Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Clutch Help Please

Bill Eastoe

Running a late (September 2000) 1.8i MK2 Mondo hatchback & the clutch has just gone. Made enquiries to an eBay seller about purchasing the correct part, giving vehicle details (including registration).

My question was:

This item appears to suit my requirement, but would like to double check.

My car: Sept 2000 registered MK2 Mondeo 1.8i Petrol Hatchback. Reg No X909LAX

I got a very quick reply

Please can you verify the vehicle is equipped with a release bearing or a concentric slave cylinder, as both variants show up for the vehicle.'

I'm no mechanic, just an owner trying to buy in the correct part for someone else to fit. Can anyone please advise me how I can find the answer the the seller's question. Any help would be very much appreciated.

Thank you.

Hey Bill. I'm no mechanic either but I DO work at a Motor Factors and using your Reg number my system shows up your vehicle should be fitted with a concentric slave cylinder. Now I know what I'm about to say doesn't help much but no system is infallible!!

So if you get in there and it's wrong it's a pain but that's what we list!! Might be worth buying both if you want to make absolutely sure you're covered and then either return or sell the bit you don't need. Hope this helps somewhat?

Chris

• Like 1

Thank you Chris. Especially for replying so quickly.

My main concern is getting the right part so the job can be done in one go. A mechanic friend will be doing the job on his employer's premises (with permission), and it's not really practical to leave the car there, with the job half done, whilst getting replacement parts; if the first purchase is not correct. Recently became unemployed, so don't really want the expenditure of a double order if avoidable.