Jump to content


Show
Photo

Revs Sticking


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 ljono27

ljono27

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
  • Name: leon
  • Ford Model: fussion2
  • Year: 2004
  • Location: Durham

Posted 14 May 2014 - 08:47 AM

Sometimes after little run on motorway oh duel carriage way my revs aren't dropping straight away. They seem to take 2 oh 3 seconds to drop for me to change gear.they stick at around 3000 revs.its fussion2 54reg 1.6 16v. Does anyone know the problem?as its fine on short runs its when and after I go onto straight road at steady speed then it seems to happen after. I do not want my clutch to burn out over this even though its not all time its still frustrating when does . Please please help as if I take to garage it will cost me a lot more then can afford Thanks guys

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 16,174 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 14 May 2014 - 10:10 AM

Hi Leon,

 

Could be the fuel filter is dirty so there is a delay in the fuel pressure returning (been there, had that) alternatively it could be the throttle body needs a clean.



#3 ljono27

ljono27

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
  • Name: leon
  • Ford Model: fussion2
  • Year: 2004
  • Location: Durham

Posted 18 May 2014 - 01:57 PM

Hi ive had new body on 4week back n done full serv..I.e all filters plugs n oil .at 1st my revs were going up before dropping back down when changing gears now the idle is cutting out when coasting coming to roundabouts ect.ect. it came up ecu fail so took body off cleaned it n everything fine now ive got the problem of cutting out when coasting

#4 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 16,174 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 18 May 2014 - 07:42 PM

When was the filter last replaced?



#5 ljono27

ljono27

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
  • Name: leon
  • Ford Model: fussion2
  • Year: 2004
  • Location: Durham

Posted 18 May 2014 - 08:05 PM

The air . fuel. Oil all done 2week back

#6 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 16,174 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 18 May 2014 - 08:45 PM

Silly question but did you put it the right way around? Either the filter or seal can be inadvertently put backwards and can replicate the same error replacing it would have fixed

Sent from my MY SAGA C2 using Ford OC mobile app

#7 ljono27

ljono27

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
  • Name: leon
  • Ford Model: fussion2
  • Year: 2004
  • Location: Durham

Posted 18 May 2014 - 09:26 PM

Which filter?air oh fuel but ill double check all thanks

#8 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 16,174 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 18 May 2014 - 09:39 PM

Sorry fuel filter should have been more clear

Sent from my MY SAGA C2 using Ford OC mobile app

#9 ljono27

ljono27

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
  • Name: leon
  • Ford Model: fussion2
  • Year: 2004
  • Location: Durham

Posted 19 May 2014 - 01:52 PM

All filters are correct and right way its got me puzzled now if I cant figure out ill take garrage Friday

#10 ljono27

ljono27

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
  • Name: leon
  • Ford Model: fussion2
  • Year: 2004
  • Location: Durham

Posted 19 May 2014 - 02:43 PM

Just put another £20 and some injector cleaner in and when got in car it came up EAC fail on dash I double checked all plugs then tryed again everything is good now and no fail on dash.please what could it be?

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users