Jump to content


Photo

Radio Won't Hold Settings


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Wattywatts

Wattywatts

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Name: Darren
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Swansea

Posted 10 October 2013 - 10:38 AM

Hi just bought a 2007 focus tdci estate. The radio in it was dead so I pulled it out and it had unit faulty written on the top. So I put my own pioneer unit in but despite swapping the red and yellow wires on the harness over it still resets every time I turn the ignition on. It's not the radio as it's fine in other vehicles. Anyone experienced this or have any ideas. Thanks and hi to all

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 jamesm182

jamesm182

    Management

  • Admin
  • 1,396 posts
  • Name: James
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Dorset
Contributor

Posted 10 October 2013 - 10:56 AM

Hi just bought a 2007 focus tdci estate. The radio in it was dead so I pulled it out and it had unit faulty written on the top. So I put my own pioneer unit in but despite swapping the red and yellow wires on the harness over it still resets every time I turn the ignition on. It's not the radio as it's fine in other vehicles. Anyone experienced this or have any ideas. Thanks and hi to all

 

Seems strange is you have experimented with the red and yellow wires on the harness. For the radio to power up and operate its memory function correctly, the permanent live and ignition live must be functioning correctly and connected to the proper feed into the back of the radio. If you have already checked to make sure that the wires are the correct way round the next thing I would do would be to pull the radio out and check the power feeds manually with a little screw driver power tested or something similar. Check to make sure that the permanent stays on when you turn the ignition completely off and check to see that the ignition live goes on and off correctly with the key. If they don't then you will need to change the feeds or move to a different wire etc. Hope this helps  :)



#3 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,334 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 10 October 2013 - 01:54 PM

Depends on the unit red and yellow can be black and red the unit should not power up without the ignition switched to position 2 you may find youres powers up with ignition off so the wiring is set wrong

#4 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 15,819 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 10 October 2013 - 03:51 PM

Quadlocklayout110913owndoc.jpg

#5 Wattywatts

Wattywatts

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Name: Darren
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Swansea

Posted 10 October 2013 - 05:49 PM

Thanks for the replies. Will have a look in the morning and let you know what I find. Cheers

#6 Wattywatts

Wattywatts

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Name: Darren
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Swansea

Posted 12 October 2013 - 09:53 AM

Thanks again for the replies I checked the cables with a tester all was fine, put yellow back to yellow and so on and it's working?? Maybe I had a loose connection last time?
Cheers

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users