Jump to content


Show
Photo

replacce water pump Focus 1.4 (no a/c)


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 cueball1978

cueball1978

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Ford Model: focus
  • Location:

Posted 15 May 2009 - 09:21 AM

hi there

i wonder if there is anyone out there who could help me change the water pump on my Focus. i've looked in the Haynes book but can't find the section as its not in the index. it seems to be only part that they haven't told us about. :angry: I'm also wondering if the pump is connected to the timing belt causing the job to become more involved.
Any help would be massively apprieciated

many thanks

cueball1978

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 gaz6076

gaz6076

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 448 posts
  • Ford Model: Mk5 Fiesta
  • Location: Scotland

Posted 16 May 2009 - 04:06 PM

Would need more details of the car before a could help properly.

I think on the mk1's the water pump is driven by the alternator belt but the mk2's are driven by the timing belt

Hope this helps

#3 cueball1978

cueball1978

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Ford Model: focus
  • Location:

Posted 16 May 2009 - 05:13 PM

Would need more details of the car before a could help properly.

I think on the mk1's the water pump is driven by the alternator belt but the mk2's are driven by the timing belt

Hope this helps




thanks have managed to get the pump off as you say it is run on the alternator belt. just had to take everything off. gonna have some fun tomorrow trying to get everything back on in the right place :rolleyes:

thank god its not driven by the timing belt coz that looks like a mission taking that belt off!!!!

#4 gaz6076

gaz6076

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 448 posts
  • Ford Model: Mk5 Fiesta
  • Location: Scotland

Posted 18 May 2009 - 06:24 PM

Lol. It can be a pain to get your hands in there.

Just be thankful it not the stretchy type alternator belt on the newer focus :angry:

I can put up a diagram of the belt route if that helps?

#5 stef123

stef123

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Management
  • 5,047 posts
  • Name: Stef
  • Ford Model: Mondeo ST TDCI
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 18 May 2009 - 08:10 PM

Lol. It can be a pain to get your hands in there.

Just be thankful it not the stretchy type alternator belt on the newer focus :angry:

I can put up a diagram of the belt route if that helps?


my mk1 1.6 focus uses a stretchy drive belt

#6 gaz6076

gaz6076

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 448 posts
  • Ford Model: Mk5 Fiesta
  • Location: Scotland

Posted 19 May 2009 - 12:16 PM

Without a tensioner? :huh:

#7 stef123

stef123

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Management
  • 5,047 posts
  • Name: Stef
  • Ford Model: Mondeo ST TDCI
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 19 May 2009 - 12:57 PM

Without a tensioner? :huh:


no tensioner. i have had some hassle in the past getting a new drive belt. no motor factors could supply one thats fits, only ford could at 45 or there about.
the set up is also different from what haynes show.

#8 gaz6076

gaz6076

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 448 posts
  • Ford Model: Mk5 Fiesta
  • Location: Scotland

Posted 20 May 2009 - 12:00 PM

Never seen that on the mk1's b4. Is it one of the last mk1's by any chance?

Take it its the same set up as the mk2's with the 2 belts? You get the daft tools in the belt kit?

#9 stef123

stef123

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Management
  • 5,047 posts
  • Name: Stef
  • Ford Model: Mondeo ST TDCI
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 20 May 2009 - 08:49 PM

Never seen that on the mk1's b4. Is it one of the last mk1's by any chance?

Take it its the same set up as the mk2's with the 2 belts? You get the daft tools in the belt kit?


yeah its a late 2001 mk1 but only the belt setup is different in the haynes, every other details is spot on. only got one belt. there was a tool in the belt kit aswell.

#10 gaz6076

gaz6076

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 448 posts
  • Ford Model: Mk5 Fiesta
  • Location: Scotland

Posted 21 May 2009 - 05:06 PM

Kl. Need to look out for that in future incase a get one to do.

Hope they're nos as big a pain that the mk2's! :angry:

#11 stef123

stef123

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Management
  • 5,047 posts
  • Name: Stef
  • Ford Model: Mondeo ST TDCI
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 21 May 2009 - 08:16 PM

Kl. Need to look out for that in future incase a get one to do.

Hope they're nos as big a pain that the mk2's! :angry:


well ive never seen the setup on a mk2 i dont think but...mine is quite simple to be honest. If i get the chance i might take a pic and post it up.

#12 gaz6076

gaz6076

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 448 posts
  • Ford Model: Mk5 Fiesta
  • Location: Scotland

Posted 21 May 2009 - 08:53 PM

well ive never seen the setup on a mk2 i dont think but...mine is quite simple to be honest. If i get the chance i might take a pic and post it up.


Kl. That would be good. If a get a mk2 in I'll take pic of that. You get 3 tools in the box with the new belts. Gives you an idea of how much of a c*** they are :lol:

#13 stef123

stef123

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Management
  • 5,047 posts
  • Name: Stef
  • Ford Model: Mondeo ST TDCI
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 24 May 2009 - 09:06 PM

Kl. That would be good. If a get a mk2 in I'll take pic of that. You get 3 tools in the box with the new belts. Gives you an idea of how much of a c*** they are :lol:


got any clever ideas on removing a stretch belt without the proper tools? need to fit a new PCV valve on friday.

#14 gaz6076

gaz6076

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 448 posts
  • Ford Model: Mk5 Fiesta
  • Location: Scotland

Posted 25 May 2009 - 04:33 PM

I always just cut the old ones of and fit new ones. Think that's the way your meant to do them anyway.

#15 stef123

stef123

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Management
  • 5,047 posts
  • Name: Stef
  • Ford Model: Mondeo ST TDCI
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 26 May 2009 - 05:02 PM

I always just cut the old ones of and fit new ones. Think that's the way your meant to do them anyway.


i would but i dont have 45 spare at the moment lol. maybe just need to hunt out the big screwdriver lol

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users