Jump to content


Photo

Fan only works on top speed


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 TurboZed

TurboZed

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Name: poo
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk4 ghia, Mondeo Mk2 TD Ghia
  • Year: 2001
  • Location: Gloucestershire

Posted 12 April 2009 - 10:21 PM

Hi guys again!
On my Mk2 mondy, the fan only works on speed 4. Is there a resistor pack or summat that fails on them?

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 rickb

rickb

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Ford Model: mondeo
  • Location:

Posted 13 April 2009 - 12:47 AM

Hi guys again!
On my Mk2 mondy, the fan only works on speed 4. Is there a resistor pack or summat that fails on them?

hi there yes the resistor pack burns out, its located pasenger side on the heater box (high) normally white plastic about 3 inches by 2 inches held in with small torx bit screw with wiring plug on the front,somtime this plug melts aswell,check it out first before you go to the scrappy incase you need the plug aswell......

#3 SierraYankee99

SierraYankee99

    Too much time on the boards

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 859 posts
  • Ford Model: Ford
  • Location:

Posted 13 April 2009 - 12:28 PM

The resistor is only about 10 from Ford

#4 homeless

homeless

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 42 posts
  • Ford Model: mondeo
  • Location:

Posted 13 April 2009 - 04:33 PM

yep it will be the resistor, also check the wiring on the switch this can burn out to ....all this is usually down to a very dirty pollen filter putting extra load onto the fan motor...pollen filter is located under the n/s scuttle panel under the front windscreen.

#5 Purdy fpv

Purdy fpv

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 194 posts
  • Ford Model: Puma 1.7 VCT

Posted 13 April 2009 - 05:01 PM

Hi

There is a resistor in the back of the passenger foot well. That will be burnt out. It need a new resister pack and wiring loom.

#6 Purdy fpv

Purdy fpv

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 194 posts
  • Ford Model: Puma 1.7 VCT

Posted 13 April 2009 - 05:06 PM

Its held in by 2 screws. The new plug is not color coded. So you have to cut the plug off with an inch of wire left on it. Keep the plug for reference for when you wire the new the new plug in. It should come with a wiring kit. It is best to re solder rather than using the kit that they send.

#7 TurboZed

TurboZed

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Name: poo
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk4 ghia, Mondeo Mk2 TD Ghia
  • Year: 2001
  • Location: Gloucestershire

Posted 13 April 2009 - 09:26 PM

Thanks for that guys, I'll get that sorted right away. ;)

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users