Jump to content


Photo

Engine Systems Fault And Dtc D900


  • Please log in to reply
106 replies to this topic

#61 bones23

bones23

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts
  • Name: Rebecca
  • Ford Model: Focus Zetec Tdci (110) 1.6L Diesel
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Bridgend

Posted 06 November 2013 - 02:46 PM

Also, and frustratingly, I am on the verge of buying a new car - I was looking to test drive one that I like the look of when my current car started playing up... and now I figure noone will want to buy or part ex a car which isn't working properly.

 

Although I was thinking of buying a B-Max, which would also be Ford! Are they really all (Ford cars) that bad?



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#62 wase16ll

wase16ll

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,133 posts
  • Name: Tony
  • Ford Model: granada
  • Year: 1992
  • Location: Greater London

Posted 06 November 2013 - 05:09 PM

rebecca

gone over the whole thread again, was getting a bit confusing with 2 different cars/faults... and noticed apart from the communication issue there are no other specific codes.

 

going from your description of the fault, it could easily be a misfire issue or a air leak problem or combination of the two

 

maybe worth an engine service if not done recently, and checks for an air leak in breather/vacuum pipes...without codes this should be a starting point for your type of symptoms..

 

would also have battery/charging  voltage checked along with earth connections...this maybe why the drop in communication code is flagging and cause running issues.

 

would also keep a regular check when your MIL shows up to see if any different codes flag



#63 flippin'eck

flippin'eck

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Name: ernest
  • Ford Model: focus tdci 2005
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 07 November 2013 - 10:48 AM

Chaps, I found a d900 code on my dash diagnostics too. Tried a code reader and it came up with a P code wail about the diesel particulate filter. Discovered that the hugely expensive DPF itself was actually ok, but two rubber hoses connected to it were absolutely knackered and split. These hoses are in very close proximity to the exhaust so I wasn't comfy replacing them with boggo rubber pipe - got garage to source ford originals. Just had a vehicle fire on a movano & don't want a repeat!

 

Ford robbers charged well over £100 for these two lil bits of 'special' rubber pipe.... well, only to be expected :(

 

Did a battery reset (disconnect battery positive lead & touched to chassis then left for a few hours before reconnecting) and then cleared the P-codes using the code reader. Drove for a few hundred miles & great, DPF issue gone away no more DPF P code.

 

2 days later, limp home mode again. Looked at battery voltage realtime graph on code reader, 12.0V before start, 11.5V after start. rev it up, battery voltage v time graph flat line at 11.5V. Suspected alternator.

 

Gave to garage, yep, alternator. But, alternator on this car connected to ECU via 3-pin control connector. Alternator with this 'smart charge' technology is twice the price of standard alternator.

 

Alternator now replaced, did another battery reset & FCR reset.. car runs fine and charging batt ok. No faults being reported by FCR.

 

However, despite doing a 2 hour long battery reset including shorting the removed battery positive terminal to chassis, and despite doing a full fault code clear on the FCR, the D900 "non specific can communications error" on the dash diagnostic persists.

 

Would like the answer to one question if anyone has it.. how exactly, can you clear this D900 trouble code off the dash diagnostic, just to see if it comes back again?

 

I'm wondering if there's a persistent memory chip in the dash cluster or a little lithium battery or something. Where should I aim my lumphammer?



#64 Paul mann

Paul mann

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 45 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Ford focus 1.6 zetec
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 07 November 2013 - 08:46 PM

Ernest,,,,,, i had the D900 it went when I had the airflow sensor changed. It's a costly sensor ...Fords Expensive on parts ????? £127. But you can change it yourself in 5 mins. Try get a used one or alternative make than Fords... Was fine after that til P codes appeared and TPS fault ... Latest on my tin of scrap is the auto electrician cannot find fault .... Coms communication.... ?? He's baffled ...he fixed TPS fault ...connecter ...which you can't buy unless attached to £200 part ..Fords eh! ...he adapted one ..car runs fine... Wouldn't start when went to pick it up ....absolute dead ...today after leaving it with him it started every time he tried it ....so can't diagnose fault until it does it again....which will be 20 miles later I'm betting.... Picking it up tomorrow ...fingers crossed it starts ! Can't wait to see the bill for this ? He's having one last look at wiring under dash see if alls ok ...keep all informed on outcome.....

#65 Paul mann

Paul mann

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 45 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Ford focus 1.6 zetec
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 07 November 2013 - 08:51 PM

Noticed an odd thing but most posts are about a Focus year of manufacture 2005 ???? Same faults ....how can that not be a recall issue ...Fords didn't have any strikes in 2005 did they coz the vehicles they churned out in that year are very suspect...

#66 wase16ll

wase16ll

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,133 posts
  • Name: Tony
  • Ford Model: granada
  • Year: 1992
  • Location: Greater London

Posted 07 November 2013 - 10:13 PM

i really wouldnt get hung up on D900

i see codes for 'loss of communication in can' on  nigh on every car with can, i plug into, no matter the make/model

 

if no other faults are showing, have battery checked, connections and charging...beyond that i really wouldnt be concerned about it..

what you have to try and remember is the can network runs throughout the car, for eg. it could relate to engine, gearbox, lighting, instruments, air bags, abs etc etc

to trace it would be like looking for a needle in a haystack, i really wouldnt waste time or money changing things because somebody else managed to get rid of the code by changing 'insert any sensor you like here'

that code and the can network is very unspecific and not really that important.



#67 flippin'eck

flippin'eck

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Name: ernest
  • Ford Model: focus tdci 2005
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 07 November 2013 - 10:21 PM

Tony - understand what you say & recognise it as good valid advice :)

 

It's deep in my nature to itch on things like this though. Surely there must be some procedure to clear it, even if it does come back straightaway with no obvious cause.

 

Maybe reconnecting the battery itself causes a d900 everytime.. it's all very sparky when you put the lead back on & maybe the jitter and bounce in the supply voltage at that point, is the cause.. it's a guess



#68 wase16ll

wase16ll

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,133 posts
  • Name: Tony
  • Ford Model: granada
  • Year: 1992
  • Location: Greater London

Posted 07 November 2013 - 10:38 PM

could easily be the reconnecting that flags it. they are a very sensitive system.

 

iirc...fords state to disconnect both terminals and touch the leads together to reset the dash {had an issue with an american ford with codes on dash i couldnt clear, sure it will be the same on a euro ford}

also make sure you reconnect the earth last.

 

beyond that, if no other problems i wouldnt persue it..

 

a friend had a similar issue on a renault, the renault comms are a nightmare, he drove himself insane trying to permanently rid the car of constantly flagging codes, to no avail....same codes would flag every time he connected a diagnostic despite the car not showing any faults....after a long exchange with renault top techs, the conclusion was that,  just by connecting the diag caused the codes to flag.

i made a point of checking the systems on renaults he was having problems with, using a different diag machine, 90% of the time i had exactly the same codes come up, clear them, disconnect then reconnect and check again..codes were back...



#69 flippin'eck

flippin'eck

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Name: ernest
  • Ford Model: focus tdci 2005
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 07 November 2013 - 10:46 PM

I just emailed ford direct to see if they have a documented method for clearing the D900. If they reply with anything meaty I'll post it up here but beyond that I'll probably do just as you say and stop obsessing over it ;)



#70 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 17,210 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 08 November 2013 - 09:52 AM

OK so there are a few posts I wanted to reply to, but I would take three pages in quoting and what not!

 

I can understand Paul's frustration, the Focus itself isnt garbage, but I can speak from personal experience! I bought a 2005 Focus about 4 years ago, and it was the devils child! it hated me, and almost everything that could go wrong, would! I was disappointed to say the least, but it was purely a case that my car was the runt of the litter, I suspect that Paul is having the same problem, the last of the Friday cars! As for Becca I can understand its starting to seem the same to!

 

Becca, in order to clean the MAF sensor, its a really easy job. All you need to do, is disconnect the Mass Air Flow hose, remove the lid of the air box, and on the side of the air box (where the hose goes to connect the engine to the airbox) you will see that there are three torx screws securing it in. Once you unscrew these, just blast it with electrical contact cleaner, let it dry, do it again, dry and again, then dry.

 

Refit in the same order.

 

Ernest, I also get d900 error codes, have done ever since I bought the car. To be honest, it doesnt bother me, I dont have any day to day running issues, when there is just that one code on the car.



#71 flippin'eck

flippin'eck

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Name: ernest
  • Ford Model: focus tdci 2005
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 08 November 2013 - 01:14 PM

It's just annoying from the point of view that if you ever come to sell the car...



#72 Paul mann

Paul mann

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 45 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Ford focus 1.6 zetec
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 08 November 2013 - 01:48 PM

Sorry James the Focus is garbage...yes I am frustrated but have never owned a crock of rubbish in my life...went to pick my car up this morning ...exactly same faults and issues from when they first took it over a week ago. Panel going haywire acceleration fault limited mode on and this after changing the sensors what the codes are saying is wrong with it.They cannot find what's wrong at all at garage ... Have spent £400 plus on this heap and still nowhere near solving problem. 2005 seems to be the year to avoid when buying a Focus ...is there any change in the wiring from earlier and later models because if there is maybe that's a pointer to the problem...now scared of spending anything else on this tin can ...throwing good money away. Just hoping they can clear problems for a week then it's gone!

#73 Paul mann

Paul mann

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 45 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Ford focus 1.6 zetec
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 08 November 2013 - 02:22 PM

For anyone interested I've completed a Vehicle Safety Defect Report regarding the Focus and sent it to VOSA . If enough people do this Ford will be forced to take action. I believe this vehicle is defective and a safety issue with the limp mode . It's become an issue with me now and I feel angry Ford can get away selling a dangerous vehicle. If anyone has had an accident due to this limp mode and the cars endless faults you really need to log your complaint ASAP. Go to VOSA site and put in vehicle safety defect report .

#74 flippin'eck

flippin'eck

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Name: ernest
  • Ford Model: focus tdci 2005
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 08 November 2013 - 05:37 PM

Useful info Paul.

 

ISTR reading not so long ago that there was a recall involving these vehicles, regarding a corrosion issue in the dash (which part of the 'dash' I'm not sure) causing all manner of codes to be thrown, limp home etc. IIRC if you could demonstrate that your vehicle suffered from this issue then Ford would fit an entirely new dash for £99, which apparrently was far less than the usual cost and would reliably fix the problem.

 

Not sure what you got, whether it was the jobby with all the dials etc, a computer behind it, both.. i dunno

 

Might be worth a bit of research.. short on time at the mo & unfortunately didn't save the link :-(



#75 flippin'eck

flippin'eck

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Name: ernest
  • Ford Model: focus tdci 2005
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 10 November 2013 - 02:07 PM

Car just thrown a Benny again. Missus and our 4 year old stranded at Morrissons :(

 

Luckily she swears by RAC so they're coming out, let's see what the FCR comes up with this time. She says there's nothing on the dash diagnostic apart from the ever persistent D900, but the engine light's come on, and the car won't start. Dash lights up as normal, but it refuses to even try turning over.

 

Dash diagnostic says battery voltage 14.1V



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users