Jump to content


Photo

Smax Manual Handbrake Stuck On... Any Clues?

Handbrake

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 makalu

makalu

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Name: Jon
  • Ford Model: SMax
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Leicestershire

Posted 05 January 2014 - 10:38 AM

Hi Fellow SMax Pilots.

Decided to join the forum after lurking for a while. I have a 2008 SMax 2.0 Titanium Diesel (140PS) and generally speaking its been a great family car. However yesterday the parking brake decided to jam in the fully up and engaged position (its a manual brake not electric). Despite my uneducated attempts to release it, it was not budging. AA called out and the sourced the problem to a broken release cable in the handle. There is a small flat 'S' shaped (or 'kinked') end to the button release cable that seems to go up inside the handbrake handle's driver's side arm and I think this connects to the spring loaded button in the handle at the top. This 'S' shaped part has broken leaving the spring loaded release button permanently engaged. The nice AA man left me with a piece of wire connected to the release cable which we can now pull on to disengage the button release lock - so at least we have a 'get you home' fix.

 

I started searching the web to see if there is a replacement cable. Looks like you can buy either an entire handbrake assembly (£160...) or just a replacement handle (£60) - all because of a simple broken cable! The handle option does not appear to include a cable, the full assembly does (at least the pictures on Ebay suggest this is so).

 

Has anyone else had this problem and what is the best way to fix it? Do I need an entire assembly (like this -> Link) or is there a way to replace just the cable?

 

Thanks for any help offered!

 

Mak.



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...



Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 gregers

gregers

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 921 posts
  • Name: greg
  • Ford Model: smax titainium tdci
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Sussex

Posted 05 January 2014 - 08:42 PM

soz cant offer you any practical advice on a fix,but why not pm any ebay sellers who are breaking an smax for the part.im sure they could be a hell of a lot cheaper??



#3 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 20,660 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 06 January 2014 - 01:40 PM

Im not sure which part you are referring to to be honest, but it does sound like it should be at the base of the handbrake, in which case a trip to the breakers should help you for a lot less money!



#4 Steve1305

Steve1305

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Name: Steve
  • Ford Model: SMax Zetec 1800 Tdci
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Midlothian

Posted 06 April 2014 - 09:17 PM

I had exactly the same last June on my 1800 Tdci Zetec (2007) and again the AA had to do me a Heath Robinson botch till I got to the garage - £200 for a new Unit.

 

Bizarrely it went again this month though apparently this time it was a calliper that needed adjusted and the handbrake cable also adjusted.

 

Horrible design and gives no confidence now



#5 fastvelz

fastvelz

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Name: peter
  • Ford Model: smax 2l tdci
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Ceredigion

Posted 21 March 2015 - 09:13 PM

Hi, I got exactly the same problem and fixed it at home for a few pence. You cannot buy the little release cable as a separate part, but a piece of " tiger tail" wire from the craft shop does the same job. Whatever wire you choose it has to be pretty thin to go round the nylon wheel at the bottom of the right HB arm. How? Unscrew the box out of the central console. (Torx screws). Next pull up the chrome trim with the cup holder and slip the gaiter off the gearstick. Now prise off the chrome looking plastic around the release button and next pull out the button and mechanism. Not much more now....unhook the broken wire from the button and the ratchet and pull free. Feed the tigertail wire through the handle and tie onto the button. (I used a wd40 straw around the bend to avoid it rubbing to bits again). Lastly feed it round the nylon wheel and tie it to the hole in the ratchet mechanism. Done. Just the plastics to be put back on in reverse order.

Hope you too can benefit from this cheap workaround if you hit the same problem.

#6 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 20,660 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 22 March 2015 - 08:28 AM

An excellent suggestion!

#7 gregers

gregers

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 921 posts
  • Name: greg
  • Ford Model: smax titainium tdci
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Sussex

Posted 22 March 2015 - 07:06 PM

great info.



#8 747777

747777

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 62 posts
  • Name: Chris
  • Ford Model: S-Max
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 24 March 2015 - 09:10 AM

Very useful info, thank you.

#9 shorehamford

shorehamford

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Name: Rory
  • Ford Model: galaxy
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Sussex

Posted 27 April 2015 - 08:23 PM

Fantastic suggestion. I used 0.38mm tiger tail wire and the handbrake now works properly for the first time in months.


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have




Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Handbrake

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users