Jump to content


Photo

Titanium X Business Edition Dab Problem


  • Please log in to reply
53 replies to this topic

#1 pagdodd

pagdodd

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Mondeo MK4
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Shropshire

Posted 09 May 2014 - 09:25 AM

Hi
I have a Mondeo MK4 Titanium X Business Edition, with Touch Screen Sat Nav.
The problem I have is that the DAB has stopped working after only having the car for a couple weeks from new.
 
According to my local Ford garage there needs to be a firmware update which is "coming"
 
Do anyone know if/when this might be, or any other quick fixes?
 
I have attached a photo of unit for reference..

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMAG0400.jpg


Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 adambell

adambell

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 274 posts
  • Name: Adam
  • Ford Model: Mondeo Titanium X Business Edition
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Tyne and Wear

Posted 09 May 2014 - 10:19 AM

I have exactly the same car and picked it up on 23rd April.
My DAB works fine in principle however I am a little shocked there are only 5 presets.
If I have my iphone plugged in, regardless if I am listening to it or not and simply unplug it to get out the car, the radio unit defaults to LW just to annoy me each time I get back into the car.


Sent from my iPhone using Ford OC mobile app

#3 pagdodd

pagdodd

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Mondeo MK4
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Shropshire

Posted 09 May 2014 - 10:41 AM

Yeah, mine switches to LW too when I unplug my iPod, but only when the power is on when I unplug.

 

But I generally leave mine in there anyway as I purchased a 160gb iPod classic to only use in the car :-)

 

I went into my local Ford dealer and they said there is a software issue with the Sat Nav touchscreen DAB's which stops it finding any stations (just constantly seeks)

 

I am just confused how it would work originally but then stop..

 

Does it receive over the air updates? Via whatever is uses for "Dynamic" Navigation for traffic?



#4 adambell

adambell

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 274 posts
  • Name: Adam
  • Ford Model: Mondeo Titanium X Business Edition
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Tyne and Wear

Posted 09 May 2014 - 02:16 PM

No not as far as I am aware it doesn't, I have just tried "seeking" on mine and it's picking stuff up no problem


Sent from my iPhone using Ford OC mobile app

#5 adambell

adambell

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 274 posts
  • Name: Adam
  • Ford Model: Mondeo Titanium X Business Edition
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Tyne and Wear

Posted 10 May 2014 - 12:30 AM

I'm confused why ford would pass this off as a simple software update when clearly it's more than that


Sent from my iPhone using Ford OC mobile app

#6 pagdodd

pagdodd

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Mondeo MK4
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Shropshire

Posted 10 May 2014 - 06:02 AM

Indeed, me too. But we have to jump through hoops :-/

Sent from my HTC One using Ford OC mobile app

#7 pagdodd

pagdodd

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Mondeo MK4
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Shropshire

Posted 10 May 2014 - 02:25 PM

So, been trying to investigate a little more myself.

 

It seems that the DAB will not tune at all, even manually it will not move along the bands.

 

I have tried taking the SD card out in case there's a conflicting file. But the DAB wont work at all without it in.

 

I find it a little odd that the Maps SD card affects the DAB.

 

Also, tried to find a software update myself by putting the part number in. (BS7T-19H449-CAD) But no joy.

 

Does anyone know how to do a complete factory reset of the unit? Going through the menus and selecting reset on all settings doesn't seem to do anything. Other than resetting the presets on FM. DAB presets stay as they were but still don't work



#8 adambell

adambell

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 274 posts
  • Name: Adam
  • Ford Model: Mondeo Titanium X Business Edition
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Tyne and Wear

Posted 10 May 2014 - 02:27 PM

Can you not upgrade it yourself using the ford etis website to get the correct file?
I'm certain that's all a dealership would do


Sent from my iPhone using Ford OC mobile app

#9 pagdodd

pagdodd

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Mondeo MK4
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Shropshire

Posted 10 May 2014 - 02:29 PM

Thank you.

 

Didn't know about that site. Will have a look now.



#10 adambell

adambell

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 274 posts
  • Name: Adam
  • Ford Model: Mondeo Titanium X Business Edition
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Tyne and Wear

Posted 10 May 2014 - 02:31 PM

Etis.ford.com
Just enter your reg or vin and shows all the details of your car as well as any software updates that are available.
I still think it's a faulty unit as mine isn't doing it and our cars are almost the same age


Sent from my iPhone using Ford OC mobile app

#11 pagdodd

pagdodd

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Mondeo MK4
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Shropshire

Posted 10 May 2014 - 02:33 PM

cheers again.

 

Seemingly no updates available for Sat Nav SD or DAB

 

I too think its a faulty unit.

 

Ford said an update is coming next month so will have to wait and see. If only to prove it's not that...



#12 adambell

adambell

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 274 posts
  • Name: Adam
  • Ford Model: Mondeo Titanium X Business Edition
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Tyne and Wear

Posted 10 May 2014 - 10:19 PM

Ford are talking rubbish, why would software suddenly disable your dab but not mine?
It is clearly a faulty unit that requires replacement


Sent from my iPhone using Ford OC mobile app

#13 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 15,832 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 10 May 2014 - 10:42 PM

DAB is rubbish anyway, national signal propagation is poor and likely to get worse now 4G is rolling out everywhere and disrupting adjacent frequencies.
You'd do better with streaming Internet radio.

#14 pagdodd

pagdodd

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Mondeo MK4
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Shropshire

Posted 18 May 2014 - 08:37 PM

Still waiting for the update. I have been in a couple times since and they are adamant this software update will fix it.

So frustrating. I probably won't use it but being a techie, I hate that it doesn't work and I can't fix myself :)

Sent from my HTC One using Ford OC mobile app

#15 Matrimex

Matrimex

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • Name: Darren
  • Ford Model: Mondeo Titanium X Business Edition 163
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Lincolnshire

Posted 23 May 2014 - 09:34 PM

Mine has also done this, DAB has stopped working completely. Tried the usual reset, but no luck. It will be coming up with its first service soon, so I was hoping they will have a look for me! did enjoy listening to the 80 and 90 DAB channels! 



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users