Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Grinding Braking Noise Mystery?

Oggie

Hello people. Newbie here!

I am starting to lose faith in my ford fiesta zetec 2003. Read my story and u will understand. I will do this bullet points so it's better to see the events.

- 6 months ago I hit a curb. Alloy went bent

- £50 for new alloy plus £35 for wheel alignment

- noise started occurring which seemed like the front left wheel. Took it to garage and they said it's the bearings. Think I paid £120 for part and labour

- garage mentioned that my pads were too thin so changed them too £90

- 1 week later front right wheel started making noise when I brake at around 10mph. Kind of a grinding noise. Took it to garage they said cos it's new pads they take time to settle.

- 2 weeks later noise increased and started to make noise even when I'm not braking. Around 5 mph and the noise will be there

- 1 week later the steering wheel would shake when I'm driving over 60mph and when I brake above 30mph the steering wheel would shakes aggressively.

- took it to another garage and explained everything to them. They sed the disc and pads need to be changed cos the discs may have been damaged by the new pads. So I forked out another £170 for parts and labour.

- car was driving fine for a week until the grinding noise appeared again. Now I'm scared the steering wheel shaking will happen all over again. Clearly the problem hasn't been resolved.

Please someone help!!!!!!

Ps. Sorry for the long story

doesnt really make any sense to me...the problem i mean, not the post.

cant see how or why new pads will cause a grinding, thats a new one on me

cant see the brakes causing a major wobble in steering yet not feel a vibration in the pedal itself...wobble is far more likely to be caused by wheel/tyre/bearing/steering or suspension.

then to have new discs and pads only to have grind return a few weeks later...again, doesnt really make any sense