Jump to content


Show
Photo

Speedo / Fuel Gauge Fault


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 gary12345

gary12345

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Name: gary
  • Ford Model: galaxy
  • Year: 2001
  • Location: Gloucestershire

Posted 11 May 2014 - 04:11 PM

please help,

 

I have a galxay 1.9tdi 2001 with 118000 miles the car has devoloped a fault which i'm sure most have seen but i can't find anyone that has found the cure.

 

here goes: The speedo has stopped working and when you start driving the fuel gauage goes up and down.

 

things that i have done are: replaced the speedo with a 03 model which works fine but runs MPH to fast, so i bought another second hand one which came off another 2001 model and have the problem, so i'm gussesing that my clocks are fine. i have checked the wiring that goes in to the clocks and they are all free from corresion, also done a wiggle test on them.

 

As the 03 clocks work i know its not a fault with the speedo sensor or fuel sensor as work fine with those clocks it just reads wrong MPH e.g when i do 70 it shows 110mph

 

Has anyone else had this problem or know how to fix, driving me up the wall now

 

Many thanks in advance



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 Rog mk3

Rog mk3

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
  • Name: Robbie
  • Ford Model: Mk 3.5 fiesta. + 01 galaxy
  • Year: 1995
  • Location: Cork

Posted 10 June 2014 - 10:23 PM

Hi Gary, I had a problem like that a few years back n if my memory serves me correct it can possibly be faulty brake light swith or maybe something as simple as a fuse/relay. Hope it helps ;-) I'm actually having fun with my electrics. Fuse box is sending me morse code and my interior lights are like a disco. Hoping it only a relay :-D

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Ford OC mobile app

#3 cos140

cos140

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Location:

Posted 16 August 2014 - 01:06 PM

I had a similar fault on my V6 but maybe the same system.
I had done work on my engine and I forgot to put the speedo sensor back onto the gearbox!
So it could be your speedo sensor that is at fault.


Sent from my iPhone using Ford OC

#4 cos140

cos140

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Location:

Posted 16 August 2014 - 01:06 PM

The plug that is, forgot to plug it in!


Sent from my iPhone using Ford OC

#5 gregers

gregers

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 562 posts
  • Name: greg
  • Ford Model: smax titainium
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Sussex

Posted 16 August 2014 - 08:23 PM

im assuming you managed to get this sorted out?




Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users