering column controller interface too.



#4 caffeinehigh

caffeinehigh

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Name: Chris
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2003
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 06 October 2013 - 01:25 AM

Thanks. Is that much different to something like this? http://www.ebay.co.u...984.m1423.l2649

 

I'll browse some stereos. Maybe something not glossy black will blend in better with the dash but no doubt hard to find. 



#5 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 14,374 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 06 October 2013 - 02:32 AM

That one you linked is less likely to move about than the one i linked so will be better.
You'll still need to make sure you get the loom adaptor specific to whichever radio you choose and the controller interface.

#6 JW1982

JW1982

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 435 posts
  • Name: Wilco
  • Ford Model: Focus MK2 First Edition
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 06 October 2013 - 07:01 AM

Another possibility is to fit a Double Din radio into a focus MK1. In my opinion this looks much better than a Single Din radio. 

 

To fit a Double Din radio in a focus MK1 minor modifications to the dash panel are needed. To fill up the round edges at the side a Metra kit 95-5806 is needed.

 

 

A guide to fit a Double Din radio into a focus MK1 can be found on the following website:

 

http://www.focusfana...ad.php?t=231948



#7 mgaking

mgaking

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 78 posts
  • Name: Michael
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Titanium 1.6
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Northamptonshire

Posted 06 October 2013 - 10:09 AM

http://www.ebay.co.u...ff13=80&ff14=83

 

I had this in my Focus. I think it looks better and a small storage space below the unit.



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users