Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Mk1 Weird Locking Issue

Optikal

Hi Guys,

I'm new to Focus ownership having bought my first one, a 1.6 MK1 yesterday. However, there is a problem with the door locking.

I only have one key and the car locks and unlocks with the remote fob EXCEPT for the drivers door which stays locked.

Neither the passenger door nor the drivers will unlock with a turn of the key. However, both WILL lock.

To open the drivers door, I have to get into the car. If I push the LOCK button, the door handle will still not open from the outside. I have to literally open the door from the inside. Having opened it in this manner, the handle will work as normal from the outside.

Any ideas on what I can do to rectify this as it is a bit of a headache having to climb into my car from the back haha :D

Locking is a common problem with the mk1, usually caused by moisture in the mechanisms I believe. Try a good spray of WD40, if not a replacement locking mech may be needed

A quick update, having stripped the door back I first noticed that the plug for the the door loom was not connected correctly. Reconnected it and now have central locking all around.

HOWEVER...

Even though the central locking AND key both lock the drivers door, they won't re-open it. The LOCK button remains depressed. When the LOCK button is pushed into an unlocked position it still doesn't open until you give it an extra little bit of pressure. I then hear something 'click' and the door will open.

So i know that the part is broken / malfunctioning is the mechanism that would pull / push the lock back into the unlock position but I'm not sure how to proceed fixing it or how to remove the mechanisms from inside of the door. Any ideas chaps?

Ah, thought it may have been that.... the lock button shouldn't be particularly difficult to remove, just a case of removing the door card to get at it properly so just a few screws and tacks etc