Jump to content


Show
Photo

2005 Ka Speed Sensor A


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 freddy13

freddy13

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Name: john
  • Ford Model: kas
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 02 December 2013 - 10:38 AM

Can somebody help pleeeeease! I've done a lot of searching but can't find the answer, I have a ford ka 2005 wich the speedometer does not work, the engine management light is on and says its speed sensor A I can't find the vss on the gearbox, I have changed both the front abs sensors too no luck. I've got a vss sensor fro the ford dealers that they say is for my car but I can't find it on the car! An I just been blind? The engine is a 1.3 duratech. Any help would be really appreciated

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 16,076 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 02 December 2013 - 03:33 PM

If you have ABS its not a VSS sensor, its actually an ABS sensor that has failed.

 

Have you got access to reading error codes?



#3 freddy13

freddy13

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Name: john
  • Ford Model: kas
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 02 December 2013 - 04:01 PM

The error code just says speed sensor A when read but I believe it could be p0500 their is no abs light on, could it be at the rear? Or any idea wich side as I have already done both the front sensors.

#4 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 16,076 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 02 December 2013 - 05:26 PM

I wouldnt expect the ABS light to come on as it doesnt always, however if your car has got ABS this is the first place to look.

 

If you have replaced the sensors, did you replace with original? and where both axles / sides replaced with the same brand? or have you got original on one side (front or left/right) and another model on the opposite?



#5 delboy

delboy

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Name: martin
  • Ford Model: c-max ghia 1.8 petrol
  • Year: 2004
  • Location: Somerset

Posted 02 December 2013 - 05:48 PM

i have been told that with abs the abs sensor acts as the speed sensor so

worth looking a the abs sensors and wiring to them 



#6 freddy13

freddy13

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Name: john
  • Ford Model: kas
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 02 December 2013 - 05:54 PM

Thanks, I've got the day off tomorrow to have another play.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users