Jump to content


Photo

Remove Diesel Fuel Injectors.


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 slemon123

slemon123

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 44 posts
  • Name: barry
  • Ford Model: Mondeo
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Kerry

Posted 28 December 2013 - 01:57 PM

I need to have my injectors reconditioned. But I don't want the added cost of my garage taking out the injectors and putting them back in. Is it as straight forward as it seems and will there be any problems trying to start the car after re fitting. A guide would be handy if anyone has one. Thanks in advance guys. Always very helpful.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 mick85

mick85

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 884 posts
  • Location:

Posted 28 December 2013 - 03:15 PM

What year an engine in your car

#3 slemon123

slemon123

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 44 posts
  • Name: barry
  • Ford Model: Mondeo
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Kerry

Posted 28 December 2013 - 03:25 PM

Yeah. Sorry forgot that bit. 2008 mk 4. As far as I know there's no coding needed.

#4 mick85

mick85

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 884 posts
  • Location:

Posted 28 December 2013 - 08:13 PM

They pretty easy to remove 7 Allen key an 13 or 14 spanner I think coding shouldn't be an issue if u getting a diesel specialist to recon them

#5 mintalkin

mintalkin

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,466 posts
  • Name: mintalkin
  • Ford Model: mondeo tdci 130
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Staffordshire

Posted 28 December 2013 - 11:08 PM

as long as the injectors go back into their original positions they should not have to be coded back in.



#6 Ford Loyalty MK3

Ford Loyalty MK3

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 141 posts
  • Name: David
  • Ford Model: Ford Mondeo Mk3
  • Year: 2002
  • Location: Gwynedd

Posted 29 December 2013 - 03:22 AM

I take that same applies for the Mk3 as well.

 

Is there any special tools I need for the job as I'm thinking of doing the same?



#7 slemon123

slemon123

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 44 posts
  • Name: barry
  • Ford Model: Mondeo
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Kerry

Posted 29 December 2013 - 08:39 AM

That applies to the mk 3 and older engines only. There is no specific order in which to put in the injectors on the mk 4. You run the car for 30 mins and let the ecu learn each injector. That much I know but I want to know how to take them out and if there's any problem with putting them back in, i.e. air in the fuel supply?

#8 mintalkin

mintalkin

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,466 posts
  • Name: mintalkin
  • Ford Model: mondeo tdci 130
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Staffordshire

Posted 29 December 2013 - 01:54 PM

the job will be easier with a removal socket

http://www.amazon.co...injector socket

as far as i am aware the ecu can not learn injector codes,it only learns and adjusts the pilot pulse for the injectors.



#9 slemon123

slemon123

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 44 posts
  • Name: barry
  • Ford Model: Mondeo
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Kerry

Posted 29 December 2013 - 02:41 PM

the job will be easier with a removal socket
http://www.amazon.co...injector socket
as far as i am aware the ecu can not learn injector codes,it only learns and adjusts the pilot pulse for the injectors.

I had a random set of four injectors that were put in like I said and not coded by a garage. Is this a malpractice then? I'm at a loss now. I still have the originals numbered 1-4 as they were taken out and it's those that I will send to get reconditioned.

#10 Harry93

Harry93

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 56 posts
  • Name: Harry
  • Ford Model: Fiesta zetec s
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Essex

Posted 30 December 2013 - 10:05 AM

I have done this job, but the ecu adjusts according to the wear on the injectors and age etc and would need the new injectors programmed in or it will not run well at all

#11 slemon123

slemon123

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 44 posts
  • Name: barry
  • Ford Model: Mondeo
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Kerry

Posted 30 December 2013 - 03:02 PM

Ok. That does make sense as my replacements don't seem to be running all that well.
My old ones were taken out and numbered 1-4. If I have those reconditioned will they too have to be programmed in or are they good to go?

#12 Harry93

Harry93

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 56 posts
  • Name: Harry
  • Ford Model: Fiesta zetec s
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Essex

Posted 30 December 2013 - 09:17 PM

They will also have to be re programmed, why don't you put the originals back where they were and put some injector cleaner through the system? Or are they that bad?

#13 slemon123

slemon123

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 44 posts
  • Name: barry
  • Ford Model: Mondeo
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Kerry

Posted 31 December 2013 - 10:51 PM

Well guys.... I rang 2 main Ford Dealers today and they both told me that the 1.8 tdci mk4 mondeo Siemens injectors DO NOT need to he programmed. You learn something new everyday.

#14 slemon123

slemon123

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 44 posts
  • Name: barry
  • Ford Model: Mondeo
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Kerry

Posted 02 January 2014 - 11:59 PM

Can anyone definitively tell me the procedure for when the injectors are put back in. i.e. Do they need to be primed or does cranking the engine do the trick?

#15 mick85

mick85

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 884 posts
  • Location:

Posted 03 January 2014 - 12:05 AM

They need be primed with hand pump then possibly crack the nut at the injector while friend is tryin turn engine over

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users