Jump to content


Photo

Alarm System Service


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 murrmaca

murrmaca

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts
  • Name: fiona
  • Ford Model: s-max
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Lanarkshire

Posted 05 January 2014 - 05:56 PM

Hi looking for some advice or help the alarm system service warning has appeared on the display. what can cause this ?

is there a way to reset this or does it need to go to a ford dealer ?

 

many thanks in advance

Fiona



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 murrmaca

murrmaca

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts
  • Name: fiona
  • Ford Model: s-max
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Lanarkshire

Posted 05 January 2014 - 07:45 PM

Hi update done some research found someone talking about a back up battery for a back up alarm located in the wheel arch confused ??? Help !

#3 gregers

gregers

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 721 posts
  • Name: greg
  • Ford Model: smax titainium
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Sussex

Posted 05 January 2014 - 08:56 PM

apparently there is a known fault about this.iirc it gets water logged?and looks like a new 1 needs to be fitted??



#4 murrmaca

murrmaca

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts
  • Name: fiona
  • Ford Model: s-max
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Lanarkshire

Posted 06 January 2014 - 09:07 AM

Cheers gregers
got in car today alarm system thing not coming up on display
could you tell me where to locate this alarm so I can try and water proof it before any more damage caused
Many thanks
Fiona

#5 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 17,727 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 06 January 2014 - 01:42 PM

Start by checking the fuseboard in the passenger side, and the engine bay, make sure they are not soaked through, if so, dry them with a hairdryer...



#6 murrmaca

murrmaca

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts
  • Name: fiona
  • Ford Model: s-max
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Lanarkshire

Posted 06 January 2014 - 08:27 PM

Next time it's dry and wind not so high I will have a look thanks !

#7 gregers

gregers

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 721 posts
  • Name: greg
  • Ford Model: smax titainium
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Sussex

Posted 06 January 2014 - 09:22 PM

iirc its found under the passenger wheel arch lining??



#8 murrmaca

murrmaca

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts
  • Name: fiona
  • Ford Model: s-max
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Lanarkshire

Posted 07 January 2014 - 08:51 AM

Many thanks will look
Thanks for all the help and advice
Fiona

#9 gregers

gregers

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 721 posts
  • Name: greg
  • Ford Model: smax titainium
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Sussex

Posted 07 January 2014 - 09:29 PM

no probs fi.



#10 murrmaca

murrmaca

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts
  • Name: fiona
  • Ford Model: s-max
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Lanarkshire

Posted 15 February 2014 - 02:32 PM

Help needed again bonnet will not close stupid thing was working fine till I filled up with water
many thanks
Fiona

#11 137699

137699

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 355 posts
  • Ford Model: 2006 S-max Titanium X Sport 2.5T

Posted 17 February 2014 - 02:15 PM

You will need the bonnet release cable & catch replacing. Common issue on the early S-maxes - the cable is very poorly designed and rusts internally so it does not open & close properly, and the routing around the catch exacerbates the issue.

 

The replacement parts are of a different design - but beware, there is about 2-3 hours labour involved in this job so it's not a cheap fix.



#12 murrmaca

murrmaca

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts
  • Name: fiona
  • Ford Model: s-max
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Lanarkshire

Posted 17 February 2014 - 09:32 PM

Got a catch from a ford dealer on eBay looks like it's right part, didn't think I would need the cable. Would it b sensible to replace this too?
Fiona

#13 137699

137699

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 355 posts
  • Ford Model: 2006 S-max Titanium X Sport 2.5T

Posted 18 February 2014 - 09:34 AM

From what I have read you HAVE to replace the cable to fix this fault.



#14 gregers

gregers

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 721 posts
  • Name: greg
  • Ford Model: smax titainium
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Sussex

Posted 18 February 2014 - 09:12 PM

you might be able to salvage it,aslong as it hasnt broken??.

 

remove the cable hang it up and keep dripping penetrating oil down the sleeve?



#15 murrmaca

murrmaca

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts
  • Name: fiona
  • Ford Model: s-max
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Lanarkshire

Posted 18 February 2014 - 09:38 PM

As far as I'm aware cable ok it released the catch. Thanks will defo try that!
Thanks Fiona

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users