Jump to content


Photo

Help! Head Unit Wiring Loom Replacement


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 RikkisGotaZetecS

RikkisGotaZetecS

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Name: Richard
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Kent

Posted 04 November 2013 - 10:06 AM

Hello all,

 

I'm new to the forum and only yesterday got my Fiesta Zetec S. I hate the current (after market) CD player that is currently in there. So I went to change it to one I've had laying about for the past few weeks, when I discovered a problem. When the lad, or whoever before him, changed the radio, they cut wires rather then buying an adapter. The problem with this is they cut so close to the orignal block that I can't get any of the wires stipped enough so I could crimp it with the orignal wires and sort out this mess. So I am stuck on what to do now?  

 

Any advise would be great.

 

Cheers.

 

Rikki



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 17,345 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 04 November 2013 - 04:19 PM

Hi Richard,

 

Sounds like you will need a new loom for sure, however, it would be costly unfortunately.

 

Is this the head unit altogether that is ripped out? or is it just the likes of the stalk that is removed?



#3 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 15,548 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 04 November 2013 - 04:24 PM

Sounds like if crimping is not an option you could try soldering the wires together instead.

#4 RikkisGotaZetecS

RikkisGotaZetecS

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Name: Richard
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Kent

Posted 04 November 2013 - 06:54 PM

Hi Richard,

Sounds like you will need a new loom for sure, however, it would be costly unfortunately.

Is this the head unit altogether that is ripped out? or is it just the likes of the stalk that is removed?


ImageUploadedByFord OC1383590675.348263.jpg

#5 btmaldon

btmaldon

    Ford Enthusiast

  • FOC Supporters
  • 2,541 posts
  • Name: Bruce
  • Ford Model: BMW 320i Coupe M Sport
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Essex

Posted 04 November 2013 - 07:43 PM

Is this any use?

 

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item4aba73c337



#6 RikkisGotaZetecS

RikkisGotaZetecS

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Name: Richard
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Kent

Posted 04 November 2013 - 07:58 PM

I have looked at that previously that. The problem is, is it's the wiring going to the grey block. I've looked up the lead and can't see anywhere I can plug the black blocks in. ImageUploadedByFord OC1383594469.715054.jpg
ImageUploadedByFord OC1383594492.124536.jpg

#7 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 15,548 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 04 November 2013 - 08:13 PM

You may be able to solder those connections with care but as you say crimping is a non starter.

Sent using Ford OC mobile app



#8 mgaking

mgaking

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 92 posts
  • Name: Michael
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Titanium 1.6
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Northamptonshire

Posted 04 November 2013 - 09:46 PM

Any possibility of getting the contacts out of the block, solder/heatshrink and push back into the block?



#9 btmaldon

btmaldon

    Ford Enthusiast

  • FOC Supporters
  • 2,541 posts
  • Name: Bruce
  • Ford Model: BMW 320i Coupe M Sport
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Essex

Posted 04 November 2013 - 09:55 PM

My thinking was to buy the new block/adaptor. Cut the white block away leaving enough cable free. Cut the old block away completely and connect up the new one to the existing wires. Then buy an ISO adaptor to run to the new head unit. If that makes sense.



#10 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 17,345 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 04 November 2013 - 10:30 PM

Pop to a breakers, get one cut off a donor. Cut it off with plenty of room then connect each in turn to the wires in the loom.



#11 RikkisGotaZetecS

RikkisGotaZetecS

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Name: Richard
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Kent

Posted 06 November 2013 - 05:12 PM

So I took the option of buying the loom from a scrappy and then crimping the old to the new. I also got an adapter so I could just plug mine straight in. BUT... No power. Where am I going wrong?

#12 RikkisGotaZetecS

RikkisGotaZetecS

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Name: Richard
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Kent

Posted 06 November 2013 - 08:31 PM

just checked the fuses, when plug the unit in, the fuse (I think its f14) glows. When I unplug all and start the engine fuse f44 (I think) glows.

 

what am I doing wrong?

 

HELP! :D



#13 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 17,345 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 07 November 2013 - 02:36 PM

When you say the fuse glows... Do you have the LED fuses or is it looking like its getting so hot the fuse is glowing but not burning out?



#14 RikkisGotaZetecS

RikkisGotaZetecS

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Name: Richard
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Kent

Posted 07 November 2013 - 05:25 PM

When you say the fuse glows... Do you have the LED fuses or is it looking like its getting so hot the fuse is glowing but not burning out?

i wouldnt think that there glowing as if they were going to blow but i am a complete dummy and i honestly dont know. one only comes on when the car has started and/or if i have actaully connected the radio.

 

talk to me like a !Removed!, because i just dont undestand



#15 btmaldon

btmaldon

    Ford Enthusiast

  • FOC Supporters
  • 2,541 posts
  • Name: Bruce
  • Ford Model: BMW 320i Coupe M Sport
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Essex

Posted 07 November 2013 - 09:06 PM

Fuses don't glow so not sure what you mean. There are two live feeds to the radio normally. One is live all the time to store the memory on the radio. The other is a switched live from the ignition to power the radio.



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users